We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Thunder Bay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strathcona Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strathcona Motel
Save
You added Strathcona Motel to your Saves list
545 Hodder Avenue, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 1V7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Thunder Bay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

The Strathcona Motel is ranked #1 here on Trip Advisor for a reason! The value is terrific. It's a modest motel which offers a lot for a fair price. Very clean and quiet. We wanted a place to stay for a week that had a kitchenette. It was the perfect place for us to relax and cook our meals before and after taking day trips around the area.

Ken is a very welcoming host and the little touches (coffee, housecleaning) are greatly appreciated. Definitely consider the Strathcona Motel if you're looking for something that is just quiet and affordable. You can't go wrong here. Plus, you'll be supporting a local, family-run business.

We'll be back, for sure.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We had never been to Thunder Bay so we didn't know where to stay until we found Strathcona on the internet. And we're so glad we did. A small cozy motel located in a quiet, safe residential area this is one of the cleanest Motels we've ever stayed at. The rooms are small but, adequate. Decorated in a 50's motif it is really quite charming. The kitchen/living room has a large frig, micro, stove, oven, sink, toaster, coffee maker and all the pots, pans and dishes you would ever need. The bedroom has a nice comfortable bed. The bathroom, although small, has a shower/bathtub and everything you need. The owner, Ken, took over the business from his parents and literally grew up there. He will meet you personally when you check in as he lives just a block away. Be prepared, he only accepts cash. He's a wealth of information so don't be afraid to ask him questions. He is a former teacher and normally rents out to students during the off-season. However, he does hold a couple of rooms for travelers. We wish we could have spent a week there. We plan to return to TB some day and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Our stay at this motel was wonderful! Upon arrival at the motel the owner Ken went through the whole motel room to make sure we knew about everything. The place was spotless, no odors, just a very clean room. On future visits to Thunder Bay I will always stay at this motel. The location is great just off of 11/17.
Upon our departure from the motel I forgot 2 backpacks behind the door. When I got back to the United States I called the owner Ken, and he not only took pictures of all the items in the backpacks and emailed them to me , he packaged them up and mailed them back to me in the United States. He only wanted what it cost him to mail them to me but I had to give him more for all of his troubles and for being so honest! If you are going to rent a unit from him you have to book early because there are only 6 available.
THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN THUNDER BAY! !!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

My husband and I and our one year old stayed at The Strathcona for 6 days. It was perfect for us. Super clean, quiet and had everything we needed for a great price! I would definitely stay there again. This spot is also very handy to some great parks that we enjoyed visiting with our little one. Our host was super helpful and friendly, even bringing us an iron to borrow before we headed to a wedding. Great spot!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Staying at the Strathcona is like staying in your own small apartment. Yes it's old but well kept up. It has a real kitchen with full size fridge, a stove and appliances if you want to cook. Ken, the owner, is extremely nice and will talk your ear off if you want! The apartment was immaculate, very clean and everything in order. There's a lot of pillows which did not smell dirty or funky. There are lots of hooks on the walls which are convenient for hikers. There's a small dining table with 2 chairs and a sofa. He even has a Keurig coffee maker (pods). The shower is not great with a hand held hose and holder so low that you either have to hold it in one hand if you stand or sit in the tub so you can use two hands to shampoo your hair. The neighborhood is on the outskirts of town near an industrial area but all the neighbors we saw seemed nice. It was also very quiet at night. Did I mention it was a terrific value? Well it is. Check this place out. My wife who is kind of fussy said she would come back to stay. That says something!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, CO
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I had a nice overnight stay at the Strathcona. The owner was attentive and helpful He is biker friendly, providing rags and a bucket to clean up the motorcycle, which is much appreciated. The units are really efficiencies, equipped with a complete apartment style kitchen and separate bedroom. The furnishing are eclectic and a bit worn, but comfortable. The shower was weak and subject to the neighbors activities. The wireless is excellent. The walls are very thin and you will want quiet neighbors, which I had. I got a good nights sleep. The location is very good for access to down town Thunder Bay and its parks.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We read all the reviews and thought this would be a good place to stay. However, we were sorely disappointed by this motel. It would appear that nothing has really changed here since it was built in 1956 and the decor is non-existent. The bedroom was small and the bathroom was the size of a postage stamp. Yes, it was clean but so old that cleanliness was the last thing on our mind. If you are really down and out this may be a place to stay but for everyone else, give this a pass.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Glad you found our homey, cozy suites clean! We're not the Ritz, but we certainly work hard to make sure that people who stay with us get good value for money, which, we understand, is why the Strathcona Motel is so highly rated by its guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strathcona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathcona Motel

Address: 545 Hodder Avenue, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 1V7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Thunder Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1956, the Strathcona Motel prides itself on being clean, quiet and affordable. Steps to gorgeous parks, a municipal golf course and other attractions, you won't regret spending the night. We believe that a comment left by one of our guests recently says it all: "Your place here... it's really a hidden gem." We invite you to come and stay with us and see if you aren't charmed too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strathcona Motel Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathcona Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.