We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Suites Thunder Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Suites Thunder Bay to your Saves list
Days Inn Suites Thunder Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   645 Sibley Drive, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B6Z8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Yorkton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

This hotel is very similar to the other Days Inn (on Golf Links Rd), the only differences I can discern are that it is slightly older, but closer to restaurants. Either way, I had a great stay. My room was comfortable and clean, the hotel staff were very helpful and the restaurants nearby make for a nice evening walk. Either way, whether you stay at this Days Inn or the other one, you are not going wrong.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    206
    55
    11
    6
See reviews for
157
70
33
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

This hotel is a great choice when staying in Thunder Bay. Our room was clean and new and the bathroom was SPOTLESS... and I'm pretty picky about bathroom cleanliness! (Although there was no bathroom fan... don't get that for such a new property! Hate the foggy mirror thing after a shower!) The free wireless internet access was a nice bonus, and it was effortless to use. The beds and linens were great. In-room coffee was Van Houtte which we didn't use but was nice to have. The hotel is walking distance from a Montana's, Keg, Applebee's, and a Tim Horton's which is just steps away... very necessary when travelling with an infant! The hotel continental breakfast was a little sparse but the juice and fruit were great to grab on the go. Staff was efficient and checked us in and out very quickly. Would definitely return to this Days Inn.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Nice newer place. Nice clean rooms. Spacious pool area, large breakfast area and lobby. Good service as they always seemed to have two people at the front desk. Good location too, just off hwy 11/17.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We recently stayed at the Days Inn Suites in Thunder Bay for 3 nights in July 2010. We chose this hotel based on good reviews on this site, and were very pleased with our choice. The Days Inn has a convenient location for various sites in and around Thunder Bay, plus it is close to the airport. This was handy, as we had to catch the early 6:30 am flight home.
We found this hotel to be clean, quiet, comfortable, and meeting our needs. The staff were friendly and helpfully answered questions about local attractions and restaurants. The pool and whirlpool area were a nice diversion one afternoon when we were too tired to venture out.
One excellent thing worth mentioning about the breakfast: It was set out at 5 am! The sign in the breakfast room said 6 am, but we asked the night we left where we could get breakfast before our flight and were told the breakfast started at 5 am.
Our room was a Queen suite for $139 a night. The separate bedroom had its own TV, as did the main room, which had a sofa-bed. The A/C is in the bedroom, so with the door closed, it got really cold in there. There is a mini-fridge in this room. All in all, we enjoyed our stay here, even if it was just a place to sleep and recharge for another busy day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Not a fancy hotel by any means, but clean and comfortable for sure.

Features:
-central location.
-pool looked nice (didn't get a chance to check it out)
-mini fridge in room
-lots of parking

My only minor complaints were:
-unsecure internet connection
-breakfast not great (not a lot of fresh options, mostly muffins, cereal etc)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We were welcomed by helpful staff and had a great 2-room suite. Indoor pool was great for the kids to keep busy. One of the best restaurants in town is across the road, so you must eat at Caribou if you stay here. Continental breakfast was good and there is a Tim Horton's in the common parking lot. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We were on a cross-Canada trip with a young family. We found the staff courteous, the hotel clean and enjoyed the pool and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Suites Thunder Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Suites Thunder Bay

Address: 645 Sibley Drive, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B6Z8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Suites Thunder Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Days Inn Hotels, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Suites Thunder Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Suites Thunder Bay Hotel Thunder Bay
Days Inn Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Days Inn
Days Inn Suites Thunder Bay Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Suites Thunder Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.