We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Overall Good Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel is located just off the highway when you get into town. They have a great view of the mountain and surrounding area. They have a pond area and deck in the back area. Nice place to go for a walk down the country road next to the hotel but watch out for bears. There was no free breakfast here, just a restaurant. The location was peaceful but you have to drive at least 8 miles to get to any chain restaurants or shopping areas. Nice place to kick back at night away from airport and city. Staff was friendly and night but a little testy in the morning. There is a convenience store next to the hotel but only opened until 10 most nights. The pool water looked old and stale. Overall a good place to stay but way overpriced for the value you get. If you want to get away from the city and airport this is a good placed to stay. If on a budget I would look around the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Business Development Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Wltraveler2000 TripAdvisor Top Contributor,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor, the time you spent posting your experience means a lot to us, and we do take recommendations seriously.

I would like to assure you that your safety comes first, all chemicals in our pool are checked at every hour to ensure the proper levels are maintained, and to be in compliance with the Health Unit. Hotel rates are very competitive within our market in the City. Breakfast rates are also available and we receive great remarks on our breakfast choices.

Please feel free to contact me directly, so I can assist you with your next reservation.

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    112
    33
    8
    9
See reviews for
75
79
18
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, clean room! A refreshing change from the previous night where I spent a sleepless night at The Best Western Plus in Dryden! It was so dirty n disgusting in Dryden that I was worried I'd find a similar disgustingly dirty "pet room"....not the case!!! This place is a well run establishment that values it's patrons who are traveling with a pet! The rooms are very clean and well appointed, I definitely don't feel like i've been banished to a "pet room"!!!
Friendly staff and peaceful pristine location!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Travelswithdewy,

We sincerely appreciated you taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that our staff was friendly and that you enjoyed the peaceful pristine location. I would like to apologies on behalf of the Best Western Plus in Dryden, and I would encourage you to call the General Manager of the property to enable him with the opportunity to make things better or to advising him on where they can improve.

It is feedback from our guests that enables us to continuously strive to deliver the service and experience that our Best Western guests know and love!

Thanks again for your loyalty to the brand and look forward to welcoming you back in Thunder Bay on your next trip!

Yours truly,

Edwin Martinez
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were warmly greeted and the staff excelled in people skills, something often lacking today, we were given a excellent room with a view of the mountains. a little out of town for some folks, but, for us a excellent location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear terry j,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following you recent stay with us. I would also like to thank you on behalf of the entire staff for highly recommending us to all TripAdvisor readers by giving us a rating of 5.

Stay with people who Care is one of Best Western new slogans and needless to say our staff is a true reflection of this statement.

Our beautiful location in the Nor'Wester mountains really does set us apart from the other properties in Thunder Bay.

We hope to see you again soon!

Edwin Martinez
807-473-9123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Rooms are superior to any other hotel in it's class...the suites are amazing! Food in the restaurant...again superior to most hotel restaurants. Highly recommend their own Cliff Hanger wine! Views of the mountain are beautiful.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Monica G,

Thank you kindly for posting a review on TripAdvisor following you recent stay with us! I am very happy to read that you think our Suites are amazing and that the food in our Cliff Hanger Restaurant & Bar is superior!

We sincerely look forward to your next trip to Thunder Bay and should you need any assistance when making your reservations please do not hesitate to call me directly at 807-473-2456

Regards,


Edwin Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris,Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

full service hotel/conference place ....clean..quiet..if unremarkable....professional front desk...decent restaurant/bar....big indoor pool area if interested( we weren't).....GREAT views outside..not from rooms.be aware as you are on outskirts of town...SOUTH......not north. beats the heck out of the places we saw in Thunder Bay proper. would stay again on a trip passing through...not a destination hotel. solid choice

Room Tip: our room had a sliding door which was great for unloading luggage w/o having to lug down a hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear greenday61 TripAdvisor Contributor,

Thank you kindly for posting a review, Your feedback is highly appreciated. I am pleased to read about your interaction with the different departments as well as the professionalism from our staff. Best Western Mission is to Lead the Industry in Superior Customer Care and we embrace that in every opportunity we encounter.

Thanks again for choosing our award winning hotel and your business, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly, should you need assistance with your next reservation.

Warmest Regards,

Edwin Martinez
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is quite a nice Hotel but is located a long distance from the city and other attractions. The setting is pleasant and quiet due to its location. The rooms are modern, spacious and clean. The rooms are a bit pricey considering the remote location. The fitness centre equipment, particularly the cardio equipment, was old and in dire need of maintenance/repair/replacement.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Gareth G,

Thank you for choosing our Award Wining hotel for your place to stay. As well thank you kindly for your feedback and comments, note that your feedback is important to us as it help us improve our services and hotel as a whole. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the details of your observations of the cardio equipment so I can understand you better. Please contact me at your convenience at 807-473-2456.

Thanks again, and look forward to accommodating you in the future!

Kindly,

Edwin Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenpool, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The only problem with our stay in Thunder Bay was in finding the hotel. For some reason we thought that the hotel would be in the Nor'West part of town. We found out later that Nor'West refers to the mountains that are on the east side of the hotel. The location is really beautiful. The back of the hotel is a park setting. The groundskeeper does an excellent job. This is not a new hotel but one that has been remodeled and remodeled quite well. Breakfast is not included but there is a restaurant attached to the hotel that is really nice. We ate both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. We would not hesitate to stay here again now that we know where the hotel is located. The hotel and restaurant staff mentioned tripadvisor a couple of times during our stay so it is obvious that they are concerned with and proud of their tripadvisor ratings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear oilton28 TripAdvisor Senior Contributor,

We are indeed very proud of our TripAdvisor ratings and it is because valued customers like yourself who take the time to post honest reviews for other readers to read prior to their travel plans, for that, we "Thank You".

I am sorry to hear about your interpretation of the name of the hotel and our location. The name of the hotel came from the name of the Nor'Wester Mountain that we overlook from most of the property and located on highway 61.

I am happy to read that you like the location and the park settings, it takes a lot of effort to maintain our grounds but it is worth every minute spent! walking trails with seating benches by the pond are also available for your enjoyment. Our surrounding set us apart!

Please feel welcome to contact me should you need any assistance in making your next reservations at our property.

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this newly renovated Thunder Bay, Ontario hotel offering full-service accommodations near Fort William Historical Park, Loch Lommond ski resort, Thunder Bay Tournament Centre, and Kamview Nordic Ski Centre. Whether traveling for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre has it all! Featuring an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, private steam and sauna rooms, and a full scale fitness centre. Situated in beautiful Thunder Bay, Ontario, this hotel provides guests with exceptional customer service, superb full-service amenities and an unbeatable Nor'Wester Mountain location, only 7 minutes from downtown. Guests will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable television, Flat Screen TV's, Fridges, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Suites are also available to accommodate the entire family. For a more comfortable stay on the road, our well appointed standard rooms or our luxurious suites will meet or exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Nor`Wester Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.