We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“front desk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   655 West Arthur Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“front desk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just want to put a huge thank you out there to Alex the front desk person....you were so helpful and nice and made our stay extra special..
clean room and good breakfast.
In a good area...close to highway to. Lots of places to eat around this area. Grocery stores close by. Good coffee places too.
Shoppers near and airport too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    84
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
41
46
14
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

When traveling on vacation from one spot to another each day, we just want a clean-well located motel for the night. This motel provided just that as we traveled around Lake Superior. Our room was very clean & the location perfect .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Thunder Bay has very few good hotels. This was one of the better ones that took pets.

My issues:

* The wifi didn't work (yes I used the right code)
* The bathrooms were very 70s
* The lobby (if you can call it that) was tiny and uninviting
* They charge $15 extra for pets
* The rate was $120/night....a bit much for a hotel of this quality

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A convenient place to stop. Right on the highway and near the airport [but we did nt notice a lot of noise]. Furnishings were very nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. Within walking distance of several restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time, from your busy schedule, to post a review of our hotel. We appreciate your business, and hope to see you again.

Stuart, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night on way to Jasper AB, a little pricy but gave a corporate rate, looks fairly new.
Rooms were very clean beds were comfy linen in good shape.
They have hot breakfast which was ok. When checking out the front desk didn't seem the happiest person working but that's ok

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We appreciate you staying with us, and hope that if you are ever passing through Thunder Bay again you will allow us to be your hotel of choice. You mentioned that we " looked fairly new" . As a 40 year old hotel, we put in a lot of effort and are constantly renovating to maintain the building un " as new" conditon as we can. Stuart, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

From the door left ajar into the parking lot by the housekeeping before we had checked in, to the insulting single paper towel labelled "complimentary guest towel", to the lumpy beds and broken bathroom faucet, to the nagging plastic signs on beds, tables, and bathroom counter, this was a hotel that spent all their time telling us what was expected of our behaviour, and did nothing to meet our expectations for a hotel. A second night spent on our return trip did nothing to improve our opinion. At nearly double the cost of local strip-style motels, I was expecting far better than we got.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
First I would like to thank you for taking the time to write both on this Trip Advisor site, as well as on the Best Western survey site. I totally agree with your comment about the outside door left adjar. While cleaning the room, the housekeepers had opened the door, and failed to ensure that it was totally closed, when then finished the room.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our mattresses. We use Beauty Rest Westbury II plush mattresses. Most of our guests love them and some have even purchased some through us.

I have also inspected the room that you occuped and found that all taps were working order.

The plastic signs on the bed - As a " Green Key" rated hotel, we use environmental friendly products and procedures. Part of these environmental friendly requirements are such things as a towel and linen program. Although we will gladly replace all of the guest linens and towels daily for multiple stay guests, we do offer them the OPTION to reuse the towels, and sleep on the same linens for a 2nd night. This saves chemical and water usage. The complimentary paper towel you mentioned is provided for a guest to wipe their shoes, or to clean the car winshield. etc, to save on the towels. We will not reuse a towel that we cannot remove stains from, except as a rag.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Reservations were quick and easy. Very efficient, friendly and accommodating on the phone. Check in was fast and easy. Room was excellent, clean and very comfortable. King size bed was great. Breakfast was excellent and included almost everything from hot and cold cereals, toast, hard boiled eggs as well as scrambled eggs, sausage, and bacon. Also waffles with strawberry compote and wiping cream. Of course coffee, juice, etc. and more. No reason to start the day hungry. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. The value received was better than I expected, since we do most of our travelling in the States and the rates are usually lower, we were pleasantly surprised with the cost for the night. Recommend this motel and would stay here again, if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us, and hope that you will return in the near future.

Stuart, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn

Address: 655 West Arthur Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the head of Lake Superior in Ontario, the BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn is determined to offer the best customer service for both business and leisure travelers. This Thunder Bay hotel offers convenient access to skiing and fishing as well as a variety of local shops and restaurants. The BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn offers 84 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms including suites and Business Plus rooms. Each room features cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. This hotel features a complimentary continental breakfast each morning, free parking, an airport courtesy shuttle and a business centre. Small pets are welcome!The hotel has received a 3 Green Key Rating ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Best Western
BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.