We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to City with Intriguing Name” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valhalla Inn

Save Saved
You added Valhalla Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valhalla Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Valhalla Inn Road, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 6J1, Canada (Formerly Golden Tulip Valhalla Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Visit to City with Intriguing Name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in Thunder Bay to attend the wedding of a family friend's son. Coming from Boston, we knew little about this part of Canada, located at the western end of Lake Superior. The name Thunder Bay was chosen, by ballot, as part of the amalgamation of two cities - Port Arthur and Fort Williams, Ontario. These cities have a rich history in fur trading, mining, grain trade and transport. More recently, Thunder Bay has been reinventing itself with a focus on University education (Lakehead University), medical training and technology and other areas of higher technology.

The city of 109,000 is spread over a huge area, but has no really high end hotel. The Valhalla Inn, located close to the airport is well run, maintained and sufficiently large to easily handle large family events, and smaller conferences and business meetings. Staff were very helpful and friendly and offered many suggestions for things to do in the area. The downtown area is struggling a bit, but the lake, areas of the waterfront, waterfalls, beautiful canyons and amethyst mines are worth visiting.

My only complaints about the Inn (resulting in a four rather than five rating are: (1)rather barren grounds resulting from being so close to the airport and (2a rather strong odor of chlorine on the first floor coming from the pool. In all other respects, it is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Best to get a room on the Fifth floor. These rooms are the most secure and recently renovated. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    66
    57
    16
    19
See reviews for
31
39
15
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Valhalla Inn as we were visiting for a family wedding. Having stayed there on previous occasions, our expectations were low. The newly renovated rooms were just what this hotel needed. Everything was clean and fresh! There are not too many choices for hotel stays in Thunder Bay as it is not a large city. I feel that the rest of the hotel could use some additional renovations to freshen it up. The restaurant seemed a bit tired. I was aware that there was a fire in one of their restaurants so maybe when this is refurbished things will improve.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room that is renovated and also that does not face the airport runways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Kansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were a little disappointed in our choices of lodging in Thunder Bay; we originally had a different hotel booked buy when we realized they couldn't keep the outside clean there was no way the inside would be kept up either. We switched to the Vahalla Inn because we were told by a local that it was the best place in town. We were given what they called an updated room on the 4th floor and I cringe to think what the rooms looked like that weren't updated. There was just something a bit "odd" about the place and to this day we can't put our hands on it. The feel of the place was old, it was out dated, the lights in the elevator flickered, customer service was borderline snobbish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I went to this hotel on June 2013 for business purposes. This hotel was a very basic place....
old-fasioned, ugly and old furnitures in the whole hotel.
Customer service: It was OK not WOW for the only hotel in Thunder Bay near by the airport.
Room: Very old, there was a smell (first time I entered in my room), it was looking like a Motel and not like a Hotel but their price was very high for a motel.
Gym: Their gym very POOR, they had one treadmill, one stairmaster, one appliance for your back. The only thing they had that was nice was the pool and their sauna.
Restaurant: Very old furnitures, service was OK, their coffee was not good at all! Their breakfast was all about bacon....so not a lot of varieties!
Location: the only good side of this "hotel" was the location, we were 5 min from the airport and 10 min form the restaurant area (by car).

*Downside: I couldnt stand their green/dirty carpet in the room, I had to walk with my shoes on and the smell was horrible...I had to leave the windows open even though it was very hot and humid outside!

Overall, I do NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. Although, they are renovating a part of this hotel may be it would be better but I did not see anything. I was in their old part rooms. Very old-fashioned!

Room Tip: Please rent a car...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were not in a renovated hotel room. Even though we booked for three people my daughter had to sleep on the very dated sofa bed in our room because they didn't have a room with two doubles. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are clean but it was average. There was a lot of noise from the ventilation system, and fridge. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room before arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lived up to it's expectations. Attended a convention there and stayed 5 nights. The staff went beyond what they were contracted for in helping with the logistics of the convention. Meals served to delegates were excellent in variety, quantity and value. Room was spacious and clean. No issues with supplies in the room not being replaced. Front desk was courteous and helpful. Shuttle bus held 9 passengers and was on time. Over all, good value for your money and a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangeley ME
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My ideal hotel is (1) dog friendly, (2) great food, (3) room service with table and chairs for dining. The Valhalla Inn has it all. Runway 25 is a superb (but pricey) restaurant; the food is utterly marvelous. The other restaurant, Timbers, is more modest. Room service is available from both restaurants. The pet-friendly rooms have their own entrances into the parking lot, which is handy when traveling with a pet. Our room had 2 chairs and a table, plus a sofa. I've stayed here twice and never noticed the airport noise from inside the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Valhalla Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valhalla Inn

Address: 1 Valhalla Inn Road, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 6J1, Canada (Formerly Golden Tulip Valhalla Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Valhalla Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel in Thunder Bay, 60 newly renovated rooms, and 2 luxury suites. All inclusive weekend packages. The largest convention and wedding facilities in NW Ontario. Surperb landscaping and just minutes from the Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Valhalla Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valhalla Hotel Thunder Bay
Valhalla Inn Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valhalla Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.