We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all, okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Inn to your Saves list
Victoria Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Arthur Street West, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
quebec
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“All in all, okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were in Thunder Bay for a wedding that was held at the Victoria Inn, so we decided to take advantage of the special group rate and stay at the hotel.

Upon arrival, we were a little apprehensive of the outdated look. The signs and the lobby could use some refurbishing. However, the staff at the front desk were very welcoming and we even received a phone call to our room to make sure everything was to our liking. The ONE elevator going up to the rooms was very small and could barely fit two people with two large suitcases.

The room was not a 5-star by any means, but it was comfortable and clean. The decor seems (again) outdated, but there was a flat screen TV and DVD player. The beds were cozy enough, despite some of the pillows being a bit lumpy. The usual amenities were provided--hair dryer, iron, coffee maker, mini-fridge... so there really was not much to complain about. The only thing was that the walls were paper thin and you could hear everything going on in the next room and in the hallway. We had particularly noisy neighbors one night, so we did not appreciate that.

The pool was okay, but constantly full of children. This makes sense, considering the water slide. We tended to stick to the hot tub, but could not really relax because of the noise and excitement coming from the kids in the pool. Contrary to what some others have said, we liked that it was open until 11pm (granted we did not have a room by the pool). We could go for a late-night hot tub session and there would be fewer kids around.

The gym was disappointing. If you are a person who likes to workout, don't expect to find much. There were a few treadmills and that's about it. Furthermore, the gym was often locked.

Other than that, the hotel did a fabulous job with the wedding and making sure everything ran smoothly (from what I could tell). I don't think I would pay full price to stay here again, but it was definitely adequate considering the special rate we paid.

Room Tip: Not near the pool! Too much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OntarioRay74, Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Victoria Inn Thunder Bay. I am glad that your first experience was a positive one. We pride ourselves in the level of service we strive to provide all our guests. I do apologise that some of the amenities were less than expected however we do review with guest comments and feedback and make adjustments as needed. With the waterslide we do tend to attract families on the weekends considerations are being made for an adult hour so that there is less traffic in the pool at later times. I am also very pleased that the wedding was enjoyed and please do not hesitate to visit our Facebook page for special offers on rates and promotions.

R.N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    63
    43
    18
    23
See reviews for
61
26
4
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed over for new years in the jacuzzi suite. The room was nice and clean although the tub and curtains really need to be replaced. There is an air vent to the pool so it is extremely noisy. Pool opens at 10am and is filled with screaming children, and doesn't close till 11pm. Which is a bit late if your planning on going to bed early.They really should do something to limit the noise in the rooms that overlook the pool. Bed was comfy, but the pillows were not the best. Very lumpy and clumpy. The bathroom was very small, and the wallpaper in it looked to be about 1000 years old. But it was clean. The staff are rude and less then helpful. We received a very ignorant phone call from the front desk which was entirely inappropriate. Could have been avoided if the staff member had simply communicated with the other front desk employees. The restaurant food is great! We ordered room service for breakfast and lunch and both came quickly, were hot and delicious! The lobby and restaurant could really use some renovations though. The lobby is actually very ugly and the check in counter is messy and unorganized. Overall it is an ok place to stay although the valhalla is a MUCH better choice.

Room Tip: rooms along outside of building are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OntarioRay74, Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Victoria Inn Thunder Bay. It has been some time since your stay and I am happy to report that we have made some upgrades. All of our guestroom carpets have now been replaced. The suites have all received new wall paper, new paint, new artwork and fresh bedding. In addition we are now working to improve the bathrooms in our guestrooms which completely transform the space. I am glad your experiences were positive in the restaurant, Chicago Joes is a very popular restaurant and we do receive many compliments. Some changes to come throughout the property and corridor carpet replacement; the restaurant is due to receive an overhaul this summer and the front desk area will be redone next spring. Please consider us on your future travel to Thunder Bay; I am sure you will be pleasantly surprised.

R.N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great place to stay but the rooms on the pool side are noisy at times. Great for family getaways! It has it all, good service, great food and location. They supply an airport shuttle service, which is great because Thunder Bay Taxis are the most expensive in all of Canada.

Room Tip: If you want quiet don't get a pool side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OntarioRay74, Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Victoria Inn Thunder Bay. I appreciate your kind comments and look forward to hosting you again when back in Thunder Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was in Thunder Bay for business and couldn't get into the Valhalla where my meeting was being held so the Victoria Inn was my second choice. I was not disappointed. It's proximity to other services was great. There was a Metro on one side, a TD Canada Trust on the other and a Shopper's across the street along with a ton of restaurants. I got in late and opted for snacks from Metro so didn't get a chance to try out the restaurant in the hotel.

The hotel itself was clean and contempary. The lobby was not fancy but attractive, done up with black marble touches and black leather furniture. Staff was friendly. My room was clean and over looking the pool. I understand on the weekends it can get quite nosy but this was during the week and it was fine. There were the standard amenities (shampoo, conditioner, makeup remover etc) in the room, with a coffee maker and small fridge. The best part of the room was the bed, OMG it was super comfortable, it was hard to get out in the morning.

All in all I was quite satisfied with this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

My agency held a three day conference at this hotel. I stayed overnight and found the accommodations to be excellent. What was most striking to me though was the service. On day one the staff showed up in the banquet hall to review the days orders and to see if he could be any help setting up. He was there within 5 minutes when we called for assistance and our event went off without a hitch. When I checked into the hotel that evening the staff were pleasant and helpful and throughout the three days the staff were available when we needed them. We will definitely be back there next year!

PS. Check out the great pool with the giant slide.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

we stayed here one night and it was very clean and new room. we stayed in one of the inside rooms so it looks out over the pool and there are no windows to the out side.my mom felt a little closed inn.they have a very large water slide.we got two coupons for the resturant in the hotel and it was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Good family hotel if you want more quiet get away from the pool I usually stay here
on our way to our cabin breakfast is good has free wifi close to a lot of restaurants friendly staff
Very busy the weekend we were here

Room Tip: The hotel was full this year. And I had a room too close to the pool good hotel great place for chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Inn

Address: 555 Arthur Street West, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Thunder Bay
Victoria Inn Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.