We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not overly clean.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   698 West Arthur Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Plymouth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OK, but not overly clean.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Staff was ok, but had this kind of I don't know and don't care attitude. Asked them about a sign they had saying there was 3pm check out on wkends, and they said, "No...well maybe if the sign says that." Our pprwk said there was like a $45 fine for late check out, so maybe was not a good answer. We asked one staff member if the jets for the hot tub are always so subdued, or if they could be turned up higher. His response was that he was afraid of swimming so therefore he did not know. This was a theme, just to give a couple examples.
Hall carpeting looked like it was from the 60's/70's. Some hall lights didn't work - dreary appearance. Our key cards failed to work a couple times. Had to get new ones that worked - first set looked like they had been used over again, which doesn't make you feel very secure. One was very sticky.
Room seemed alright, but they didn't have any 2 queen bed rooms available. Maybe they don't have queen beds? 2 people in 1 bed was a tight squeeze. The 3rd person's feet hung off the bed since the bed was too short for him.
I woke up every time an airplane flew overhead. Commercial airplanes sounded like they were going to land on the hotel - very loud. Digital clock did not work. There was an ice cream sandwich left behind in the freezer that was never cleaned out. There was conditioner left for us, but no shampoo the first day. The 2nd day, there was shampoo + conditioner, but they decided not to give us any coffee or any more cardboard coffee cups. Bathroom smelled moldy. Towel rod was loose, when trying to grab onto it for stability, it became totally dislodged and swung back and forth. They only give you one bar of soap, so use it wisely.
Highlights of this place: the waitress was nice & there were big breakfast portions. Also there is a pool, hot tub and sauna.
Overall, this town is in a bad way. There were some weird people hanging out around exit doors smoking when we were there. We read reviews for hotels all over this town and found very few good hotel reviews. As we learned, there is nothing to do in Thunder Bay anyway, and the bad state of the city's economy is very depressing. Maybe that's why this hotel is kind of dirty and in need of upgrading.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your time in writing a response. While we still have some work to do, we have made a number of upgrades to the property including new carpeting, beds, bedding, TVs, and furniture in all guest rooms. We have also launched a brand new menu, and deliver exceptional and consistent guest service. We will be following up with staff regarding your comments, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    18
    15
    18
See reviews for
15
13
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel, as i'm mainly looking for good night sleeps and do not really care about onsite services, i can say that the rooms a very clean, matresses are recent and confort is above average. i would not hesitate to recommand this place. Of course, the hotel needs updating as it's clear that it hasn't seen any fresh new coat of paint for a long time. I have't used the pool but it s of a fairly large size and again clean and very well maintain. Great for kids! My room number was 304...

Room Tip: This place is nearby everything including airport, car rentals, restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your time in writing a response. We strive to keep our rooms the cleanest in the market and take great pride in our standards. While we still have some work to do, we have made a number of upgrades to the property including new carpeting, beds, bedding, TVs, and furniture in all guest rooms. We have also launched a brand new menu, and deliver exceptional and consistent guest service. We hope to see you again and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

