We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Thunder Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Thunder Bay to your Saves list
Super 8 Thunder Bay
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   439 Memorial Avenue | Lakehead Expwy. to Harbour Expwy., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Y6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

This wasn't too bad of a motel. The rooms were pretty outdated, but very clean! The only thing I didn't like about the rooms were the windows. They were very old, and very small. I felt a little bit claustrophobic in the rooms because of how small they were.

They front desk agent working when I checked in was extremely friendly! She was very upbeat, and was so friendly which I really appreciate when in a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    46
    68
    33
    36
See reviews for
58
52
36
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

Plain, basic, cheap motel. The room was nothing special, but the noise was terrible! We stayed on a Friday night, and noticed a bass beat from a nearby club -- not too bad, but it was there. But, when the bars closed at 2am, there was lots of banging and loud talking and loud voices that went on for far too long. There was somebody on the desk all night -- they should have dealt with it without requiring other guests to complain!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

Well, I've been to several Super8 Motels across Canada on business and this one is the worst. This place does not mention anywhere that they sold off the attached building to a Night Club that pounds music past 2am. My walls were literally shaking. I tried politely asking the front desk for an explanation and I got this quote... "Oh, no one told you that there was a night club there?, That's too bad, but I get a complaint at least once a night from guests when I work". However, he did make it very clear that they will NOT offer any money back or compensation; if there was any hope I had to call the manager in the morning. So, turns out that the manager doesn't work on weekends and the lady at the front desk in the morning would rather punch me in the nose than try to help. Please note that I'm not an old whinny business man looking for an excuse to complain about the hotel and life, rather, I just thought you may want to consider what you will get if you book here. Bad service and no sleep. That could be good for some but I rather get some sleep if I'm paying $100 a night at any place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalen, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

We reserved another hotel, but they messed up our booking so we had to look for an alternative. The Super 8 was located alright for our drive through purposes. The staff was really friendly, the room was big and clean. Just the truck driver next door was a little noisy and would not stop the engine of his truck because it was so cold. The laundrymat was fast and cleaned well, the heating was good, this night we had -26C. Boston pizza is in walking distance and was fun to visit.

  • Liked — Boston Pizza around the corner
  • Disliked — truck drivers not stopping their engines and Donut-drive-thru next to the rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Well, overall the experience at the Super 8 was descent. My mom and I visited Thunder Bay to see the town, and visit the University campus (about 5 minute drive from the hotel, 20 minute walk) and we were only staying for less than 24 hours so for the purpose of having a place to sleep with clean accomodations, it did just that. The hotel staff was good, espescially the front desk lady. She was nice enough to let us check-in a bit early, since our flight landed before regular check-in time. Continental breakfast was good, everything was fresh. Room 216 was clean, and comfortable, TV had good channels. It was cold as the heater hardly worked, and the air conditioning allowed a small breeze through the bottom and created noise from the busy street in front. Luckily i am not a light sleeper and didn't hear the noisy bar next door, or any other noise for that fact. I would reccomend ear plugs for those who are lighter sleepers...and ask for an extra blanket!

There is Internet available, $1 for 10 minutes, telephone says it allows local calls but all calls said they were long distance which required me to use my cell phone. Soap, shampoo and Blow Dryer are all available in the room. No iron though.

There are restaurants, and bars near the hotel, and more just a short cab away. Everything in the city is no more than 15 minute drive. NIGHTLIFE: I would highly suggest you be careful with the places you go to, as advised by a friend who lives there many places are dangerous espescially for younger crowds. The bar next to the hotel is 100% safe and fun! There is always a cab available, and many attractions, malls and restaurants are close to the City Centre (cleanest part of the city). and a 20 minute walk from the hotel down Memorial Ave.

If you are coming to stay for a weekend, in hopes to explore the city and not spend too much time at the hotel, this one is for you! The hotel is clean and provides basic necessities. For longer stays I would reccomend others.

Average place for good price. :)

  • Liked — location, friendly staff, clean comfortable room, MTV
  • Disliked — musty smell in hallway, cold in room, no iron, noisy street
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

As I write this review, it is 2 a.m. in the morning and I am in the lobby due to the fact that there is a bar that is atached to this motel and the music was extremely loud. We are a party of four adults and the noice coming from our room was so loud we ended up in the lobby. Upon approaching the front desk gentlemen, we informed him of our dilema and there was nothing that he could do for us. When booking the room at 9.30 p.m. the front desk lady did not inform us or advise us that there was a bar attached. If we were informed of this we could have had the option to stay or not based on that inforation. Another thing is that the motel smells very bad in the room, musty and it is a non smoking room, there is a strong smell of cigarettes. Upon trying to rest in our beds all of a sudden each one of us started scratching our legs, we al became very itchy. I guess after reading this review one could see that we will NEVER stay here again. Certainly we will ask the management what they will do for us based on the fact that there was no seep in the room, but the comments thus far is that there will be nothing done for us.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Minnesota
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

I stayed one night at this property and was pleased at how clean it was. It's on a busy street but was amazingly quiet at night. The furniture was comfortable. The first floor rooms have a door to the outside parking and to the interior hallway. The free breakfast included fruit, cold cereal, muffins, toast, coffee & tea. There is a Robin's Donuts next door and a Boston Pizza within a short walk. An Irish pub is located across the street. For a relatively small city, I'm not sure it's worth $90+ with taxes, but it was clean, quiet & adequate. My only other complaint is that I was not able to park my vehicle in the hotel parking as it was full. There was ample parking on the far side of Robin's Donuts where the overload parking was located, including enough space for those with trailers or large rigs.

  • Liked — Very clean & quiet
  • Disliked — Price seemed high and couldn't park near my room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Thunder Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Thunder Bay

Address: 439 Memorial Avenue | Lakehead Expwy. to Harbour Expwy., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Y6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Thunder Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Thunder Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Thunder Bay Hotel Thunder Bay
Super Eight Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Super Eight
Thunder Bay Super 8
Super 8 Thunder Bay Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Thunder Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.