We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, not awful.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Thunder Bay

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Thunder Bay to your Saves list
Travelodge Thunder Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Thunder Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Memorial Avenue, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Y7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not great, not awful.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The room itself was clean, had a good bed and TV, but was very cramped. The bathroom was old and small, but well maintained. Pool was nice enough, but there was a weird smell in most of the hallways, and the interior is a bit dingy. We also had to go through six different sets of connecting doorways and weird stairwells to get to our room with our luggage. Overall it did the trick, but we won't be back unless we have no choice, as was the case this time (everywhere else that was halfway decent was booked solid, weirdly enough).

Room Tip: The hallways in the section parallel to the front parking lot seemed cleaner/nicer than other parts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    9
    18
    26
See reviews for
19
13
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitby
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

For the past year, on every business trip to Thunder Bay, i stayed at the Trvelodge on Memorial Avenue. Great beds to sleep on and a continental breakfast. This past stay was for a family reunion and everyone from out of town booked their stay at the Travelodge and enjoyed their stay as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Likeard
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

First room wet floor, second room wet then they sent us to a room with someone in it. Finally the forth room we stayed. 11pm we got to bed. Terrible place. We travelled all day had reservations and it was horrible service. Woke up at 2am to a barking dog next door to our room. All this because we were attending a medical appt for our daughter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haliburton, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here on a trip across northern Ontario en route to points west. We arrived with no reservation at about 8:00 pm and, although quite busy, they were able to find us a non-smoking room. I think the best way to describe the overall experience was "adequate".

There were no major disappointments and there was nothing extraordinary. Our queen-sized room was quite small but offered enough room for an evening stay - although probably not much more. The rooms were clean and reasonably well appointed, and included a fridge and a small flat screen TV. Unlike some other reviewers found, our bathroom had no mould and the elevators were working well. The service was fine, especially considering a large group was in the process of checking in and put considerable demand on the staff. There is a nice indoor pool. The price, at $89 seemed quite fair. The location in downtown Thunder Bay was somewhat off the Trans Canada but relatively easy to access and get back on the next morning. There were several restaurants a short walk from the hotel. The included breakfast was very basic (mostly cold offerings) and considerably below the level that we have had at other hotels.

We have stayed at other Travelodges and found that this level of service, cost and accommodation is pretty much what to expect. If we are looking for just basic accommodation for a night then this hotel is adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Upon check-in the front desk clerk was very rushed and didn't say much. Elevator is out of service due to technician strike. Noticed mold on the bathroom tilegrout and was told by the front desk clerk it was only stained. While getting ready to retire we noticed a funky smell coming from the corner and I am sure was urine. Changed rooms late at night with no apologies from the staff for the inconvenience all this caused. Find another hotel to stay in!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed in a room in mid 2012 & it was fair, some work had been done on it, stayed last night, and NEVER again. 70's décor, dark walls, bedspreads, carpet, so, no way to tell if it ever saw soap & water. Lumpy pillows, small beds & cheap mattresses. No bathroom fan, no grip rails near tub, towel rod half off the wall. Coffee pot & makings but an old dish cloth in lieu of paper towels. No garbage container in bathroom,only 2 coat hangers, no luggage stand, one chair. Looked dirty & felt dirty, all other hotels full, we were tired but unfortunately staying there done nothing for our physical or mental well-being.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel and check the ratings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at several hotels while traveling through Ontario, but this was by far the worst. The shower walls were moldy, the fan wasn't working properly, the bathroom door hit the sink right in the middle, so you couldn't open the door all the way.The room was so small you could barely move around in it. There was no stand to put your luggage on, we had to put it on the floor. oh and the elevator was broken and of course the elevator maintenance workers were on strike! This was the most expensive of the 5 hotels we stayed at in Ontario and it was the worst. I wish I had read the reviews before I had gone here. If we hadn't been so exhausted after driving for 13 hours we would have gone to another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Thunder Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Thunder Bay

Address: 450 Memorial Avenue, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Y7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Thunder Bay 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Thunder Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Thunder Bay Hotel Thunder Bay
Travel Lodge Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Travel Lodge
Thunder Bay Travelodge
Travelodge Thunder Bay Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Thunder Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.