We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Internet is bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   660 W. Arthur St., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay More, Save More!
Ranked #18 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Internet is bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

A Comfort Inn being a Comfrot Inn, this one is like the other ones as far as the rooms are concerned. I found the mattress hard more than usually and the bath plug was leaking.

The location is above average, because it is along the Thunder Bay espressway and is also close to some restaurants.

My main deception is the internet: slow and unreliable, 0,48 Mbps.They have to improve that. Not even able to have a Skype call without interruptions!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
I am sorry to learn that you experienced difficulties with our internet while staying at the Comfort Inn, Thunder Bay. This issue is certainly something that we take very seriously as we recognize everyone's need to "stay in touch" when travelling away from home. We have recently upgraded our internet services, and have had very few problems with it. In the unlikely situation that you have any future problems with our internet, please do advise us, so that we may assist you further, and keep you connected.
We always appreciate the opportunity to satisfy our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    16
    15
    11
See reviews for
10
17
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
northwest ontario
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

When I had to travel and stay unexpectedly in Thunder Bay, the Comfort Inn was my second choice because my usual hotel was full. We had a very comfortable room, clean with enough room to move around, nice TV and great shower. Best of all the beds were super comfortable!
They offered breakfast in the morning and there was soup in the lobby during the evening, that was a nice touch I thought.
When they found out my trip was medical related they discounted their price, thank you Comfort Inn!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review for your recent stay with us, here at the Comfort Inn - Thunder Bay. We do strive for 100% guest satisfaction, so it is always great to hear from our guests! As an "extra" welcome for our arriving guests, we are now offering soup in the lobby for our weary travelers. We do appreciate you staying with us, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I usually stay at another hotel in Thunder Bay but when I called it was full. So were many of the others. The Comfort Inn had a room ... so I booked. On arrival, the outside space is a bit bleak but once inside, it was a fabulous place to stay. The staff were incredibly helpful... each and every one. Each time I went to the lobby, there was fresh coffee available plus a big basket of oranges and apples. In addition to the creamers by the coffee, they have a small fridge where it is possible to get 'real' milk. The room was comfortable and the Internet was reliable (and free). I was very very pleasantly surprised. And, despite the hotel being off-site from the conference centre where I usally stay, I will very seriously consider returning to stay here despite the extra few minutes of driving it takes to get to the conference centre.

Not a place to stay if you want a good view and a pool. But if the 'home comforts' of travelling are something you appreciate when travelling on business, this is a great place to go.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

There are much better hotels for the same price. I regularly stay in Thunder Bay, but couldn't get a room at my usual hotel. Very basic; no pool, no exercise room, no fridges, no microwaves. No restaurant or lounge.
Staff is friendly enough and the place is clean, but due for an upgrade.
I would suggest any other hotel in the area if you wish to get more for your money. This would be a good deal at about 40 bucks a night less.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
I'm sorry that you were unhappy with your accommodations while staying at our Comfort Inn. We certainly do take all of our guest comments seriously and strive for improvement. Should you have the opportunity to stay with us again, we do offer fridges and microwaves in most of our guestrooms. Additionally, should you have the need for such appliances in a room where they are not readily available, we also have a few portable ones that can be re-assigned as required.
Thank you for your comments regarding our friendly staff...we do enjoy the positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Our 2nd visit to the Thunder Bay Comfort Inn was just as impressive as our first. After a long day of travel, our check-in took minutes and the front desk staff was great. They even got us into a groundfloor room which helped with taking our dog out for a walk. This hotel even offers dog treats at the front desk. Plus it's great to go to a hotel that does not charge for pets. The breakfast area is located in the lobby, which is a little small, but the breakfast lady was showing us pics of the soon to be renovated breakfast area. It looks great and we can't wait to see it when the renos are completed. Once again, we were pleased with our stay...great service, great staff, and clean rooms!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words...I am happy to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you (and your pets) back as our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
256 hotel reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Maybe this will be the last Comfort Inn I stay at. Typical mediocrity, except for the breakfast, which was downright terrible. 4/10

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
I am sorry to learn that you considered our Comfort Inn to be typically mediocre. We strive for much higher and will continue to do so for all of our guests.
Our lobby breakfast area has been an ongoing issue for us. I am very pleased to advise that we have taken our guests comments to heart, and are adding a new dedicated breakfast room, with an expanded breakfast, to include additional hot items for our guests' enjoyment.
I sincerely hope you will return to our Inn to enjoy our new offerings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Another disappointing Comfort Inn. We travel with a small dog but I think it is not necessary to put us in the worst rooms! Upon entering the room, it smells like urine. You want to change rooms, apparently they are the only rooms "pet friendly" available. We have everything open to try to get rid of this smell. There is a patio door letting you go the outside, but the decor is poor ... as the cleanliness of the bathroom. The breakfast area is tiny. There is only one table or two so that everyone walk on each others feet to try to have something for lunch and we must return to the room to eat it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your accommodations. We do accept pets in all of our guestrooms, but do recognize that our groundfloor rooms are most convenient for pet owners.
I am pleased to advise that our breakfast area is being addressed and our renovations are coming very soon. Our new breakfast rooms will feature a newly expanded hot breakfast buffet, with plenty of room to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 660 W. Arthur St., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Thunder Bay is a 100% Smoke-Free hotel with newly renovated front desk, lobby area with fireplace and business centre. All guestrooms feature new carpet, drapes, bedding, bathroom vanity and floor tile. Additional room features include a 32 inch flat screen tv, fridge, microwave, ergonomic chair and free Wi-Fi. Relax in our spacious new breakfast room and enjoy a free full hot breakfast featuring eggs, bacon or sausage, waffles and more. Located 5 minutes driving distance from the Thunder Bay Intl Airport (YQT) and in close proximity to Arthur Street Marketplace, Regional Health Sciences Center and Lakehead University. We are pet-friendly and offer ground floor rooms with patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Thunder Bay
Comfort Inn Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.