We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a quick trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place for a quick trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Probably nice for a long trip as well, I had only 2 nights here. Breakfast was delicious, room service very prompt and HUGE servings..I really didn't need that much food, but they said a salad comes with all entrees, and the fish came with potatoes and veggies anyway, so the salad was really too much but everything was so tasty!

Room was comfortable, shower was really excellent, great water pressure.

Check in and out very simple and fast, hostess in cafe was gracious and remembered what I wanted from the day prior.

Definitely the place to stay in Thunder Bay. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear loverealitytv Reviewer,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, we sincerely appreciate your feedback. We take a lot of pride in everything we do including the food we serve. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip and perhaps you will be able to see first hand the new Cliffhanger Bar & Restaurant to be opening soon!

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    91
    29
    5
    7
See reviews for
61
60
16
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice curb appeal but beautiful from the inside! Newly renovated & updated, breath taking views, quiet location but minutes to the city centre. It definately has everything you could want & ask for - all the ammenities and Staff that is so polite and courteous. It feels like I'm home as soon as we pull in. They know who I am when I call and always make sure that everything is perfect for me whatever time I arrive. I always get a room in the area of the Hotel that I prefer. From the wonderful front desk staff (especially Brenda whom is more my friend than anything) to the Staff in the Pool and even the maintenance staff that helped us clear the snow from the back of our truck during a freak snow storm last April, they are amazing people that just want to help you anyway they can. It was a nice surprize having a welcome cookie plate in our room (homemade cookies, YUM). This is the only place that we stay since we found it a few years ago; better than any other place I've stayed. Cudos to Justin Lee, Brenda and the entire Staff!!

Room Tip: the second floor rooms at the back have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear M B Senior Contributor,

Thank you for taking the time for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and are happy to hear that you "feel like you are home as soon as you pull in". It is because we have a team that cares that we are able to continue providing superior customer care, and we celebrate with them as we see feedback like yours!

Thanks again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back home.

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We held our son's wedding at the Nor'Wester Hotel in August 2012. The staff were not only very friendly but were extremely efficient and accommodating. They had great ideas which were very helpful in making this the most memorable day for us, our son and his new bride. The food at the reception was plentiful and delicious, and the service was exceptional. The scenic view allowed for breathtaking wedding pictures with the Nor'Wester mountains as a backdrop. The rooms are tastefully decorated and were absolutely spotless. The beds and the many pillows were very comfortable and made for a great night's sleep. Our son and daughter-in-law want to return to the same suite on their first anniversary so that they can relive the most important day of their lives.

Room Tip: The sliding patio doors in main floor rooms are handy when travelling by vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Edward A.

Thank you for your excellent feedback. I am very pleased to hear that everyone enjoyed a day to be remember forever, and thank you for letting us be part of it!. I have shared your comments with our team members so they can see how their hard work is perceived by our valued customers.

We look forward to seeing your son and daughter-in-law on their first anniversary and the many more to come.

Thanks again!

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We decided to stop and spend the night in nature. What a great Decision! Hotel is wonderful and so is the staff. Restaurant is excellent. Try the new pineapple chicken salad. It is worth every cent and be sure to ask the the "house dressing". You wont to dissappointed.
Thank you to all. You do a wonderful job.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Jocelyn

Your opinion is important to us. We truly value and appreciate you taking the time to post a review. As the General Manager, I will be delighted to pass your wonderful comments on to the staff. It is always great to hear positive comments and know that all of our effort to deliver on Superior Customer Care is actually being noticed by our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to Thunder Bay.

Respectfully
Roberta Sawchyn, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have been staying here a lot recently, the front staff is excellent and very efficent, The rooms that I have had are very comfortable. I love the ground floor for the easy acess. It was very quiet each time I stayed there.

Room Tip: I really like the ground floor and the side that overlooks the mountains is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Bonnie,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review. To us you are like family and we thank you for your loyalty to our brand and hotel.
We look forward to providing you with more "Great Nights" and welcoming you home!

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Fantastic stay over Labour day weekend. Can't think of one negative thing to say. Wonderful room and great showers. Loved the pond and the maze. Fun. Not too much else to day but I do need 200 words for thie review.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Pxb123 senior reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us over Labour Day weekend, and that you loved the pond and the walking trails, and the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

All the best!

Edwin Martinez
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I just spent a couple of days at the Nor'Wester. Yes, it's a little dated, but then again, so are your other options in the area. It's less than 10 minutes to the airport, and they have a shuttle to take you to-and-from.

The bed was comfortable and new.

The staff were all friendly.

Simply put, it was a comfy stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear H0lidazed reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your note, and we sincerely appreciate your feedback. I welcome the opportunity to further discuss your experience at our hotel, and your contact information would be most appreciated so that I am able to understand your specific "dated" findings or concerns so we can implement improvements.

It is feedback from our guests that enables us to continuously strive to deliver the service and experience that our Best Western guests know and love!

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards


Edwin Martinez
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this newly renovated Thunder Bay, Ontario hotel offering full-service accommodations near Fort William Historical Park, Loch Lommond ski resort, Thunder Bay Tournament Centre, and Kamview Nordic Ski Centre. Whether traveling for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre has it all! Featuring an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, private steam and sauna rooms, and a full scale fitness centre. Situated in beautiful Thunder Bay, Ontario, this hotel provides guests with exceptional customer service, superb full-service amenities and an unbeatable Nor'Wester Mountain location, only 7 minutes from downtown. Guests will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable television, Flat Screen TV's, Fridges, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Suites are also available to accommodate the entire family. For a more comfortable stay on the road, our well appointed standard rooms or our luxurious suites will meet or exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Nor`Wester Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.