We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   686 Memorial Avenue, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Z5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 32 hotels in Thunder Bay
Beausejour
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fine for a night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

As some of the others had mentioned the AC was loud (fine to sleep as it was background noise, but harder to hear TV. It seemed that the shower caused the shower curtain to smell? On the plus side the front desk crew was very helpful & called to find out the hours of a local restaurant. Continental breakfast was fine. Make your own waffle, yogurt, cold cereal, muffins, coffee, boiled eggs, etc. Overall a good value for the money (under $90) & they are also doing some upgrades. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    19
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
15
15
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were generally happy with our stay at the motel. As the name suggests you get an economical room ie bit small with very small towel each. But that is ok our problem was the wall air conditioning unit which due to size of room is almost right next to your ear as you lie in bed. That would not be a problem if the unit was quiet but it is EXTREMELY loud. Would be ok if the weather is cool. Breakfast was better than usual as they did provide boiled eggs.
Service was good.
There is not much to do in Thunder Bay.

Room Tip: Make sure the room has a quiet air conditioning unit,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked through Hotels.com and received a rate of $89. The room had been a smoking room at some point as there was a stale cigarette smell, at least in our room. The halls and stairwells were oppressively hot and stunk of Fabreeze. I don't know if it's just me, but I always feel I'm being ripped off spending anything over $45 for a room this basic, no elevator, depressing surroundings. The a/c had not been started in our room prior to our arrival, so the room itself was stifling when we entered. There was also hair stuck to the walls of the bath surround... YUK!

A show for toddlers played on the tv in the breakfast room... how mind numbing!

The staff was pleasant enough.

Room Tip: ask for something on the main floor because carrying your luggage up the stairs and down those long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here with our family as we passed through Ontario in July 2012. Could have used an elevator, and maybe an access door closer to our room as it seemed like we were carrying our things for miles to get to our room.
We had requested a playpen and when we got in the room it was not set up, and we were unable to get it to set up ourselves.

I would likely search for another hotel if we come through Thunder Bay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed one night, on Choice Hotel points. Using points usually gets you the dumpy room. Not this time. Our room was recently renovated, it was smallish, with a queen bed, but more than adequate for a night spend with my eyes closed!. The carpet was cleaner than the higher end places we've stayed. The air conditioner was noisy, but didn't keep us awake. Alan was very helpful and friendly when we checked in. Breakfast was good. We thought it was as clean and comfortable as anyplace we've stayed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We checked in late to the hotel on May 18th and went to bed. Around 2 hours later my wife woke up with disturbing itchiness. Then we found a big (bigger than 2 square mm) bed bug which I grabbed by a toilet paper and wrapped it. Then we could not sleep any more as further bites took place and this time we found a smaller bed bug which I killed and thrown into toilet. Then we got up entirely and decided to leave the hotel. I went to the reception told the situation to the lady and showed her the big and still alive bed bug and left it on the reception desk. I got plastic bags, put all of our clothes we used that night, took shower and left the hotel around 5 am. Receptionist told me that they are sorry, they will close the room for special cleaning and her manager would call or contact me. Nobody from Econolodge Thunder Bay has contacted me nor I have noticed any missed call. This is very disturbing and so bad first experience of us and we do not recommend anyone the hotel nor we stay at any Econolodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
The management and staff of our property take pride in the quality, cleanliness and service we provide to our guests on a daily basis. We are committed to provide the best service possible and welcome feedback from our customers.
We want to assure our customers that we have a PLAN in place. There is no way to stop them from being brought into our motel as new guests are arriving every day from all over the world, so we take prevention seriously and strive for early detection. All of our motel staff has been provided with identification training and we have implemented a monthly inspection plan at the property. In the event of discovery, we have contracted with a highly reputable company that responds immediately. If reported or suspected, the room is immediately taken out of inventory, our staff inspects the room and as a precaution, we have trained specialists inspect the room as well. The room is not put back in inventory until it is given the okay by trained professionals.
This review is being taken very seriously and it will be used to educate and train our staff in the proper and timely response practices by our staff. Our customers are very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed in Thunder Bay for two nights. The first night I was passing through as planned, and the second night was due to a massive snow storm that prevented me from hitting the highway as planned. The staff are very helpful and friendly, an older gentleman was having trouble accessing his room and the guy at the front desk went to his door and helped him get inside (I like things like that, it shows the staff cares). The owner was also there chatting with guests, and on the second day anyone who was there because they were trapped by the storm got a small discount on their room rate. The room itself was clean and cozy, no complaints there. The breakfast had plenty of choices and newspapers to read in the dining area. I would recommend this hotel, there's nothing outstanding but it's a great place and has good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie S, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our motel. The management and staff of our property take pride in the quality, cleanliness and service we provide to our guests on a daily basis. We are committed to provide the best service possible and welcome feedback from our customers. We hope that if you pass this way again, you will stay with us and see the improvements we have done to the outside of our property. We are very proud of them and look forward to the green space and new facade that is being put in the front of the motel. We are also putting queen beds into the double rooms on the second floor. We hope you will check us out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Thunder Bay, Ontario
Address: 686 Memorial Avenue, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.