We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average ! Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Valhalla Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Valhalla Inn to your Saves list
Valhalla Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Valhalla Inn Road, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 6J1, Canada (Formerly Golden Tulip Valhalla Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
northern ontario
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Average ! Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Seems like this is the hotel of choice in Thunder Bay, not really sure why but I guess because of its close proximity to the airport.

The rooms are dated(at least on the 3rd floor) that is! Couches in the rooms are uncomfortable, in about half he rooms I've had( I'm here often on business) have unappealing odour's, stained carpets and I've on more then one occasion had to call the front desk so they could come and change he sheets on the bed, as on my day of arrival I jumped into bed and notice that the sheets have odours of perfume from previous occupants.

Restaurants runway 25 very expensive and not good value for the money! I was disappointed as 3 of my group were ill that same night after eating there. However I was fine..... But again not good value for the money.

Timbers ....meh it's nothing special, it's a restaurant.

The staff at the hotel seem very nice, and helpful but I think the hotel needs to have a stronger leadership team and willingness to improve, as if another chain were to build as close to the airport I feel the Valhalla would certainly see and feel a sharp decline in customers.

Bottom line it's an average hotel with average amenities at an inflated price, shop around you may find a better value for your dollar within a 5 minute drive to the airport.

Room Tip: Any other floor hen the third!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValhallaThunderBay, Director of Sales at Valhalla Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Medicman,

Thank you for your comments. The 3rd floor is being upgraded early in the new year. This will only leave one floor that is not renovated in the hotel. You can always ask for a specific room type when you make your reservation.
I think Runway25 Steaklounge is reasonably priced for the type of restraurant it is. It may be slightly higher than a chain restaurant, but if you consider the type of menu it is, it is a good value. I am sorry your friends were sick. I was sick last week as well.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    75
    63
    19
    20
See reviews for
37
46
16
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times for work and it really is your best best in Thunder Bay. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and recently refurbished, large flat screen tv etc. They have a turn down service, which is not my thing, but is nice to get an extra bottle of water. The restaurants (yes plural) in the hotel are decent, and for short stays very convenient. Not sure if it's all hotels, but I also like the luggage tags they'll make for you with you business cards. Cute touch. If I had one suggestion, the in room coffee selection is poor. No decaf, no name brand.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValhallaThunderBay, Director of Sales at Valhalla Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hi Ian,

Thank you for staying with us. I really don't think our hotel is decaying, we do have a few guestroons that are tired, but we are remedying that. Our hallways are all going to be completly renovated as of Dec. 20th, and they look great!
I do appologize for the way you were treated by the front desk. We have a saying in our hotel....NO, NO. That means we do not say no to a guest. THis is not our standard and I will bring your concerns to the Front Desk Manager.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Valhalla Inn is old and decaying in parts, but is undergoing renovation; if you are in a recently refurbished section, as I was, the rooms are pleasant and comfortable. I spent 8 nights there and would happily return, despite some issues mentioned below. The 2 restaurants are affordable and offer pleasantly different menus. The staff are friendly and the service is generally good, though the reception desk was not always very helpful in answering questions I had a few times in the absence of any information folder in my room; in one case the info was actually wrong (about the room phone which had no instructions or directory) and in another case, the receptionist seemed to have no interest in helping. I had another incident - an exception to the friendly staff - when I took laundry down to the front desk (having been told it would NOT be collected from my room!); I was told in a very exasperated and impatient tone that I should have sealed the list inside the bag, not attached it outside, and had to untie the bag to do just that on the counter at reception while the young man watched. The cleaning of the room was also not as thorough as it should have been. The conference facilities were generally satisfactory, though the WiFi was a bit slow. Warning: the hotel gets rather busy on weekends with weddings; it must be Thunder Bay's favorite wedding spot!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

When in Thunder Bay, there is only one place to stay and that is the Valhalla! Make sure you ask for one of the renovated rooms. The beds are comfortable and the amenities good. The restaurant serves a great breakfast. I am sure you will be comfortable here. It is locate close to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValhallaThunderBay, Director of Sales at Valhalla Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Wow, Thank you for the great feedback. We really try and impress every guest like we impressed you. Thank you very much.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at the Valhalla Inn for three days attending meetings at the hotel. The staff were very friendly starting with an efficient check-in and check-out. I ate at the hotel often (lunches and ordered in dinners) and found all of the food to be very good and reasonably priced. The room was large and overall very comfortable. The lounge area is very comfortable and offers a warm welcome when you enter.
On the down side, the fitness area needs improvements with only one treadmill, two stair climbers and free weights. I also found it puzzling that even though I checked in relatively early during the day, I ended up with a handicapped room right next to an elevator which made it relatively noisy.
Despite these minor things, I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is in the form of a square. Ask at the front desk which elevator to take to your room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValhallaThunderBay, Director of Sales at Valhalla Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hi Wayne,

Thanks for staying with us. We have many room types and if you had a accessible room, I appologize. We are very busy, and we allocate rooms as per what is available. We presently have 3 out of 5 floor renovated and our reservations dept. can help you find avery comfortable room.
our selection of exercise equipment is limited. But we do have free use of The Athletic Club across the street for our guests to use. It is a fantastic facility.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It has been many years since I stayed at the Valhalla, so it was a little bit of a let down. Rooms on the first floor are pretty run down. I could not get in the motel at night from the back and it is dark back there and ended up taking 10 minutes of walking in the dark to find an entrance that would let me in with my key.

Room Tip: Choose a renovated room with easy night time access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValhallaThunderBay, Director of Sales at Valhalla Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

First , let me thank you for remebering the Valhalla and returning to stay with us. Over the last 2 years we have done extensive renovations in the hotel. 130 rooms are completley renovated and the rest of the rooms including the ground floor are scheduled for the next 2 years.
We have also discussed increased lighting for the parking lots, and we hope to have thisdone by next summer.
Thank you for your feedback, as this makes us better.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed on the newly renovated second floor! All new and very nice! Apparently the 2nd and 4th floors are now re-done.
I also liked the free pass to the gym across the street, which is so much better than in-house fitness facilities.
Restaurant food was great too.

Room Tip: Request a room that isn't interconnected. My room was quite noisy from the neighbours - the soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValhallaThunderBay, Director of Sales at Valhalla Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi Paula,

I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us. The Athletic club is a service we have provided for our guests for the last 3 years. No hotel could offer a facility like that for their guests, and we are very lucky to have it across the street from the Hotel.
I am sorry to hear that the interconnected room was noisy. We have kept these types of rooms for family's, who find them very nice. All you have to do is ask at the front desk or mention it to reservations when you arrange your stay to give you a room without an adjoining room.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Valhalla Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valhalla Inn

Address: 1 Valhalla Inn Road, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 6J1, Canada (Formerly Golden Tulip Valhalla Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Valhalla Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel in Thunder Bay, 60 newly renovated rooms, and 2 luxury suites. All inclusive weekend packages. The largest convention and wedding facilities in NW Ontario. Surperb landscaping and just minutes from the Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Valhalla Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valhalla Hotel Thunder Bay
Valhalla Inn Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valhalla Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;