We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free very fast Wi-Fi and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strathcona Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strathcona Motel
Save
You added Strathcona Motel to your Saves list
545 Hodder Avenue, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 1V7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
San Diego, CA., USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Free very fast Wi-Fi and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Though the Strathcona Motel's website mentions their included free WiFi, it's not mentioned prominently and could easily be overlooked by the traveler scanning the many Googled hits for Thunder Bay motels. The WiFi is fast and has a strong signal in this small motel with wonderful mini-apartments. Janis, the wife in this motel owner team, booked us even though we mistakenly phoned before they expect calls at 4 PM (they normally book via emails) and Ken greeted us at the door of our little suite complete with sitting room and charming kitchen. We would not hesitate to stay at the Strathcona again even if Ken & Janis sell this gem after it being in Ken's family for over 55 years because I can't imagine them selling it to anyone that would not give it tender loving care. The Strathcona is an excellent value which we were delighted to find.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and for your very positive review, and for highlighting the quality Wi-Fi service available at the Strathcona Motel. Always glad to have our American friends and neighbours up to Canada for a visit - please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

After reading about Strathcona Motel on TA, we made our reservations. It was an easy process, with the owner requesting one nights stay to reserve. We mailed a check and it was processed without problem. The owner does accept US and Canadian payment. Since we had to send a check, the down-payment was US, but we did get Canadian upon arriving and it was appreciated. The owner was very thorough in letting us know how everything worked in the lodging. They have recently updated to cable tv and also offer wireless internet which was nice. The motel is very clean, very, very clean. It is what I imagine it was like to walk in during the 50's when it was started. There have been some updates such as in linen, and the tub was resurfaced, but the the kitchen table was of the period. The price was very good as well. If we ever return to Thunder Bay, we would definitely stay again. No it is not of the same caliber as a modern hotel, but it was nice to have a small kitchen/living room in a clean environment for a great price. And it is much cleaner! It is located in a single home neighborhood, across the street from a golf course with easy on/off access to the highway.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. #1 is closest to the street, but I can't imagine there was much noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
We always appreciate it when our travelers take the time out of their busy schedules to review their experience at the motel - thank you - we are glad you found it to be of good value.

Always happy to take US currency! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a 50+ year old family-owned motel with only 6 immaculate units. The units are more like mini apartments with full kitchen facilities combined with a living room plus a separate bedroom. Furniture is vintage but great. Value for the price exceptional.. Ken and wife are very accommodating. Located in a residential area with shops close by. All the positive reviews that you can read on Tripadvisor are true. It is no wonder this is rated best in Thunder Bay. One piece of advice, since there are only 6 units they fill up quickly. Book early and hope you're lucky. During winter months the apartments are usually rented by students. Thanks to Ken and wife for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your good stay with us. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wawa, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband son and I were going through Thunder Bay headed to Minnesota and he was looking for a place to stay in Thunder Bay...We we found this little gem! The owner was so helpful and nice!! The motel itself was super clean and the beds were the nicest I have ever slept in! Book in advance as it seems to be full...One of the best places to stay in Thunder Bay!! JUST LOVED IT!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
This review title made our week of cleaning! Glad to hear you had a comfortable stay with us - please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is a very nice and cozy place. I lived in one of these apartments for eight months and never had any problem. The rooms are clean, the vintage furniture is really a good touch, free individual parking spots and the whole building is well maintained. Calm location with amenities nearby (pharmacy, restaurant, gas station, market, robin donuts).The units have everything you need to cook, a full size fridge, which is very convenient for a short or long stay. The price too is affordable. Much better in any way possible than staying in a hotel. Overall, you have that feeling that someone is personally taking good care of your stay. Highly recommend Strathcona Motel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We would like to thank you for your business as well as for this kind review of your time spent recently at the Strathcona Motel, including your positive comments about the quiet location, well-maintained facilities, affordable prices and easy access to amenities, both ensuite and in the neighbourhood. We aim to please and are very gratified to hear that we succeeded in making you feel at home. Many thanks and please come to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Strathcona Motel while attending Lakehead University. I can you that the stay was perfect and the suite was great! You can't go wrong staying at the Strathcona! Highly Reccomend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thanks for the positive review! Hope you have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

If youre staying in Thunder Bay on a tight budget, this was a great stay for the cheap price. They were very friendly and accommodating - asking if there's anything more you need on their daily cleaning. The surrounding area was quiet, with a golf courseand not far away from downtown. It was easy to get to Sleeping Giant Park from the location too.
The only downside to the place is they temporarily had one channel on the TV with rabbit ears. We caught the playoff game just in time but it took some playing around with the TV to get it to work.

I'll be staying here again if we come back to Thunder Bay. Id recommend it to anyone passing through or staying for a week.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for the kind review - we were very glad to read that you found our rates and location pleasing - we take a lot of pride in providing good service at a reasonable price!

AND we just got DIGITAL TV at the motel so there's lots to see the next time you come to stay with us.

Hope to see you again soon and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strathcona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathcona Motel

Address: 545 Hodder Avenue, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 1V7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
#1 Best Value Hotel in Thunder Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1956, the Strathcona Motel prides itself on being clean, quiet and affordable. Steps to gorgeous parks, a municipal golf course and other attractions, you won't regret spending the night. We believe that a comment left by one of our guests recently says it all: "Your place here... it's really a hidden gem." We invite you to come and stay with us and see if you aren't charmed too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strathcona Motel Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathcona Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.