We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo House

Tokyo House
231 Arthur Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 245 Restaurants in Thunder Bay
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Chaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

As soon as you walk in, you will be greeted by one of the friendly, polite and well-dressed staff. They will tell you that the buffet costs $14.95 per person then will proceed to show you what they have in their buffet spread. They have the usual offering in most Chinese buffet restaurants i.e., fried rice, sweet and sour or lemon chicken, chop suey, etc. They also have a salad bar, a dessert bar with fruits and some delicious cakes and also a freezer stocked with about 8 to 10 different flavors of ice cream. Then they will show you the a la carte Japanese menu of all the other food that you can order which they will bring to your table freshly cooked. Everything is included in the $14.95 price (except for tea and soda) and if you like what they have to offer then that's when they escort you to your table. They will tell you how to order from the a la carte menu and then while you are waiting for your order you can get whatever you want from the buffet spread. The food that we ordered came within minutes and it was delicious. We had seconds of some of the food we ordered. We highly recommend this restaurant. Service was excellent, food was very good, the place is very decent and tastefully decorated. Would go back there if ever we are in Thunder Bay again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Resturant in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I am a consistent customer at the Tokyo House and I cant get enough of it! From the beautiful and most friendly staff who work there and the amazing food keeps me and my hubby going back for more! Out of all the restaurants to chose from in Thunder Bay we always chose this restaurant. They have a ton of different things you can choose from! For my hubby he loves loves loves the sashimi! its one of the best items on the menu as well as the summer role which is also my favorite! Highly recommend this restaurant! The staff learned our names and always make sure we have the best experience every time we come through the door. The price is amazing and again the staff is super friendly and strive to make you have the best experience. Even when we get take out they always greet me with the biggest smile and everyone greets me by name. Its adorable! Best restaurant ever. :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thunder Bay,Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LUNCH VALUE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our favorite lunch place.The staff is excellent and the food consistently good.The variety of dishes makes it great for a group.Lots of non sushi dishes for those non sushi lovers.One of our favorites is the tempura shrimps-worth the trip for them alone.A real bargain at lunch,for twice the cost of Macdonalds you can have a healthy meal.Our mother loves the fact she can have a wide choice of great food and she doesn't have to have a large order that she can't finish.She really likes the deserts.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
“stale sashimi”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a dinner at Tokyo House. They served us stale sashimis, such as Arctic Surf Clams, Salmon and Butter fish. We tried to communicate with store manager, he confessed that the supply of seafood is not good at that time, but it is OK to eat, and this is NORMAL in whole Ontario.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“family birthdays and then some”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I am not a big lover of sushi, but the overall ambiance and food variety was great. The staff was attentive and did their best to explain the various dishes - we were there with about 12 friends and family - vary accomodating

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo House also viewed

Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 

Been to Tokyo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.