We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“lovely retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

checked into this property worried that i might feel stuck as it was out of town. All other hotels in the are were booked so took a chance it wouldn't be too far out of the way. It was a delightful surprise. Clean , bright, warm and welcoming. The lobby is quiet and elegant. Good food in the restaurant and nice rooms. Lots of extra touches, sanitized remotes, comfy beds, and very clean. The best part was the grounds. Amazing green space and cut grass walkways, around the pond and fountain. I really enjoyed getting out and walking it made work feel like a holiday. Definitely worth the little extra time to drive into the city. I will consider it for my next stay in ThunderBay.

Room Tip: main floors have sliding glass doors, balconies on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Ramarley TripAdvisor Reviewer,

Thank for you comments regarding your stay at our property and thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We are very happy to hear that your business trip turned into a holiday!!!

Thank you in advanced for considering staying with us again!

Thanks again,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-9123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    96
    29
    5
    7
See reviews for
61
63
16
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Viroqua
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

There were 6 of us who stayed here on our way farther north to fish. We have stayed her before and will stay again. Nice place and very convenient with great views. It was very quiet with easy access to our cars. Nice to have the chairs outside to relax after a long days drive.

Room Tip: And don't bypass their restaurant. It is top notch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Senior Contributor BunchieVQR,

It gives me great pleasure to read your review of our property and our new Cliffhanger Restaurant & Bar, and would like to sincerely thank you for your continued loyalty to our brand.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next fishing trip! To us you are like family!!!

Kind Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-9123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Ended up staying here when all the regular spots in town were booked. I'm very glad it happened and now I won't stay anywhere else. Quiet and out of the way with a beautifull view. Excellent service and friendly staff. Rooms were recently redone very tastefully. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. I've since booked both large and small rooms for business meetings and this is the first choice for anyone traveling to Thunder Bay from our company.

You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Brad990 TripAdvisor Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your schedule to post a review of our property after your recent stay with us. I would like to officially welcome you to our family and to our brand Best Western!

Thank you for giving us the opportunity and for recommending our hotel to others! please be sure to contact me so I can be of assistance in making your next reservation.


Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-9123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It is a nice clean well run hotel, spacious lobby and a welcome drink of water and fresh lemon slices were waiting. Very welcoming on a hot day after RIDING all day ! We were on a 8 day Tour around Lake Superior on motorcycles and this hotel was very accommodating. We had ground floor, as booked, and we could easily load and unload the bikes right out our sliding walkout out back. We ate at the restaurant IN the hotel and it was very good, although a bit pricey as restaurants are that are attached. Pool and hot tub was also a welcoming sight.
All in all I would give it an OGOM rating of 4 out of 5 stars. Only beat by the Fairfield Inn, Sault Ste Marie. You won't be disappointed here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. You'll see the cliffs and the sunrise... nice.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Tim M. TripAdvisor Top Contributor,

Thank you kindly for posting a review of our property after your stay in August, your comments are highly appreciated. Thank you for making us part of your 8 day Tour around Lake Superior! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our welcome refreshment station in our lobby and our hotel in general.
We look forward to welcoming your group back on your next trip and thank you again for your loyalty.

Best Regards,


Edwin Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed from 08/23/13 to 08/25/13. Hotel is in a scenic location, with nice ground to walk on. The rooms are comfortable but there are some issues.

Location:
5 minute drive from airport, translates into $30 cab ride. Does not offer airport shuttle unlike other competing hotels (valhalla). Hotel has a nice view of the mountains, especially if in a south facing room. Grounds were clean and made for a nice walk.

Room:
The room was very clean and the bed was comfy. A lot of TV channels to choose from. There is one big drawback, and that is the sound of the air conditioner. The unit that this hotel uses is extremely loud and sounds like an airplane in the room. We could not sleep with it turned on, and it was very hot when we were visiting. They need to fix this.

Staff:
The staff was friendly and helpful and accommodate our needs graciously.

Pool:
The pools was ok with a depth of four feet. While clean it did remind me of a public facility, and not a nice hotel.

Restaurant:
Decent breakfast, if a little pricey and slow. The waitresses were nice and were quick with refills. Ordered ribs from room services and they were mediocre. The food at Valhalla is much better.

Overall a nice place to stay, but so major drawbacks (air conditioner, no airport shuttle).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear DAGR98,

Thank you so much for rating our property on TripAdvisor and for leaving your comments. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, I would just like to mention that the Hotel does provide with complimentary shuttle service, all you need to do is contact the hotel directly, and we will take care of the rest. If you experience any issues in your guest room, we would love to be given the opportunity to solve the issues at hand. Our 4'4" pool is one of the largest from all properties and have full time staff taking care of this area as well as our Full Fitness Centre.

We are very happy that you stayed with us and look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,


Edwin Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Fine Place. We enjoyed our stay. On site restaurant was really nice. Staff was very knowledgeable and professional. Nice beds. Nice to have double access to our room. Made loading/unloading much easier.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Janet W.

Thank you for leaving a review on TripAdvisor, and for taking the time to do it!
We value your business and appreciate the kind words describing your experience at our property.

Please allow me to assist you with your next reservation at our hotel.

Thanks again,

Edwin Martinez
Business Development Manager
807-473-9123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I am moving across the country and in all the hotels we stayed in this one was the best. The rooms were very clean, we got a room rate away, the service was excellent, and the scenery and atmosphere was beautiful. I will always stay there from now on. Wow!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Jackiebonbon TripAdvisor Reviewer,

Thank you for posting a review and for your loyalty!

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back home again! To us you are like family!

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-9123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this newly renovated Thunder Bay, Ontario hotel offering full-service accommodations near Fort William Historical Park, Loch Lommond ski resort, Thunder Bay Tournament Centre, and Kamview Nordic Ski Centre. Whether traveling for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre has it all! Featuring an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, private steam and sauna rooms, and a full scale fitness centre. Situated in beautiful Thunder Bay, Ontario, this hotel provides guests with exceptional customer service, superb full-service amenities and an unbeatable Nor'Wester Mountain location, only 7 minutes from downtown. Guests will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable television, Flat Screen TV's, Fridges, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Suites are also available to accommodate the entire family. For a more comfortable stay on the road, our well appointed standard rooms or our luxurious suites will meet or exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Nor`Wester Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;