We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Rest and Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Absolute Serenity

Absolute Serenity
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Absolute Serenity
Save
You added Absolute Serenity to your Saves list
971 Gorevale Road, Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Thunder Bay B&B and Inns
Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Absolute Rest and Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights and absolutely LOVE this place!

We arrived late and it was cold and windy and just started to snow (snow at the end of April!). When we went in the wood burning on and it was so warm and inviting.

Laura showed us around and we were fortunate that we were the only one staying at that time so we had the whole B&B to ourselves! There's even a fireplace in the bedroom which was great because i'm always cold. The place was so warm and spotless. The breakfast table had fresh flowers and treats for us.

Breakfast was amazing, would go back just for the breakfast alone. We also met Ed and both of them are very hospitable and give your the best service. We had the pork tenderloin with salad and dessert and they're amazing.

They have great wifi and we even face-time with the kids and showed them the place. My little one was impressed on how big it was. We will for sure take them here this summer. They have video games and board games so they won't be bored. We didn't get a chance to check out the lake in the area because it was a little chilly but gonna check that out in the summer.

This place is in the forest but still in city limits but it's probably a 15 minute drive to downtown.

Definitely five star treatment on this place. This is only my second time staying on a B&B and it won't be my last but they sure set the bar high for the others.

If you have time definitely check out Bistro One. Great food and service as well. Their creme brûlée was soooo good! Also, had a workout at Mind and Body Centre.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Bc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I would highly recommend Absolute Serenity Bed and Breakfast retreat. Laura and Ed went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. The setting is so peaceful and the pool in the back is a great bonus! We look forward to staying there again on our next trip to Thunder Bay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

I have stayed in Thunder Bay many times over the past 20 years. This b&b is my top pick when it comes to value, cleanliness, and overall satisfaction. I have stayed several times both as a b&b guest and as a vacation rental guest. Laura's cooking is definately worth it, but if you want to cook your own meals there is a full kitchen of your own! I could not believe how big the rental was. It is like you have your own house with pool and hiking trails included! I recommend visiting hazelwood lake conservation area which is only 5 mins away. Great swimming, hiking and paddling. Overall, I agree with many of the other reviews, this place is a hidden gem and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Neither of us has ever stayed at a better hotel or B+B and both of us have travelled a fair amount for our ages (25 and 21). The B+B is basically just the large, comfortable, and well-furnished basement of a wealthy and friendly family. Your money gets you a large living room with a pool table and entertainment system, a nice bathroom, and a bedroom, along with a small kitchen and a porch. Plus, Laura cooks you breakfast every morning and lunch or dinner too if you arrange for that. She lives in a peaceful forest just outside Thunder Bay (with hiking trails) and has a pool and a firepit you can use. We had so much fun staying there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

This was the best B&B I have every stayed at. You get an entire suite to yourself, with kitchenette, pool table, and a separate entrance. Laura (the host) went over the top with her breakfasts. It was something you would expect to see at a 5 star hotel and expect to pay $50 a plate for. The B&B is in a nice country setting minutes from Hazelwood Lake which is a beautiful place for a wedding (reason for our visit) or a canoe trip. I can't say enough about this B&B and would not consider staying anywhere else next time we are in Thunder Bay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

My husband and I like quiet, private places, and Absolute Serenity provided that in a clean, relaxing country atmosphere, complete with a pool and pool table. Our breakfast was excellent, served at our request in our private kitchen area. The bedroom was a bit small, but beautifully decorated. Since we were the only ones staying there, we had a large living room/kitchen/recreation room to ourselves. This would be a fun location for two couples or a family, since the two bedrooms share the common space. We only wish we had stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

What a wonderful stay! Laura went out of her way to make our vacation absolutely perfect - her hospitality & thoughtfulness amazed my husband & myself. She truly brought to life the phrase "going the extra mile". Every detail was well-thought out - from the serene decorating to our fabulous breakfast. The location is amazing - down a quiet, back road in the country, and yet still only 10 minutes away from restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Absolute Serenity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Serenity

Address: 971 Gorevale Road, Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from downtown Thunder Bay and located a short distance from hiking, skiing, fishing, shopping, and entertainment. 12 km from Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre. Whatever your stay requires, we will do our best to see that it will be truly memorable. Savor a dip in our pool, a tranquil walk through the 6-acre setting, or an invigorating hike on one of the many nearby hiking trails. Snowshoeing and ski trails on the property and at nearby ski centers. No matter what the season, we have a variety of activities for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Absolute Serenity Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absolute Serenity, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.