We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Superior Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Superior Motel
Save
You added Superior Motel to your Saves list
446 North Cumberland Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 4R2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Quebec City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent budget motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I chose this motel after reading other reviews. I needed a budget (cheap) motel on the way home from a long cross-canada road trip. It did the trick for me. Clean, cheap and the owner was nice. Decently appointed room and nice bathtub. Owner was kind. Only downsides were that there was no deadbolt on the door (I found the neighbourhood a tad dodgy) and the drinking glasses in the bathroom looked like they had been handwashed and were not clean. Overall though, could not complain for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
14
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice for $65. The room appeared to have been recently remodeled with a good sized and well-lit bathroom. Included fridge, micro. Manager very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Harbors, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Cleanest room I have ever stayed in, including 5 star hotels. Microwave, fridge and coffe pot in the room. $65/night. Could pay with Us or Canadian money. A little language barrier with the owner but no biggie. Close to Marina Park and lots of fast food.

Room Tip: I was in room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were okay for 80$ . We had two queen size bed with kitchen. Wifi doesn't work. It was okay since we were only staying the night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

You have to understand that "Very Good" is a relative rating, given the class of motel I am rating. In terms of "cheap motel", the Superior Motel is good because it offers clean rooms, a convenient location, and low rates. There's wifi, most rooms have fridges and microwaves, and the owner is pleasant.

If you are looking for a clean and inexpensive place to stay, the Superior Motel should do the trick.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are rooms in the single-story section of the motel are most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I tried Superior Motel because of the other reviews I read via my TripAdvisor iPhone app. It met my price requirements and had the most amazing bathtub for such a little motel.
No real downside to this place. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Good place to stay for little money. Had no problems with the lady at the counter. Very accomodating

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Country Motel
Old Country Motel
#25 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
1.3 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Suites Thunder Bay
Days Inn Suites Thunder Bay
#6 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
3.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#5 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superior Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Motel

Address: 446 North Cumberland Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 4R2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Superior Hotel Thunder Bay
Superior Motel Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Superior Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.