We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just recently spent 2 nights at this hotel and I was absolutely satisfied. Very clean rooms and hotel. It is about a 10 min drive from the main shopping area/airport but with it being outside of town a bit it has awesome views of the mountains in the dining area. The food was outstanding! We ate pretty much every meal there and everyone in our group was quite satisfied with the delicious food. Serving staff were very friendly and most accommodating.
The gym was also very good and exceeded expectations. The pool area was also very nice as well.
There isn't an on sight convenience store for magazines or reading material but newspapers were available on the front counter. There was also a card in the room to fill out and leave at the front desk if you had forgotten anything such as a toothbrush etc. They were most accommodating on many levels and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It is also a dog friendly hotel and they supply a shuttle service to the airport.
I would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear jjden_8 TripAdvisor Reviewer,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, the World Largest Travel Site. Also would like to thank you for highly recommending us to travelers heading to Thunder Bay.

We are very happy to read that "The gym was also very good and exceeded expectations" and also for recommending us to the rest of the world on TripAdvisor!

We look forward to welcoming you back at your new home the Best Western PLUS Nor'Wester and Conference Centre.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    100
    29
    5
    8
See reviews for
67
66
16
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in November 2012

Location: The hotel is a bit of a hike from Thunder Bay, about a 15 minute drive to the airport and 20 or so to the main parts of Thunder Bay. There is very little in the area, a gas station, a restaurant across the street and a convenience store.

Rooms: The rooms were well appointed and clean. The included a large fridge, an exceptionally large TV and comfortable beds. The rooms were the same basic best western rooms as anywhere else. There were a few small issues, mostly that the towels were almost sandpaper like. It’s really time for this hotel to invest in some new linens for the washroom. Some rooms have a mountain view, and others a parking lot view.

Amenities: The hotel has a pool, game room, and restaurant on site. The restaurant had a good breakfast although things were a bit on the pricier side. I did not use the pool or game room. Wifi is available throughout and is fast and reliable.

Staff: The staff were kind and helpful, the maids were especially nice.

Overall: If you’re staying in Thunder Bay and don’t mind driving a bit to get into town then this is a good choice. If you’d prefer to be nearer to the town or don’t drive then this hotel may be a bit too far.

Room Tip: If it's the same price ask for a room with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Canadiantraveler117 Senior Contributor,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read your comments about our staff "kind and helpful, the maids were especially nice". Our customer service levels derive from a culture that is passed from top down, but it is our staff that makes it happen and we are very happy to have them.
I would like to thank you again for bringing to our attention the issue of the towels, please note that we have corrected this issue. Our towels are new but found out that the calibration of our softener levels were low therefore resulting in towels not being soft.

We look forward to serving again in the future and wish you the best over the holiday season and the New Year 2013.

Warm Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay. The rooms were beautiful and clean,what a view in am outside the very clean windows. Would recommomd this place to anyone who plans to go there. Also supper was great the waitress nwas very cheerful and very busy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Mileva E R,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. I would like to thank you for recommending our property to our valued readers. We look forward to welcoming you back again to our beautiful City of Thunder Bay, and of course to your home away from home.

Best wishes over the Holiday Season and Happy New Year 2013!

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We recently stayed there as we were in town for a wedding. The staff was great and very accomodating. The shuttle to and from the airport was very well organized. We arrived in Thunderbay very early and thiught our room would not be ready. When we got to the hotel they had the room ready and checking in was extremely easy. All I can really say is that anyone having to go to Thunderbay this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: check online and you can pick what type of room you would like whether it is on the first floor or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Travellerpls reviewer,

Thank you for reviewing us and leaving your feedback on TripAdvisor, it is thanks to you, our fellow customer that we continue to strive in delivering superior customer care to our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Thunder Bay.

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-9123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliot Lake, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. Quiet location but close to city. Great view of mountains from our lovely suite, with 2 TV's microwave & fridge. Pool looked inviting. Had meal in dining room first night which was good,large portions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Margaret G.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and rating our property on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your meal at the Cliffhanger Restaurant & Bar and look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.

Kind Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed for 3 days, 2 nights at this hotel and loved it. It is very quiet with pleasant views of the mountains in behind. With a cell phone tower located in front of the hotel, I had perfect reception with Bell (and have heard Rogers works great here too). Fridge, microwave, big flat screen TV that even included the Movie Network, comfortable bed, wireless N, and delicious complimentary breakfasts each morning. I can't wait to come back again and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Thunder Bay that enjoys peace, comfort, and everything you need in one place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Chad P,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you had a great Bell cel. reception, it was a long wait, but we are very please with the added coverage that this tower brings to Bell users as well as how it will benefit all the guests that once had this problem in the past, and yes you are correct! Rogers cel reception is great too.
We look forward to welcoming you back home on your next trip to Thunder Bay!!!!

Kind Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the NorWester a total of 3 nights. The staff was helpful and upbeat. The view of the mountains was great especially in the fall as the leaves are changing colors. The seating area was comfortable.

I was staying in a family suite which was very big (2 beds, couch, microwave, 2 TVs). Negative comments about the room: it was adjacent to a storage area where hotel staff play TV very loudly and talk loudly until midnight. Also, there weren't a lot of plugs near the bed so I had to unplug the lamp and alarm to plug in my laptop and cell phone charger.

The complemtary breakfast is very small (1 egg, 2 bacon strips, patatoes and toast). I had to add extra eggs to my order every morning. Overall the brealfast was good. The restaurant is undergoing renovations and it should look very good once it is completed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear BearingGuy Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. Every review is important to us as it allow us to see our products through the eyes of our valued guests. Thanks to your feedback, we are currently making changes to some of our guestrooms to allow for more plugs.
We look forward to serving you in the future!

Thank you

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this newly renovated Thunder Bay, Ontario hotel offering full-service accommodations near Fort William Historical Park, Loch Lommond ski resort, Thunder Bay Tournament Centre, and Kamview Nordic Ski Centre. Whether traveling for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre has it all! Featuring an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, private steam and sauna rooms, and a full scale fitness centre. Situated in beautiful Thunder Bay, Ontario, this hotel provides guests with exceptional customer service, superb full-service amenities and an unbeatable Nor'Wester Mountain location, only 7 minutes from downtown. Guests will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable television, Flat Screen TV's, Fridges, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Suites are also available to accommodate the entire family. For a more comfortable stay on the road, our well appointed standard rooms or our luxurious suites will meet or exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Nor`Wester Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.