We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE STAFF!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn
655 West Arthur Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #5 of 32 hotels in Thunder Bay
toronto
1 review
“NICE STAFF!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Overall i enjoyed my stay here housekeeping staff were very friendly the big guy at the desk at check in was extremely friendly and outgoing, and also helped with bringing luggage to the room. muchly appreciated. continental breakfast was nice, in a nice bg room which overlooks a mountain. i would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Thunder Bay!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    54
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
36
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have stayed in these accommodations twice now this year. They are perfect for people travelling with pets. Great room, great value and great location. I had a great night's sleep and would recommend it as the number 1 hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are very happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us. We are constantly trying to improve to make ourselves even better. We look forward to seeing you again, soon.

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stay here up to 20 times a year before and after flying out to Toronto. The rooms are always clean, the staff very friendly, and the location is ideal from the airport. I highly recommend staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We really appreciate your regular stays with us, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We are a couple from Thunder Bay, and booked this hotel for our Wedding Night. Easy check in, very clean room, quiet, good location, close to airport. Good rates, great breakfast, comfy sleeping. Very happy with our stay!! Big flat screen tv, friendly staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side, probably less traffic noise as it backs onto residential instead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you back on anniversaries. Stuart Bagnall, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

About six years ago I used to stay at the Crossroads on a regular basis, but was turned off by a very negative experience with rude hotel staff.
Recently we gave it another try and it was passable but nothing great. In that experience I was turned off by the fact that they wouldn't let me check into the hotel room because I was not with my wife, who booked the room, who was very late as a result of a flight that was delayed a number of hours.
Despite showing ID with the same address, they would not check me in without making another booking in my name and then cancelling hers once things arrived. It was a needless headache. Sometimes going the extra mile makes the difference. In this case a failure to be reasonable really ruined the experience.
This evening we decided to give it another chance and again, poor staff attitude really made the difference.
Once again my wife booked, this time we were together. Unlike other hotels that assume two people, which, if asked, she would have stated, they booked one, which led to an additional charge when we showed up.
The woman working the desk, simply did not seem to be all that interested in being friendly or cordial, and despite charging us for the additional person only gave us one room key - I suppose the charge is for the extra wrinkles in my side of the bed.
We are staying in a business suite, which while having ample space and being relatively clean simply does not make the grade.
The tub does not empty, the Internet is less than spotty (I've been fighting with it for hours to even get connected and miraculously at 1 a.m. I managed to get a slow signal). Just another bad experience, and given that it's not an isolated incident I'd have to point the finger at management or ownership in simply not training their staff that well.
For the money, with the frustratingly poor service (and you can read my other reviews to find out I'm not all that picky) I'd say take your chances on Hotwire or on a Travelocity Top Secret Rate, because you're simply not getting bang for your buck at this establishment.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Guest comments only allow us to get better. Like you, we have not been satisfied with the wi-fi in our guest rooms. We are pleased to announce that we have just signed a contract with a new internet provider. Parts are on order and should be installed very soon.

You mentioned that we would not allow you entrance to a room that was booked under your wifes name. We are very concerned with the safety of our guests. Unless we have specific instructions from the person who books the room, we are not at liberty to give out a guest room key. You might have the same address, but we have no way of knowing if there is recent problems at home that the wife may not want you to have access.

As we offer breakast to our guests, we base our rates on the number of guests in the room. Unless we are running special rates, we normally charge a base rate for one person and an additional $10.00 per guest.

I look forward to discussing this matter with you further. Please contact me at crossroadsbw@shaw.ca or 807-577-4241 ext 4 Stuart Bagnall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Clean, well maintained, comfortable beds, but no restaurant, no nearby good restaurants (chains/fast food only), slow internet and small TVs with limited cable. Here on business for one night so tolerable, but will look for another option if I'm in Thunder Bay again. Just OK, nothing more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celtic
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is special because of the friendliness of the staff, the homely atmosphere, and the professionalism of the cleaning and maintenance. If you need something then just ask and they will try to help.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Best Western
BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn Thunder Bay, Ontario
Address: 655 West Arthur Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the head of Lake Superior in Ontario, the BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn is determined to offer the best customer service for both business and leisure travelers. This Thunder Bay hotel offers convenient access to skiing and fishing as well as a variety of local shops and restaurants. The BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn offers 84 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms including suites and Business Plus rooms. Each room features cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. This hotel features a complimentary continental breakfast each morning, free parking, an airport courtesy shuttle and a business centre. Small pets are welcome!The hotel has received a 3 Green Key Rating ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.