We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super lodging in TBay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alberta
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Super lodging in TBay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have stayed here many times either passing through or visiting Thunder Bay and I continue to feel that their service is second to none. I know that they pride themselves on customer service and everyone I have ever dealt with has made that extra effort. The building itself is not new, but it is well maintained and the rooms are modern, clean, roomy, and comfortable. The second floor has balconies. There are several outside main entrances, clearly marked, so you can park close to your room. (It's a sprawling structure.) The grounds are lovely with a nice rural feel - the place is only a few minutes out of the city on the highway going to the US. Restaurant staff are great, they will prepare stuff for you to take to your room, and breakfasts are hearty and good. There is a nice pool and they have computer access in the lobby. Nothing to complain about! On my last visit, we were pulling my car on a tow-dolly behind a 26' truck. We had some trouble re-attaching the dolly to the truck after we had to unhitch (reasons too long to mention...). After a SOS call, staff came out to help us! This was superb as we could not have done it ourselves. Very friendly people, a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Business Development Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear DLCAlberta,

It is with great pleasure that I respond to your excellent rating on TripAdvisor, and thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

I am very happy to read that our staff left such a positive impression on you. Best Western's vision is to lead the industry in Superior Customer Care, and I am proud to hear that our staff lives this statement on a daily basis.

I am also glad to read your positive comments on our Cliffhanger restaurant, our Executive Chef takes great pride in his work and it is good to see a loyal guest such as yourself enjoying the result of such dedication and passion.

We look forward to providing you with same level of satisfaction on future stays in our newly renovated rooms.
To us you are like family!


Sincerely

Edwin Martinez
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    93
    29
    5
    7
See reviews for
61
61
16
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Innisfail, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

As mentioned in some of the reviews, this facility is out of the City, but that offers a lot in itself - quiet, peaceful - great scenery.

We had travelled from Innisfail, AB to Orangeville, ON. on our Can-Am Spyder, pulling a trailer. Hotel is Biker Friendly. The Staff were all very friendly & helpful.

Will stay there next trip through.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Business Development Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear William K.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor, It is very much appreciated.

Thank you for including our hotel on your Cross Canada Motorcycle Ride, I am glad to read that our scenic location met and exceeded your expectations, and that our facility accommodated your needs. It is also wonderful to see that our mission to provide Superior Customer Care is being implemented by our hard working and dedicated staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Sincerely

Edwin Martinez
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were driving from Calgary to Windsor and had driven in from Brandon arriving at this hotel in the early evening. The staff at reception was not very friendly – had to wait several minutes while two members of the staff were chatting with one of the guests until one of them decided to come to check me in! We stay at Best Westerns quite often (have Gold Elite status) and we were very pleased with the one in Brandon but this was unacceptable. The property is in a nice location with nice grounds but a bit dated. Our room was on the second floor (no elevators) – fairly basic and cleanish. We had difficulty in finding the ice machine – only on the lower level. The restaurant was ok – our server was nice and friendly but the other staff – not so much. Check out was ok. Probably will give this hotel a miss if we are in the Thunderbay area again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear FS75 TripAdvisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay. We take your comments very seriously and will use your suggestions to implement improvements to our processes. We realize that there is a need for an elevator in our property at the guest room side, and as part of the next face of our renovation and elevator is part of it.

I would like to thank you for your loyalty to the Best Western brand and look forward to welcoming you back. Please feel free to contact me directly so I can assist you with your next reservation.

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is a great place if you don't need to be right in the city. A few minutes outside the city but still close enough to drive back if you wish. The desk staff were very friendly, courteous and professional. The property and view are amazing. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Having travelled for three months, the best hotel TV channels going. The restaurant was alright with service professional but lacking in the friendliness department. I would definitely go back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Don O,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to post a review on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us.
Your feedback is very important to us as it allow us to see our product through the eyes of our clients. I am happy to read that "the property & view was amazing" during your stay.

We are always looking for ways to improving our services and we appreciate your feedback of our restaurant and will take the necessary steps to correct this small but important matter.

We look forward to seeing you here again on your next trip to Thunder Bay, and please feel free to contact me directly so I can be of assistance in making your next reservation.

Sincere Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

dated but nice rooms, very clean...quiet location! As always best western is great. I can count on their standards when travelling and they are my favourite hotel. The Nor Wester does not include breakfast, no problem for me and so the price is a tad lower.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Senior Contributor Traveller44_11,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel following your recent stay with us! We sincerely appreciate your comments and will use them to implement improvements. We continue to make upgrades to our hotel, interior and exterior and would love to hear from you as to your suggestions. Please contact our General Manager at 807-473-2454 (direct) at your earliest convenience.

Thanks again for your loyalty to the Brand and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creemore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We arrived late at night and very tired, without a reservation.
We were greeted warmly and were soon settled in our room.
The room had a sliding outside door and we were able to park right outside which made unloading the car so much easier.
Clean and comfortable room, very quiet, no complaints.
We did not use the spa or have breakfast there

Room Tip: I only saw the one room and don't really remember where it was located in the hotel except that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear D S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy the spa, restaurant or other amenities of the hotel but hope that you can on your next trip.

Thanks again and we look forward to your return.

Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-9123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tower, Minnesota, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice place and very friendly staff. I was amazed that there is no elevator.
More another one or two ice machines sprinkled around the place would
also be nice. I agree that the restaurant was nice and good food but a bit
over priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Stanrh,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. Please note that an elevator is part of our next renovation plans and due to its complexity and permits/planning involved it will take some time, but rest assure that it is on the works. We do have an Ice Machine located in the middle of the hotel. If you give us another opportunity and need assistance with your luggage, please do ask our hotel staff for help. They will be glad to do so!

Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,


Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-9123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
Best Value, Fre...
Show More
8.4 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
7.7 mi away
Days Inn Suites Thunder Bay
Days Inn Suites Thunder Bay
#3 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
5.1 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#7 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Pool, Charming...
Show More
10.5 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Suites, Pool, F...
Show More
7.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#6 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Thunder Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this newly renovated Thunder Bay, Ontario hotel offering full-service accommodations near Fort William Historical Park, Loch Lommond ski resort, Thunder Bay Tournament Centre, and Kamview Nordic Ski Centre. Whether traveling for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre has it all! Featuring an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, private steam and sauna rooms, and a full scale fitness centre. Situated in beautiful Thunder Bay, Ontario, this hotel provides guests with exceptional customer service, superb full-service amenities and an unbeatable Nor'Wester Mountain location, only 7 minutes from downtown. Guests will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable television, Flat Screen TV's, Fridges, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Suites are also available to accommodate the entire family. For a more comfortable stay on the road, our well appointed standard rooms or our luxurious suites will meet or exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Nor`Wester Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.