the hotel staff was very nice and helpful. the room was ok we asked for a queen size bed and got a double bed(i should know we have a queen and it wasn't that small). also the entrance way into the hotel was horrible. if u wernt quick enough u missed it. and the back of the hotel had no indication that of the hotels name on it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your time in writing a response. We are sorry that you did not get the room (and bed) type you were expecting, however on the very rare occasion we may not be able to provide the exact room that was booked. So you are aware, we have made a number of upgrades to the property including new carpeting, beds, bedding, TVs, and furniture in all guest rooms. We have also launched a brand new menu, and deliver exceptional and consistent guest service. We hope to see you again, and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Poor value but then again all the hotels near the airport are over priced. I paid $90 for a crap motel. Nothing special. Free parking. Has a bar and restaurant and pool. Very old furniture, and nasty green carpet. But I guess in extreme cases good enough for a few hours.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your time in writing a response. We strive to keep our rates competitive and a rate of $90 was very reasonable, especially for this area. We have made a number of upgrades to the property including new carpeting, beds, bedding, TVs, and furniture in all guest rooms. We have also launched a brand new menu, and deliver exceptional and consistent guest service. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Mere words cannot describe how thoroughly disgusted my fiancée and I were after checking into room 254 at the Airlane tonight. Simply put, there were stains on both beds and the chair that lead me to believe that SOMEONE had a very good time in the room, if you know what I mean...the room itself was also in disrepair with holes in the wall next to the bathroom, but really, that was minor compared to the skeeve factor of the fabrics. We immediately booked a new room at a different hotel and returned to the lobby to return the keys. We showed Vijay the photos we'd taken and he initially told us that due to their cancellation policy the best they could do was upgrade our room. Eventually, he relented and cancelled our reservation outright. To be fair, it's quite likely that this was just a single bad experience....but I wouldn't chance it!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments we appreciate your feedback, we have investigated the matter and have followed up with the housekeeper that cleaned your room. We are continuously reviewing our standards, and have made changes to ensure that your experience does not re-occur. I hope that you would consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg,Manitoba
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The breakfasts at this place were unreal. WE were attending a convention of the Royal Canadian Legion at the Victoria Inn,where we couldn't get rooms because it was sold out. We got a room at the Airlane. Although I am not a big breakfast person, I ordered one because there are no set breaks during the convention. One must come fed and ready to sit for 5 to 6 hours or more. I could not believe the size of the plates of food. I ordered Cornbeef hash and was very satisfied. And full till late afternoon. Every breakfast was good and plentiful. A bonus for us. The menu is diverse plentiful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Well done.

Room Tip: This is a fair sized building and hard to rate for noise. We were at the back of the building and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre. We truly appreciate your positive comments about the breakfast you received and the size of the meal. We have just launched our new menu and are proud to offer in more food at a lower price than the previous one. We have also included in all of our breakfasts a choice of coffee, tea, milk, or juice, and have many new and exciting options.

Thank you again for your positive feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Almost all the staff here are great. The cleaning personel does a wonderful job. Daniel at the front desk, all the great breakfast servers (who readily filled our request for plain cooked oatmeal each of our five mornings - even though they had many other full breakfast orders) and Kim who is equally skilled as a breakfast server and a bar tender, and certainly Dale who proved himself to be a great professional and fun bartender, even with other very interesting guests, all impressed us. Don't count on other meals here being good here - this is not a Chef's kitchen. The meal sized salad that I ordered here on our first night in convinced us to eat dinner elsewhere for the duration of our stay. It was made from wilted ingredients that I would have tossed out of my fridge at home several days prior. There are many good alternatives nearby with just a short drive. We really enjoyed the Caribou Restaurant and Wine Bar, Neebing Steakhouse, Montana's and the Keg. It's fun to see the retro pictures of this place in the 60's that are framed on the breakfast restaurant walls. Pool is OK but it was being used to give non-guest private swimming lessons to kids when we were in it. That is rather a game changer. Also, although there are no signs to tell you, you have to stop by the front desk to acquire pool towels on your way to the pool, as there are none stocked in the pool area. If you have a sense of adventure and like a hotel with a classic movie set setting, and appreciate great staff, you will find this place fun. Life can get a bit boring at Holiday Inn Expesses all the time.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms. The bathrooms are very nice. Bedding etc. too very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Airlane Hotel. We truly appreciate your positive comments about the levels of service you received and the cleanliness of our rooms. We take great pride in delivering consistently excellent customer service and have extremely high cleanliness standards. I am sorry to hear about the meal, and have followed up with our F&B department heads. We have recently changed our menu, and it is receiving excellent reviews.

Thank you again for your positive feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 698 West Arthur Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Airlane Hotel & Conference Centre is conveniently located just minutes away from the Thunder Bay International Airport, at the intersection of Arthur Street and Highway 61. Conveniently located for both the business and pleasure travelller. The Travelodge Hotel Airlane is a full service hotel, offering a restaurant,lounge, full convention services with 12 meeting rooms, an indoor pool complex and fitness centre, as well as complimentary 24 hour shuttle service to the Thunder Bay Airport. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access available throughout the hotel. Ample free parking is offered on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Thunder Bay
Travel Lodge Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Travelodge
Thunder Bay Travel Lodge
Airlane Hotel And Conference Centre Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.