We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer disservice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rooster's Bistro

Rooster's Bistro
32 St Paul St, Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 246 Restaurants in Thunder Bay
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
NW Ontario
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Customer disservice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Food is average, a little overpriced, but the service sucks. The owner (?) is loud and abrasive and seems really mean to his staff, in front of customers.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    3
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Excellent food and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The food was excellent the service was great, the atmosphere was happy with customers about and full on conversation. Enjoyed seeing the regualrs as regulars always give the place the feel of "Cheers" and a sense of comfort. The dining area is cozy and the decor warming and nice. I give Rooster's Bistro an excellent review because it does deserve it...it's about the quality of the food and way you have been waited on and I definately do not have a complaint in that department. Service and food is great, fast but not rushed!!! The prices are also more then reasonable!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Horrible place, horrible owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

If your thing is bland food with a horror show, this is the place for you. Sit and watch how terribly Commuzzi treats his staff. It's 100% abusive, no joke. George the bus-man will bust his butt and hustle around you while the jerk boss eats his huge breakfast, looking up only to sneer in dissatisfaction with his staff, and that's the nicest thing he did the entire time we were there. The phone rang an astonishing one and a half times before poor George picked it up, only to have it snatched out of his hand in total disdain by Commuzzi. It was just the worst experience. Don't eat here unless you want to support this kind of abuse!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very abusive owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Food and atmosphere is fine but i despise the way the own treats his staff. It must be humiliating. Ive been there a number of times and now refuse to go back because of the poor behavior

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Didn't meet the hype!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My wife and I went to Rooster's Bistro on Monday Feb 20/12 (family day) with friends after hearing about it on the radio a lot of times. All the things I heard were positive so why not?

Rooster's Bistro is located in downtown Thunder Bay in a good location with good parking and is clean and well kept inside with good lighting and decor.
The service on the other hand, left much to be desired. There was a definite shortage of wait staff and consequently the service was very slow. Three of us asked for juice and each received a can or bottle of juice which the waitress produced from her pockets. Instead of walking around the table and placing our orders she had no trouble reaching across in front of everyone. The food was marginal at best with the omelette being small, the potatoes not being cooked enough and the bacon leatherized (I asked for crispy). Getting another coffee proved to be interesting as well. It seemed like we were being ignored when we tried getting their attention and when we finally did get the attention of a waiter, he came and tossed a hand full of creamers on the table and poured our coffee. Kinda like "here's you damn coffee".

Any how, not a great experience at all and probably won't go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooster's Bistro also viewed

Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 

Been to Rooster's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooster's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.