We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended as a budget motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Superior Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Superior Motel
Save
You added Superior Motel to your Saves list
446 North Cumberland Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 4R2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Windsor ON
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Recommended as a budget motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was satisfied with my four night stay at this motel in room 2 and I thought the kitchenette room was a good value. The room was a decent size but not as clean as it could be (don't look up). The bed was firm, having a mattress on a raised wooded frame which I had no problem with. The bathtub did have a mold problem which could have been easily remedied by removing the old sealant and apply fresh sealant .

Room Tip: Do not stay in room #5 which I did for two nights; it is small. For $10 go for the kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
14
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were happy with our room as it had a separate eating area along with a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. The room was clean, with a nicely redone bathroom. The host was hurried, we arrived after 6 and he acted like he just wanted to get rid of me, no info on Thunder Bay, not even a map. All in all we were happy as we just needed a place to eat supper and sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abotsford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This motel looks not so great from the outside, the rooms were great though. Comfy beds, very clean, great location, quiet, good housekeeping. We are even going to stay here on our back to BC too!!! Do stay here if you plan to be in Ontario!

Room Tip: Room # 8 was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I chose this motel after reading other reviews. I needed a budget (cheap) motel on the way home from a long cross-canada road trip. It did the trick for me. Clean, cheap and the owner was nice. Decently appointed room and nice bathtub. Owner was kind. Only downsides were that there was no deadbolt on the door (I found the neighbourhood a tad dodgy) and the drinking glasses in the bathroom looked like they had been handwashed and were not clean. Overall though, could not complain for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice for $65. The room appeared to have been recently remodeled with a good sized and well-lit bathroom. Included fridge, micro. Manager very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Harbors, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Cleanest room I have ever stayed in, including 5 star hotels. Microwave, fridge and coffe pot in the room. $65/night. Could pay with Us or Canadian money. A little language barrier with the owner but no biggie. Close to Marina Park and lots of fast food.

Room Tip: I was in room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were okay for 80$ . We had two queen size bed with kitchen. Wifi doesn't work. It was okay since we were only staying the night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Superior Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Motel

Address: 446 North Cumberland Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 4R2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Superior Hotel Thunder Bay
Superior Motel Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Superior Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.