We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy country hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Cozy country hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great little hotel out in the country. We frequently stay here for romantic nights away from home. It is a bit out of the way, although the hotel offers everything needed to feel at home. We always stay in either the royal suite or the air tub suite, think its called the cliff-hanger suite. The cliff hanger suite features a beautiful bathroom with large air tub and a small spa shower, a separate living room with mini kitchen and a very large private deck. The royal suite is more open concept with a large bathroom with a huge tile spa shower, living area with leather couches, mini bar area and access to the more public patio area. The rooms are always clean and most of the staff are very friendly (with the exception of one lady at front desk that is always rude). The lobby is nice, very cozy and comfortable. The pool area is great with a large L shaped pool, hot tub and cedar sauna. They also have a few private saunas and stream rooms that you can rent for a small cost. The gym area is great, clean and has lots of equipment to choose from. The restaurant is ok, although very over priced for foods that have all been previously frozen. It could also use some upgrades. Room service is good, normally very quick and has a decent selection. We love the breakfast! Yummy! Location is good, close to loch lomand ski area, the tournament centre and the neebing road house is right across the street! Great prime rib! Hotel is situated on a very large lot with nature everywhere! a little pond with a dock makes for a great sitting area. Lots of trails and walking paths. And even a few fire pits. And it is situated in front of the norwester mountains! Just beautiful! Most rooms have a fabulous view, all with outdoor sitting areas. Beware of the hockey tournaments though, the hotel gets very full of screaming children that never seem to be supervised. Can be very noisy during those times. Overall it is definitely a hidden gem! Nice place to relax and enjoy nature! Very romantic! I would highly recommend this place to friends and family!

Room Tip: -The royal suite and the cliffhanger suites are the nicest, would not recommend a standard guest roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear jcwlpc Senior Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and we appreciate your feedback and loyalty. I welcome the opportunity to further discuss your experience at our hotel in regards your customer service experience with our Front Desk Agent, and your contact information would be most appreciated so that I am able to understand your specific concerns. It is feedback from our guests that enables us to continuously strive to deliver the service and experience that our Best Western guests know and love.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next romantic night at your home away from home.

Kind Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    91
    29
    5
    7
See reviews for
61
60
16
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

I had to do some extra mileage to get to that hotel, but that was the only best western plus of the area.
Around the pool and around the rooms, kids where crazy running and speaking very loud and crying. We tried to speak with the mother and to the front desk. They where not able to do anything...
Around 10pm, no more noise.. We tried to sleep.. The heater was doing a lot of noise (motor was humming after running 30-45 mins) and at some point you could hear a loud snoring from next door)

We spoke to the front desk again around 4am, couldn't do anything.

We got 20% off for a night without sleep..
I will never go there again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Jaxno1,

Thank you for posting a feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for each guest.

Although it was unfortunate that the heater unit failed during your stay, we made an attempt to move you to another guest room. The following morning of check-out with an offer of 20 percent off your stay, plus a complimentary breakfast for two.

It is apparent that this experience fell through the cracks and at this time regardless of what we attempted to do to make things right , we failed. Please note that this is not our standard and we will share this with our hard working staff to continue striving for excellence for every customer and implement process improvements.

We value your loyalty as we notice that you are a BWR member of our brand and hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. For the inconvenience, we would like to provide you with a 100.00 Best Western Gift Card to be used for future stays at any Best Western in North America. We will forward the gift card to the address on file. If you decide to use the gift card at our property, please contact me directly and I will personally assist you with your reservation.

Kind Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-245
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Situated on the west side of Thunder Bay, the Nor'Wester is a perfectly good location for a variety of purposes and seems to attract a regular business travel clientele. The restaurant is the highlight of the place, unless you're attending a business meeting or seminar of some sort (in which case the extensive small convention and meeting room facilities are the highlight in addition to the restaurant). I'm mentioning the restaurant first mainly because everything on the menu (in mid-December yet) was fresh, and the server brought fresh slices of warm, fresh-baked basil and rosemary bread to the table for me to try. It was very, very, good. Anyway, dinner and breakfast menus offer a wide variety of choices, and everything is competently prepared.

The room was serviceable, plain, with a comfortable bed. Nothing fancy at all, but it seemed cleaned and nothing was missing. To get to the main floor room requires carrying luggage down a short flight of stairs, then getting through two sets of doors - not particularly difficult, but an odd layout nonetheless. The in-room heating system was one of the newer breed of wall units that seem to be quieter and quite efficient, and it maintained a surprisingly stable temperature without being intrusive. I'm seeing these GE (or equivalent) systems in a lot of low and mid-priced hotels and motels as replacements for the older, noisy and inefficient HVAC systems I'm not sorry to see the end of.

