We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing wrong with this place or the owner...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rooster's Bistro

Rooster's Bistro
32 St Paul St, Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 245 Restaurants in Thunder Bay
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nothing wrong with this place or the owner...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Thanks to a chance encounter with the Benedict chef at Rooster's the night before, my girlfriend and knew where we were going to have breakfast before we left town. We were a little nervous when we heard blaring hip-hop music outside on a Sunday morning before 8am, but when we entered, the atmosphere was peaceful.

The waitress was quick and attentive and had our order in lickety split. The menu had numerous options but we were there the unique Eggs Benedict options. My gal had the Lobster Benedict and loved it and I had the Canadian Benedict which had a type of bacon I've never heard of, peameal, and it was decent. You could tell the potatoes were freshly cut and the fruit just right.

The next time we come back to Thunder Bay, we will be back here for breakfast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    3
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

At the risk of making Roosters even more popular, thus risking finding an empty table when we arrive after Sunday Mass, I heartily recommend it. Roosters offers a fine Sunday brunch, which, as it happens, is the most often time we go there. It IS open for breakfast and lunch every day as well. The food is very good and the staff friendly, courteous and prompt to your needs. It is a stone's throw from our marina, so after a meal, visiting the marina for any activity, whether skating in the winter, or splash padding with the kids in the summer, as well as all the other attractions makes Roosters a fine place to eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

service was great
food was very tasty, and a nice friendly atmosphere.
Restaurant was very busy, I will be going back for breakfast.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great business lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had lunch with business associates here in November 2012. The food was GREAT. The open faced turkey sandwich was made with REAL turkey, covered in delicious gravy and served with fresh cut fries. The sandwich special was a grilled chicken breast sandwich with pesto and peameal bacon, on a soft and delicious ciabatta bun and served with a fresh side salad. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the meal. If I had a criticism, it was that we weren't offered refills on coffee. Having said that, the coffee was served hot and in large mugs. The prices were reasonable and the food tasty. A great lunch spot on a sunny crisp day.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Ontario
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Customer disservice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Food is average, a little overpriced, but the service sucks. The owner (?) is loud and abrasive and seems really mean to his staff, in front of customers.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooster's Bistro also viewed

Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 

Been to Rooster's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooster's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.