We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some renovations have improved the motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   698 West Arthur Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Some renovations have improved the motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We noticed a few renovations since our last stay, but were quite happy to get the 50% discount for a night waiting for a flight. Restaurant was really good and new beds were quite comfy.I was not so impressed the last time we stayed there,. so they really did make improvements. Checking out was a bit lengthy, not enough staff on duty.

Room Tip: At last a place to stay where they still allow us terrible smokers.. much appreciated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on your recent stay at the Airlane Hotel & Conference Centre. We appreciate your business and the feedback we receive will assist us in evaluating our product and service. The new bedding packages that was added this summer only enhance the guest experiance. We credit our success in the hospitality industry to providing good service and comfortable accommodations. We look forward to seeing you return to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    16
    11
    10
See reviews for
14
11
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

My first experience in a Thunder Bay hotel; with a sale on we snagged a Queen room for $65/night. At that price I wasn't bothered by a little black mold in the shower. The radio was broken & I needed a taller chair for the desk, and maintenance came right away with better ones. The building sprawls so the corridors are long and not that appealing. There is a bit of a melancholy feel to the place, but the bed was clean and comfortable and the location was convenient (just a few hundred meters from the airport runway so you can see all the planes landing). We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and it was also good value. Staff was pleasant. I would stay again but hope that they'll give all the showers a better scrub one day.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our property. We appreciate your feedback and your business. We pride ourselves on our service, so it is reassuring to hear that your maintenance issues were addressed quickly and the service throughout met with your expectations. This year we began with some property updates that included new bedding packages and carpeting throughout. We are currently addressing your concern of the mildew in the bathrooms, and expect to have them all addressed early next year. We look forward to seeing you return to the hotel on your next trip to Thunder Bay.
Regards, Heather Howkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I wrote a very negative review of the location when it was still a Travelodge, and after several negative experiences. I vowed never to willfully stay there again. However, a combination of work requirements and curiosity following their $1.1 million renovation got me back. I was impressed. The new carpets, beds and televisions were great. The rooms and most corridors looked freshened up. Most importantly, all staff were extremely courteous and professional. I was also happy to see that the exterior of the building is receiving a new paint job.

There are still needs for improvement: the furniture in some of the rooms needs replacement. Some furniture, (such as the TV cabinet in the room I stayed in), doesn't properly function, (the cabinet doors didn't fully open, obscuring the view of the TV from anywhere but one position). The hotel would greatly benefit from an elevator, and some of the corridors need better lighting and new ceiling tiles.

The Airlane appears to be investing as competition from branded hotels like Delta, Marriott, and Hilton - all on their way to the city - will determine the fate of the Airlane.

For now, I'd appreciate this location. The rates were great, too!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. Note that the hotel lacks elevators and there are third floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. It is good to know that the updates at the hotel are being recognized and appreciated. We are committed to continuing property improvements. Our team of professionals work hard to ensure that as guests you receive a warm welcome and a comfortable place to stay. We look forward to seeing you back and thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Lesson learned "trust the reviews". Our stay at this establishment started with a less then friendly front desk who very short and unhappy. Once we arrived in our room it appeared to be neat until you open the shower curtain. (black mold). Our second night was most eventful. Our toilet overflowed and was running water all over the floor. When I went to the front desk for assistance they were unable to find a plunger did not have access to a mop and didn't even attempt to come up to the room and assist us. They did however give us a key to another room (at 11:30 at night a full hours after we had called with the problem). Once we got everything moved into the new room we pulled the covers back...only to be met with a spider which had been killed between the sheets and left a blood spot. Oh and the shower looked the same as the first room (black mold) Needless to say we will not be returning to this motel EVER and just wanted to share the experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and will assist us in improving our product, service and standards. We apologize for your experience and unsatisfactory stay. I have spoken to the front office manager and our maintenance team to ensure that moving forward any issues received are dealt with quickly and efficiently.
This year the hotel has been going through a renovation, complete with name change back to the Airlane Hotel & Conference Centre. We are committed to continuing the improvements to enhance our guest experience. The mildew in the bathrooms are being addressed currently and will be completed by the end of the year.
I would like an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future and provide you with a stay to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonne Terre, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Was disappointed had been here 3 years ago and with reported remodeling expected more. I could not see much change, At the prices, you would think atleast free coffee would be available in the lobby. Will use Comfort Inn or Best Western next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and feedback provided. We appreciate your business and the feedback will assist us in evaluating our service. We do not provide coffee in the lobby but every guest room has a coffee maker and coffee to allow our guests to brew fresh coffee at their convenience . During this summer we began with renovations and updates to the hotel, including changing the name back to the Airlane Hotel & Conference Centre. The updates are on going and will continue to address need areas of the hotel throughout the coming year. Our guests rooms have been updated with new bedding packages and carpeting throughout the hotel. We are dedicated to improving standards and service at the hotel and hope to see you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 698 West Arthur Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Airlane Hotel & Conference Centre is conveniently located just minutes away from the Thunder Bay International Airport, at the intersection of Arthur Street and Highway 61. Conveniently located for both the business and pleasure travelller. The Travelodge Hotel Airlane is a full service hotel, offering a restaurant,lounge, full convention services with 12 meeting rooms, an indoor pool complex and fitness centre, as well as complimentary 24 hour shuttle service to the Thunder Bay Airport. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access available throughout the hotel. Ample free parking is offered on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Thunder Bay
Travel Lodge Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Travelodge
Thunder Bay Travel Lodge
Airlane Hotel And Conference Centre Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airlane Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.