We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place for a night or two.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   686 Memorial Avenue, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Z5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a bad place for a night or two.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here on our way through for a nite,price was right as it allows pets also with a few restrictions,room was clean and shower was above average,checkout was a challenge as the room key cards stopped working well before checkout.The girl at the front desk wasnt impressed with having to reprogram the keys and the breakfast was just ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    21
    16
    11
    4
See reviews for
16
17
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is the true meaning of you pay for what you get. The price isn't too high at all, but your not getting a whole lot. The halls had a slight smell of marijuana, the rooms were small and kind of tight. I understand it was winter and it was snowing, but the hotel driveway was covered in ice leading up to the door; I almost slipped and fell every time I had to walk from either my car to the hotel, or from the hotel to my car. The wifi however was fairly fast. There is a fitness facility in the same building, and loud music was heard throughout the lobby while a fitness class was going on, thankfully I didn't have a room near the fitness facility...but I pray for those who end up in a room near it. Breakfast was also sub par, I had to stop at a rest stop a half hour outside of TBay to have another breakfast (which ended up being a delicious breaky sandwich). All in All, you pay for what you get at this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Once again, this hotel was excellent for our needs. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the free breakfast was perfect. The shower was absolutely awesome. A great way to start the day. The hotel had free WiFi so this was great after no WiFi in Wawa.

Room Tip: Do not know if there was a pool and there was no restaurant at the hotel, but restaurants were close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've stayed at the Econo Lodge in Ottawa and Montreal. This is by far the BEST one. Rooms were very clean, free wifi and parking, free continental breakfast, free gym! Very friendly staff. Lots of places to go out and have dinner near by. Awesome stay.
We stayed at the Econo Lodge as a stop along our drive across Canada.
If you're a light sleeper bring ear plugs, travellers check in at all hours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very unfriendly staff. All requests were met with resistance. I had never experienced this at another hotel and I travel a lot. Spend a couple of dollars more and feel good about where you stay. We will never be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived at the Econo Lodge after a long, wet drive from Sault Ste. Marie. We booked by telephone and received a very good rate including breakfast $76 + tax. The staff was very pleasant, helpful and accommodating. Our room was small but it appeared to be newly renovated with the exception of the air conditioner which was quite noisy. Bed was comfy and we had a good night's sleep. While the hallways could use some work, we were quite happy with our stay. Breakfast included hot items. We'd stay here again - it's in a good location, a restful night and good breakfast - for the price, you can't beat it!

Room Tip: This is only a 2 story hotel - our room was on the second floor and we had a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Rooms had been renovated. Small but comfortable and clean. Hallways could use some work. Air conditioner a little noisy but worked well. Good location. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast included hot items.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 686 Memorial Avenue, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.