We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   698 West Arthur Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have a couple of reviews on this place and I will add two more. We stayed here this past month as. We're flying from Thunder Bay. The two rooms we got both before departure and after we're much better than the others I have previously stayed at. It seems you MUST ask for the rooms facing the front, upon checkin, we were sent to one room that was suppose to be cleaned but wasn't so once again we had to return to the desk. This time it was fine. Front desk do seem a tad disorganized, but I think they are trying really hard. They do have a shuttle service, which is very important to me. I still think there is a lot of room for improvements in the rooms,ex. Lamps walls etc, but I ASSUME with time this will change. Both times I was charged a reasonable corporate rate. I was confused at one time as I was quoted one rate for one room but when I told them I did not want to stay in one of there awful rooms that I had been previously stuck in they quoted me another rate. I would stay here again only because of the parking and shuttle service they have, but would make sure I ask for the rooms in the front as they are by far the best.

Room Tip: Ask for the front rooms facing the parking lot. By far they are the nicer ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your time in writing a response. So you are aware, we have made a number of upgrades to the property including new carpeting, beds, bedding, TVs, and furniture in all guest rooms. We have also launched a brand new menu, and deliver exceptional and consistent guest service. We hope to see you again and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    18
    14
    17
See reviews for
15
13
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We traveled to Thunder Bay on July 19th till July 22nd. The room was clean and comfortable. Daniel at the front desk was so helpful and great!!! When we needed extra towels it was no problem. Daniel was kind enough to print out maps for us to see tourist stuff in Thunder Bay. He made our trip easy and enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your time in writing a response. We will certainly be passing along your praise to Daniel. So you are aware, we have made a number of upgrades to the property including new carpeting, beds, bedding, TVs, and furniture in all guest rooms. We have also launched a brand new menu, and deliver exceptional and consistent guest service. We hope to see you again and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Staff was ok, but had this kind of I don't know and don't care attitude. Asked them about a sign they had saying there was 3pm check out on wkends, and they said, "No...well maybe if the sign says that." Our pprwk said there was like a $45 fine for late check out, so maybe was not a good answer. We asked one staff member if the jets for the hot tub are always so subdued, or if they could be turned up higher. His response was that he was afraid of swimming so therefore he did not know. This was a theme, just to give a couple examples.
Hall carpeting looked like it was from the 60's/70's. Some hall lights didn't work - dreary appearance. Our key cards failed to work a couple times. Had to get new ones that worked - first set looked like they had been used over again, which doesn't make you feel very secure. One was very sticky.
Room seemed alright, but they didn't have any 2 queen bed rooms available. Maybe they don't have queen beds? 2 people in 1 bed was a tight squeeze. The 3rd person's feet hung off the bed since the bed was too short for him.
I woke up every time an airplane flew overhead. Commercial airplanes sounded like they were going to land on the hotel - very loud. Digital clock did not work. There was an ice cream sandwich left behind in the freezer that was never cleaned out. There was conditioner left for us, but no shampoo the first day. The 2nd day, there was shampoo + conditioner, but they decided not to give us any coffee or any more cardboard coffee cups. Bathroom smelled moldy. Towel rod was loose, when trying to grab onto it for stability, it became totally dislodged and swung back and forth. They only give you one bar of soap, so use it wisely.
Highlights of this place: the waitress was nice & there were big breakfast portions. Also there is a pool, hot tub and sauna.
Overall, this town is in a bad way. There were some weird people hanging out around exit doors smoking when we were there. We read reviews for hotels all over this town and found very few good hotel reviews. As we learned, there is nothing to do in Thunder Bay anyway, and the bad state of the city's economy is very depressing. Maybe that's why this hotel is kind of dirty and in need of upgrading.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your time in writing a response. While we still have some work to do, we have made a number of upgrades to the property including new carpeting, beds, bedding, TVs, and furniture in all guest rooms. We have also launched a brand new menu, and deliver exceptional and consistent guest service. We will be following up with staff regarding your comments, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel, as i'm mainly looking for good night sleeps and do not really care about onsite services, i can say that the rooms a very clean, matresses are recent and confort is above average. i would not hesitate to recommand this place. Of course, the hotel needs updating as it's clear that it hasn't seen any fresh new coat of paint for a long time. I have't used the pool but it s of a fairly large size and again clean and very well maintain. Great for kids! My room number was 304...

Room Tip: This place is nearby everything including airport, car rentals, restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your time in writing a response. We strive to keep our rooms the cleanest in the market and take great pride in our standards. While we still have some work to do, we have made a number of upgrades to the property including new carpeting, beds, bedding, TVs, and furniture in all guest rooms. We have also launched a brand new menu, and deliver exceptional and consistent guest service. We hope to see you again and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

the hotel staff was very nice and helpful. the room was ok we asked for a queen size bed and got a double bed(i should know we have a queen and it wasn't that small). also the entrance way into the hotel was horrible. if u wernt quick enough u missed it. and the back of the hotel had no indication that of the hotels name on it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your time in writing a response. We are sorry that you did not get the room (and bed) type you were expecting, however on the very rare occasion we may not be able to provide the exact room that was booked. So you are aware, we have made a number of upgrades to the property including new carpeting, beds, bedding, TVs, and furniture in all guest rooms. We have also launched a brand new menu, and deliver exceptional and consistent guest service. We hope to see you again, and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Poor value but then again all the hotels near the airport are over priced. I paid $90 for a crap motel. Nothing special. Free parking. Has a bar and restaurant and pool. Very old furniture, and nasty green carpet. But I guess in extreme cases good enough for a few hours.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your time in writing a response. We strive to keep our rates competitive and a rate of $90 was very reasonable, especially for this area. We have made a number of upgrades to the property including new carpeting, beds, bedding, TVs, and furniture in all guest rooms. We have also launched a brand new menu, and deliver exceptional and consistent guest service. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Mere words cannot describe how thoroughly disgusted my fiancée and I were after checking into room 254 at the Airlane tonight. Simply put, there were stains on both beds and the chair that lead me to believe that SOMEONE had a very good time in the room, if you know what I mean...the room itself was also in disrepair with holes in the wall next to the bathroom, but really, that was minor compared to the skeeve factor of the fabrics. We immediately booked a new room at a different hotel and returned to the lobby to return the keys. We showed Vijay the photos we'd taken and he initially told us that due to their cancellation policy the best they could do was upgrade our room. Eventually, he relented and cancelled our reservation outright. To be fair, it's quite likely that this was just a single bad experience....but I wouldn't chance it!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments we appreciate your feedback, we have investigated the matter and have followed up with the housekeeper that cleaned your room. We are continuously reviewing our standards, and have made changes to ensure that your experience does not re-occur. I hope that you would consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 698 West Arthur Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Airlane Hotel & Conference Centre is conveniently located just minutes away from the Thunder Bay International Airport, at the intersection of Arthur Street and Highway 61. Conveniently located for both the business and pleasure travelller. The Travelodge Hotel Airlane is a full service hotel, offering a restaurant,lounge, full convention services with 12 meeting rooms, an indoor pool complex and fitness centre, as well as complimentary 24 hour shuttle service to the Thunder Bay Airport. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access available throughout the hotel. Ample free parking is offered on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Thunder Bay
Travel Lodge Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Travelodge
Thunder Bay Travel Lodge
Airlane Hotel And Conference Centre Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.