We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gives Hope for Humanity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terry Fox Monument

Terry Fox Monument
1000 Highway 11/17, Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
(807) 983-2041
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 47 attractions in Thunder Bay
Type: Monuments/ Statues
Attraction Details
Montreal
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Gives Hope for Humanity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was traveling through Tuhder Bay on our way East. I decided to stop at the Terry Fox Monument as always. This time though, my wife was with me and I really wanted her to appreciate the moment.

Those of us old enough to have witnessed his accomplisments and those who don't know about them yet will be moved by this young man courage, determination and drive. He did what he did not for himself but for others.

This memorial is a great way to immortalize his feats. The place in itself is remarkable, clean, will thought out and offer a magnificent view. Nice place also to picnic. A restroom is available at the park store (no food).

Like I said at the beginning, I stop there everytime on my way. There must be a reason.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    39
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Impressive memorial, poor support for further info.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Terry Fox still chokes me up so we were delighted to find ourselves with time to stop and see the Memorial and Lookout about 15 minutes east of Thunder Bay. The memorial is lovely and we were especially thrilled that a local piper happened to be playing while we mooched around the memorial and enjoyed the view. Very impactful. The Parks building was open so we expected to see more... there was a video documentary running but without sound!! Useless - and there was no presentation. 3-4 staff were sitting chatting presumably waiting to hand out government brochures or sell souvenirs but it was disappointing that the Terry Fox name ended there. Even information on the charities involved, or an ability to donate at that point would be appropriate. Yes, there was a bathroom :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Beautiful statue and history. Very well groomed flowers and greenery. Clean bathrooms. Very nice memorial for Terry Fox.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A need to see place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very moving to stop and see. Great memorial to a young man who certainly had a lot of drive. Beautiful views from there also. Certainly worth the stop

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My mom and I stopped here on our drive back from The Sleeping Giant. Beautiful view of "The Giant" and all of Thunder Bay! It was pretty hazy and overcast since a thunder storm was coming in, but we could still make out most of it. I'm sure it's spectacular on a clear, sunny day. Nice opportunity to learn about Terry Fox and get information from the visitor center as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terry Fox Monument also viewed

 

Been to Terry Fox Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terry Fox Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Terry Fox Monument to your Saves list