All of the staff I met were courteous, professional and well-informed. Check-in/check-out was efficient and problem free.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Agitater Senior Contributor,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read your comments about our Restaurant "because everything on the menu (in mid-December yet) was fresh, and the server brought fresh slices of warm, fresh-baked basil and rosemary bread to the table for me to try. It was very, very, good. "

Our customer service levels derive from a culture that is passed from top down, but it is our staff that makes it happen and we are very lucky to have them.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just recently spent 2 nights at this hotel and I was absolutely satisfied. Very clean rooms and hotel. It is about a 10 min drive from the main shopping area/airport but with it being outside of town a bit it has awesome views of the mountains in the dining area. The food was outstanding! We ate pretty much every meal there and everyone in our group was quite satisfied with the delicious food. Serving staff were very friendly and most accommodating.
The gym was also very good and exceeded expectations. The pool area was also very nice as well.
There isn't an on sight convenience store for magazines or reading material but newspapers were available on the front counter. There was also a card in the room to fill out and leave at the front desk if you had forgotten anything such as a toothbrush etc. They were most accommodating on many levels and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It is also a dog friendly hotel and they supply a shuttle service to the airport.
I would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear jjden_8 TripAdvisor Reviewer,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, the World Largest Travel Site. Also would like to thank you for highly recommending us to travelers heading to Thunder Bay.

We are very happy to read that "The gym was also very good and exceeded expectations" and also for recommending us to the rest of the world on TripAdvisor!

We look forward to welcoming you back at your new home the Best Western PLUS Nor'Wester and Conference Centre.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in November 2012

Location: The hotel is a bit of a hike from Thunder Bay, about a 15 minute drive to the airport and 20 or so to the main parts of Thunder Bay. There is very little in the area, a gas station, a restaurant across the street and a convenience store.

Rooms: The rooms were well appointed and clean. The included a large fridge, an exceptionally large TV and comfortable beds. The rooms were the same basic best western rooms as anywhere else. There were a few small issues, mostly that the towels were almost sandpaper like. It’s really time for this hotel to invest in some new linens for the washroom. Some rooms have a mountain view, and others a parking lot view.

Amenities: The hotel has a pool, game room, and restaurant on site. The restaurant had a good breakfast although things were a bit on the pricier side. I did not use the pool or game room. Wifi is available throughout and is fast and reliable.

Staff: The staff were kind and helpful, the maids were especially nice.

Overall: If you’re staying in Thunder Bay and don’t mind driving a bit to get into town then this is a good choice. If you’d prefer to be nearer to the town or don’t drive then this hotel may be a bit too far.

Room Tip: If it's the same price ask for a room with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Canadiantraveler117 Senior Contributor,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read your comments about our staff "kind and helpful, the maids were especially nice". Our customer service levels derive from a culture that is passed from top down, but it is our staff that makes it happen and we are very happy to have them.
I would like to thank you again for bringing to our attention the issue of the towels, please note that we have corrected this issue. Our towels are new but found out that the calibration of our softener levels were low therefore resulting in towels not being soft.

We look forward to serving again in the future and wish you the best over the holiday season and the New Year 2013.

Warm Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay. The rooms were beautiful and clean,what a view in am outside the very clean windows. Would recommomd this place to anyone who plans to go there. Also supper was great the waitress nwas very cheerful and very busy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Mileva E R,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. I would like to thank you for recommending our property to our valued readers. We look forward to welcoming you back again to our beautiful City of Thunder Bay, and of course to your home away from home.

Best wishes over the Holiday Season and Happy New Year 2013!

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this newly renovated Thunder Bay, Ontario hotel offering full-service accommodations near Fort William Historical Park, Loch Lommond ski resort, Thunder Bay Tournament Centre, and Kamview Nordic Ski Centre. Whether traveling for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre has it all! Featuring an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, private steam and sauna rooms, and a full scale fitness centre. Situated in beautiful Thunder Bay, Ontario, this hotel provides guests with exceptional customer service, superb full-service amenities and an unbeatable Nor'Wester Mountain location, only 7 minutes from downtown. Guests will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable television, Flat Screen TV's, Fridges, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Suites are also available to accommodate the entire family. For a more comfortable stay on the road, our well appointed standard rooms or our luxurious suites will meet or exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Nor`Wester Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.