We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like the old days.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strathcona Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strathcona Motel
545 Hodder Avenue, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 1V7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just like the old days.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a very nice family owned motel that brings back memories of the 60s. The kitchen is a nice addition which you do not normally expect in a motel. The room was very clean and the owner is friendly and knows the area well as his family built the hotel. We will be back.

Room Tip: Only one channel on the tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and review - it is greatly appreciated. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern, Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This neat as a pin motel has all the warmth of years gone by, but the amenities needed today. I would highly recommend this motel. Ken and Janice, the last sentence of your motel's history says that the Strathcona is a small motel with a big heart. I could not agree more.
Regards. Richard and Edna Kelly

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Reviews like yours are very gratifying for a small business owner - thank you for this very kind review. We hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I was on a road trip with my bro from Manitoba to sleeping giant and decided to sleep here after a long day of driving. We were told to be there before 11 pm but forgot about the time zone difference and arrived after midnight. We were welcomed in and had a fantastic sleep! He was very understanding and made sure we were comfortable and well rested. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your business and for taking the time to write this positive review. We hope to see you again soon and anytime before midnight! :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

:This place is truly a hidden gem, it is clean well maintained and QUIET. The price is riculously low I paid for seven days what would cost me one night in a major hotel chain. The kitchen had everything I needed, there is a friendly Donut Shop within walking distance plus a pizza place, grocery store drug store etc. The Golf course is accross the road and the beach is around the corner. Nice spot, relaxing stay and the owner made sure I had everything I needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review of the motel and its surrounding area - we think it is a pretty nice and friendly neighbourhood too! Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had lots of room and everything was very clean and in good repair. My partner and I enjoyed the restful stay and the owner seemed to go out of his way to make is aware of the sights near by. It's also in a nice part of the city which makes evening walks feel safe.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for this positive review - we are very glad to hear that you had a restful stay with us in our quiet, friendly neighbourhood. Hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you're looking for an inexpensive and comfortable stay in Thunder Bay, you can't do better. My family of four (parents, teen, and kindergartener) spent three nights here. Workable kitchenette that is adequately equipped for cooking simple meals, fantastic sheets and towels, simple decor, one bedroom and a small couch that pulls out into a bed in the living area. Friendly, knowledgeable owner and a fantastic location near parks. Sofa bed could have been more comfortable, but we all know what we're getting into with a sofa bed. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write - we were very glad to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the area. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Strathcona Motel will transport you back to a simpler time of old school hospitality and outstanding value - it's the sort of lodging that just doesn't exist anymore in this era of cookie-cutter plastic hotel chains. Located in a quiet residential neighbourhood just off Highway 11/17, the motel includes free parking and free wifi, and the rooms feature charming vintage furnishings and fixtures that are very well-maintained. The kitchenette was fully stocked with a stove, microwave, and full sized fridge - plus a Keurig coffeemaker, which was a lovely touch! After driving 9 hours from Winnipeg, this was the perfect stay for us - clean, comfortable, good location, and very kind, accommodating hosts. Pride of ownership is definitely evident here. I don't believe you will find a better deal than this in Thunder Bay - or the rest of Ontario for that matter.

TIP: The TV only has 1 channel, so bring your laptop and - if you're so inclined - an HDMI cable to hook it up to the TV.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Strathcona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathcona Motel

Address: 545 Hodder Avenue, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 1V7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1956, the Strathcona Motel prides itself on being clean, quiet and affordable. Steps to gorgeous parks, a municipal golf course and other attractions, you won't regret spending the night. We believe that a comment left by one of our guests recently says it all: "Your place here... it's really a hidden gem." We invite you to come and stay with us and see if you aren't charmed too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strathcona Motel Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathcona Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Strathcona Motel to your Saves list