We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed experience.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 North Cumberland Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 4K8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A mixed experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

All the staff -- from the moment I made my reservation by phone to the time I checked out -- were wonderfully friendly and helpful.

The old elevator was charming, the room comfortable and the breakfast fine.

On the other hand, the pool was so bone-chilling that I could not swim and all the towels were paper thin.

Room Tip: Lake view is the way to go.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    50
    44
    32
    28
See reviews for
30
56
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakefield, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I always try to stay at the Prince Arthur when I am in Thunder Bay on business. I stayed last year in August and I am going again in December. Beautiful view of the Sleeping Giant and the full moon view is spectacular. The dining room is great for sunrise and a hot breakfast. The park across the walkway is lovely. The pool is splendid. Look at the picture! And a nice little sauna. The price is definitely right. I have no complaints. I find hotels like the Days Inn very boring.

Room Tip: book well in advance and ask for a corner room ( 2 windows).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel was a big disappointment. After having read the reviews I was expecting character and charm and all we got was a very dated, dingy, dirty hotel. When we arrived the "shuttle" from the airport was not there and we waited over a half hour for a cab that they had sent to pick us up. After arriving at the front desk it was well after midnight and it took a long time for them to find our reservation. The hotel is very dated, the old charm has been covered up by paint and stipple, and it was quite dirty. The old green bathtub had been resurfaced and was very chipped and the corners were moldy, the blow dryer was broken, and the front desk very disorganized. I called down for a late checkout as I had a late flight only to be called twice by other desk staff to be reminded that I missed the regular check out time and walked in on by the maid service. The only saving grace was the view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our family just returned (September 13th -15th) from Thunder Bay after celebrating my Brother-in-Laws wedding. We stayed (16 family members) at the PA and enjoyed our entire experience. The hotel is older and somewhat dated, but that really adds to its charm. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant and catering staff were fantastic. The room-view of the harbour is spectacular! The newly developed marina area is steps away from the hotel and is beautiful. Large green areas, walking paths and gardens was beautiful.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are the only ones to pick! The street view side is uninspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The charm of this old Prince isn't lost on just his obvious grandeur. The hotel has kept it's history alive within the decor and original details. Views from the lakeside rooms are breathtaking. The staff are kind, courteous and accommodating. (even pets are allowed) The restaurant is able to fill your dining requirements, with room service to boot. Within walking distance of Thunder Bay's amazing waterfront, downtown shopping and a casino. Give this hotel a chance to charm you, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rent a suite for additional window views and comfort, it is worth it. Remember this isn't the Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites in Thunder Bay, Ontario, is a classic gem in thoroughly modern town. The hotel, celebrating its 100th Anniversary this year, sits across the road from Lake Superior and the newly rebuilt Marina Park. There's plenty to do nearby, as the hotel is in a neighborhood with lots of fun clubs, bars and great restaurants within walking distance. The area is very reminiscent of Portland, Oregon's Pearl District. The service at the hotel was great, the room and public areas were clean. And the restaurant is reasonable and quite good if you like traditional continental cuisine. The design is dated and the rooms small, but to me it had the charm of a very reliable, old European Hotel. Also, the bed was extremely comfortable, and clearly fairly new.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Had a hard time deciding on a lodging option for an anniversary getaway in TB. Finally decided on this hotel. It has treated us well with being pet friendly, cozy room with good shower, good hot tub and great front desk service. Seems like you should get more with the money you have to pay but there seems to be a lot of sketchy lodging in TB for equal or more $$.
If you are planning on being here on a weekend night, be sure to get a lakeside room. There are a few rowdy clubs near by.....
Restaurant downstairs is fair to poor. Sushi Bowl restaurant just down the street is a treat.

Room Tip: Pick a lakeside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 17 North Cumberland Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 4K8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel Thunder Bay
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel And Suites
Prince Arthur Thunder Bay
Prince Arthur Hotel
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.