We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   660 W. Arthur St., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay More, Save More!
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had an unexpected stay in Thunder Bay and needed a room for one night. After searching for rooms with 2 beds, this was one of the only options we had without spending more the 200 dollars. We still had to pay over 150 dollars for a room here which is very pricey for a VERY average room.

Room was quite small although it was clean. Parking spots are not abundant. The hotel was quite busy so there was plenty of noise. Continental breakfast was served in the lobby. Very few options and the lobby area is VERY small with practically no seating. I would personally not stay here again unless the price was at LEAST 1/2 off from what we paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the staying with us while you were in Thunder Bay. I understand you concern regarding rates in our city, and would like to assure you that we are very competitively priced for our area. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of our guestrooms. We do take great care to ensure our rooms are well appointed and welcoming for our guests, after a long day of travelling.
I am pleased to advise that we are scheduled for a full renovation in early January 2014. This will include new guestroom carpets, wall coverings, furnishings, linen packages, and draperies. Additionally, we will be adding a full breakfast room with guest seating, and ample space to provide for an expanded breakfast offering, including fresh made waffles, and additional hot food selections.
I hope you will consider staying with us again, should your travels bring you back to Thunder Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    16
    15
    11
See reviews for
11
17
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Although the hotel had a mix up on my check-in by charging me a no show as the booker messed up the dates, the morning staff quickly refunded it. Rooms were average, breakfast was tasty but crowded as they serve in the main lobby. Overall not a bad place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to know that our staff were helpful in resolving the reservation mix up. I know our lobby area does become congested during our breakfast hours, and am pleased to advise that we are scheduled to be adding a full breakfast room during our pending renovations. In the short-term, we do offer breakfast trays for anyone who would like to enjoy breakfast in their guestroom.
Best regards,
Sherri Locke, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here on a trip around Lake Superior. The location is central and the room was clean and comfortable. We appreciated the pet-friendly option. Breakfast included a wide selection to please any taste.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We certainly do appreciate hearing that you were pleased with your accommodations, and our breakfast offerings. We hope to see you back as our guest, next time you visit the city.
Best regards,
Sherri Locke, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Level, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family and I drove across canada from Ontario to alberta. This was our 2nd stop, after two LONG day of driving. When I arrived they didnt have the right credit card information I had booked on the phone with. And insisted I shouldnt "book online". which I did not do. As soon as I got up to the desk the man and woman there were rude, short, and not very imformative. I booked a room for 2 adults, 3 small children, 2 cats and 1 dog. They put us on the second floor, no elevator and as far away from parking as possible. Not impressed.Not to mention I had to park out back where alot of the rowdy traveling workers were, I couldnt get my bags without cat calls directed at me. The hotel was ok. Stuffy, loud, dirty halls, so so breakfest. I am not picky, but unless you HAVE to stay here, dont. NOT A GOOD PLACE FOR CHILDREN.

Room Tip: Ask for on the first floor, no pool, gross food. Loud. overall, not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I am certainly disappointed that you were unhappy with your stay at the Comfort Inn, Thunder Bay. We always try to accommodate our guests traveling with pets in groundfloor rooms, however, I understand we were completely sold out and unable to do this for you. I do apologize that there were other guests in the parking area who made inappropriate noises in your direction...I don't understand why anyone would think this to be acceptable behaviour.
Please be assured we appreciate all guests and would never want to dissuade anyone from booking rooms on an online booking site.
I do hope you enjoyed a safe trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Right from the start I could tell that this was not going to be a good stay. Firstly the check in clerk seemed like she was having a bad day and wasn't very welcoming. Then they couldn't accommodate adjoining rooms as we are traveling with two children. She did manage to get us two rooms side by side but when we went up to our rooms one of the rooms was already occupied, boy was that guy shocked when I walked in unannounced. The "breakfast bar" needs much to be desired as there is nowhere to sit down. In the morning the bill was slipped under the door, nothing to make you feel unwelcome like a receipt under you door in the morning.
And to top it off the toilet in our room broke in the morning and would not stop running.
I will not be coming back to this hotel again and neither should you. The Valhalla Inn is a much better hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I am sorry to hear that your visit with us was not to your satisfaction. I certainly do wish that we had had an opportunity to discuss your concerns, while you were our guest. I do understand your comments regarding our breakfast area. We do offer a daily complimentary breakfast, but we do not have a designated breakfast area, so we provide trays to be used in returning to a guestroom with breakfast choices. We are hoping to offer a breakfast seating area in the future.
Please be assured the "under the door receipt" is an option that many of our guests do appreciate, as this allows for an early departure without the delay of a formal check out, however, we always enjoy seeing, and addressing our guests personally, in the morning.
Best regards...Sherri Locke, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I guess for a hotel in Canada it isn't so bad. I didn't have too many choices and since I like staying in choice hotels I decided to stay here. I was in town for three days and it seemed like I was never going to get out of there. This hotel needs a major renovation. The water in my room had already been opened so I walked to the front deck to let the clerk know I didn't open it and I was not paying for it. He had no problem giving me a new bottle to put in my room. The a/c unit was loud so it was either here it all night or burn up. The hotel is right around the corner from the airport, Pizza Hut is across the street, and Tim Horton's is down the street. If I had to go back and there were no other choices I'd stay here; however I'd be willing to pay more for a better hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is from the comments of our guests that we are able to identify any shortcomings and take the necessary steps to improve our services.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to demonstrate our usual high standards of guest services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, ON
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Three years ago my work booked me into this hotel. It was noisy, so dirty and the Internet would disconnect every 5mins. Much to my surprise did I end up here again without looking at my itinerary close enough.
Traveling as a single woman, I requested a room on the second floor. There's a lot of guys that stay here that like to sit outside and drink. Kind of unsettling. Walking up the stairs to get to my room, I was welcomed with smoke in the air and filthy stairs.
Same issues as before. Nasty hairs about 2 inches long on the fresh towels, in the tub, on the white sheets and around the sink. I can't believe that the cleaner doesn't see all of their hair on the white linens.
Very noisy with people in the halls and yes, the Internet still cuts out. My work took me twice as long to finish in the evening with the Internet cutting out.
Skipping breakfast to be on the safe side.
I stay in hotels about 5 days a month for my job and I have to say that this place is like a frat house. Lessons learned.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I"m sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent visit to our Comfort Inn. I would have appreciated the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you, while you were our guest.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

Sherri Locke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 660 W. Arthur St., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Thunder Bay is a 100% Smoke-Free hotel with newly renovated front desk, lobby area with fireplace and business centre. All guestrooms feature new carpet, drapes, bedding, bathroom vanity and floor tile. Additional room features include a 32 inch flat screen tv, fridge, microwave, ergonomic chair and free Wi-Fi. Relax in our spacious new breakfast room and enjoy a free full hot breakfast featuring eggs, bacon or sausage, waffles and more. Located 5 minutes driving distance from the Thunder Bay Intl Airport (YQT) and in close proximity to Arthur Street Marketplace, Regional Health Sciences Center and Lakehead University. We are pet-friendly and offer ground floor rooms with patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Thunder Bay
Comfort Inn Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.