We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of the city no frills low price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   686 Memorial Avenue, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Z5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Twice = Gift Card
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Heart of the city no frills low price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

You have to request a fridge if wanted when you make your reservation. Older hotel but very clean. The ony thing I can complain about is that the air conditioner was off on arrival. It took about 6 hours to be able to breath in that room! They had a coffee pot but only shampoo and conditioner. There was no body lotion which is usually standard in every other hotel. We were told we needed to leave a 250$ deposit reguarding smoking damage. I have never been asked for that at any other hotel! The notice on the mirror is usually sufficient about the cleaning bills if evidence of smoking is noticed in a non smoking room. All in all it was a nice 2 night stay. It had the continental breakfast - a cooler with yogurt would have been nice!

Room Tip: Ask to have your air conditioner turned on in advance and if you need a fridge include that in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    28
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
20
27
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel is clean for the price but I had an issue with the bed. After showering, I sat in the bed and wondered what the smell was and when I got up the back of my PJs were damp. I pulled up the bottom sheet and found 2 damp, smelly towels. I was digusted. Don't know what it was but I can only guess it was urine that was cleaned up. Called front desk and was moved next door within 20 minutes but my night was ruined.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton , Ontario
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

stayed here for a few nights. came from the travelodge airlane(other review posted) as a comparison the first thing that hits you is how clean the rooms are. travelodge floors were covered in burn marks from ashes falling to the floor. large fridge which is convenient for longer stopovers. this is very close to walmart...canadian superstore...lots of restaurants so i thought location was perfect. no patio doors on main floor. about a 15 minute drive to airport. beds comfortable. their policy of changing sheets everyday unless you tell them otherwise is just another example of how clean it is kept here. wouldnt hesitate to stay here again. nice clean stay. all none smoking which is a bonus for all us non smokers.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

There was a lot to like about this place:
1) My room was spacious and clean;
2) The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. One night clerk researched bus routes for over an hour for me, helping me find the least expensive way of traveling to the 1815 Fort re-creation outside of town;
3) There's a pay laundry machine available between the inner and outer doors in the side entrance to the motel. When a person is travelling for an extended period of time, finding a washer/dryer is almost as good as finding a pot of gold!

The only negative about the place is its location. It's out on the long, dreary strip of motels, gas stations, etc. along Memorial Avenue. I was traveling by Greyhound, so would try to get around by foot in each city I visited. It's quite a walk into the heart of downtown Thunder Bay from this motel, but it's do-able.

Over all, this place was a good value. When booking, remember that most Econo Lodges are affiliated with Travelodge, and so when booking into one, your booking might be shunted to the other.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at the Ecno Lodge for 9 days in October 2011. While the appearance of this hotel on the outside is less than attractive our stay there was pleasant. The front office staff is exceptionally helpful. The rooms are basic but clean, quiet and comfortable. Any request we made was accomodated very quickly. The breakfast is the standard fare and the eating area is clean and pleasant. The price is reasonable here and while it's not fancy, it is a good place to stay. We would stay there again. Great friendly staff includes housekeeping people as well.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the door that opens from the stairs to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Fairly low price, but a good, clean room. Very basic. Fast wi-fi. Basic continental breakfast.
TV got a lot of channels, but for some odd reason, the tv is connected to the light switch beside the door. When you turn off the light, the tv won't work. Strange.
The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed for one night on August 17 my husband, two children and I. It was easy to find. Upon check in which was fast we received a voucher for the continental breakfast and had to lug our luggage up two flights of stairs. The hotel lobby and hallways are not air conditioned just the rooms which made for a hot walk with the luggage. Our room key did not work after a half a dozen tries and we had to go and get it corrected. Even after that the room key worked sporadically which was extremely annoying. The room is basic and very sparse. The air conditioner in the room is very loud. The hotel is in kind of a sketchy location. It is beside a bowling alley and people are always just hanging around the hotel and at a picnic table across the parking lot. I wasn't sure it they were staying there or just loitering. Which made me feel uncomfortable as I had to bring in everything from the car. It would have been nice if there was a security guard. The continental breakfast is very very basic. Toast, package muffins and no-name oatmeal (which doesn't cook in the lukewarm water provided) and coffee and tea. The staff here are fantastic and friendly but I would not stay here again due to the location and atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 686 Memorial Avenue, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.