We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ummmmm, not bad but not great either” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   660 W. Arthur St., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Douglasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Ummmmm, not bad but not great either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I guess for a hotel in Canada it isn't so bad. I didn't have too many choices and since I like staying in choice hotels I decided to stay here. I was in town for three days and it seemed like I was never going to get out of there. This hotel needs a major renovation. The water in my room had already been opened so I walked to the front deck to let the clerk know I didn't open it and I was not paying for it. He had no problem giving me a new bottle to put in my room. The a/c unit was loud so it was either here it all night or burn up. The hotel is right around the corner from the airport, Pizza Hut is across the street, and Tim Horton's is down the street. If I had to go back and there were no other choices I'd stay here; however I'd be willing to pay more for a better hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is from the comments of our guests that we are able to identify any shortcomings and take the necessary steps to improve our services.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to demonstrate our usual high standards of guest services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    20
    17
    11
See reviews for
13
17
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, ON
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Three years ago my work booked me into this hotel. It was noisy, so dirty and the Internet would disconnect every 5mins. Much to my surprise did I end up here again without looking at my itinerary close enough.
Traveling as a single woman, I requested a room on the second floor. There's a lot of guys that stay here that like to sit outside and drink. Kind of unsettling. Walking up the stairs to get to my room, I was welcomed with smoke in the air and filthy stairs.
Same issues as before. Nasty hairs about 2 inches long on the fresh towels, in the tub, on the white sheets and around the sink. I can't believe that the cleaner doesn't see all of their hair on the white linens.
Very noisy with people in the halls and yes, the Internet still cuts out. My work took me twice as long to finish in the evening with the Internet cutting out.
Skipping breakfast to be on the safe side.
I stay in hotels about 5 days a month for my job and I have to say that this place is like a frat house. Lessons learned.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I"m sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent visit to our Comfort Inn. I would have appreciated the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you, while you were our guest.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

Sherri Locke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here just on the spur of the last minute. So glad I did!! Great rooms and great price!! Make sure you get a business class room as you will not be disappointed for the price!!

Great service at the front desk and a lot of laughs with Terry, the front desk manager. Easy to see where this place gets its fantastic personality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! I'm happy to hear that we provided the service you enjoyed, and we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a last minute decision because of rainy weather. There was construction in the parking lot but we were still able to find room for our car + tent trailer. Busy area but was fairly quiet. Rooms were typical. Was not fun lugging suitcases up the stairs because there is no elevator. Breakfast was acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for yor comments. I am pleased to advise you that the construction in the site next to our property has now been completed and our parking area is now fully accessible. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Comfort Inn. Should you ever need assistance with luggage, our Front Desk staff are happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We rolled into Thunder Bay on our motorcycles at about 10 PM and this was the 1st place we saw to stay. Staff very friendly. We had ground floor rooms and parked our bikes right outside the room which was great. Rooms very small, beds comfortable, OK breakfast, internet very slow. Probably would not stay here again, however. Thought the rooms were a bit on the pricey side for what we got.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I went with the most economical of the few options in town, and regretted my choice when I saw my room - it was on the ground floor, facing a parking lot with a high volume of mostly male passers-by peering in and occasionally waving at me as I tried to work. It was annoying during the daylight hours and became unsettling as evening fell. I had trouble sleeping because I felt like every guy in Thunder Bay knew there was a girl staying there alone. My neighbours on either side returned late to their rooms a little loud and rowdy. I even called the front desk to inquire about any security measures and was told by a sweet but very young-sounding girl that there were two staff on duty (including her) but no other security measures at all. I hid my valuables under the bed and tried to sleep - but then was kept awake all night long by an irritating buzzing sound that stopped and started continuously until morning. I think it was a faulty light.

I spoke to the assistant manager about all this when I checked out the next day. I was initially a little underwhelmed with what I felt was an unsympathetic response but appreciated her reply to an email I later wrote to the hotel. Still, I can't recommend this hotel to a girl travelling alone because I just didn't feel safe there. Not sure if the noise issue has been sorted out but I'd recommend checking before staying here.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor! I had a sleepless night because of an irritating buzzing sound outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that you felt unsafe while staying as our guest in the Comfort Inn, Thunder Bay. We certainly do take your concerns very seriously and would have be happy to relocate you to a second floor room, to ensure you enjoyed a restful night's sleep. Our staff is well trained in all aspects of guest safety and security and would not have hesitated to assist you in any way possible.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Inn.

Best regards....Sherri Locke, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

OK for one night, but would not spend a week-end. Twice I went to that hotel and was at the back. The room window gives on the stone company neighboring it, Not a nice view. In addition, lots of garbage on the ground.

Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Wi-fi was slow, but reliable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 660 W. Arthur St., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Thunder Bay is a 100% Smoke-Free hotel with newly renovated front desk, lobby area with fireplace and business centre. All guestrooms feature new carpet, drapes, bedding, bathroom vanity and floor tile. Additional room features include a 32 inch flat screen tv, fridge, microwave, ergonomic chair and free Wi-Fi. Relax in our spacious new breakfast room and enjoy a free full hot breakfast featuring eggs, bacon or sausage, waffles and more. Located 5 minutes driving distance from the Thunder Bay Intl Airport (YQT) and in close proximity to Arthur Street Marketplace, Regional Health Sciences Center and Lakehead University. We are pet-friendly and offer ground floor rooms with patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Canada, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Thunder Bay
Comfort Inn Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.