We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and friendly owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kingsway Inn to your Saves list
Kingsway Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   345 Kingsway Ave, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 2A6, Canada (Formerly The Kingsway Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good value and friendly owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Kingsway on a business trip for a few days. It was a 5 minute drive from the airport and close to restaurants. I reserved the room beforehand with the Owner, who was very helpful when I arrived to advise information about Thunder Bay. The free wifi was great for me to continue to finish work in my room. The housekeepers were friendly and did a great job. This is a good motel for anyone on a budget who is looking for great value for their money.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    4
    3
    8
See reviews for
6
3
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Odd smell. Not bad...just odd. Rather out-dated, and there were stains on the carpet. Walls are thin. Had to call the front desk to have the guy next door turn down his TV. The smoke detector is missing the battery.
On the good side - wifi works fine, TV was decent, and the linens were clean. And when I called the front desk to complain about the loud TV, he took care of it right away.
It's not "bad"...just expected more from the pictures, but at least it is in a quiet area of town. So as long as your neighbour doesn't blast his TV, it is fine for 1 night stay.

Room Tip: If there aren't many people staying there at the time, as for a room without other people on eit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Stopped here for one night on the way through Thunder Bay. It's close to the highway and several restaurants. Room was clean and decent enough. Newer tv and wifi worked great. A decent hotel for a short stay. Only downfall was the thin walls as the person next door was quite the snorer.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Spent a night at the Kingsway this past weekend, and it was beyond expectation. The room was clean and well maintained, the wifi was stable, and the water pressure/temperature in the plumbing was consistent. The staff was polite and friendly, even when we foolishly locked ourselves out of the room. If you're looking for an affordable place to stay a few nights, this is it. 5/5, I'll be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind smoking outside, choose a non-smoking room. Just outside each non smoking door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALGARY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I was thoroughly impressed with just how clean my room was. Although there was no air conditioning in the room, it was cool enough in the evening to open the door before bed to let some cool air in. The owners were pleasant to deal with and their sense of pride was abounding.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Lake, ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Staff was friendly enough. Room was clean and spacious. Wifi worked excellent and cable television worked well. Affordably priced for people on a budget. Close to KFC restaurant and other ammeneties. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Hotel is close to the railway tracks with trains going by off and on. I did not mind. It put me to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Our 1 week stay at the Kingsway Motel was above and beyond what we expected. One of the reason we enjoyed staying at The Kingsway Motel was the excellent service provided by the owner and as well as the housekeepers, very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed free Internet, complimentary coffee in the mornings, free local newspaper, daily cleaned rooms and the washrooms look like they have been newly renovated. The owner was very welcoming and made our stay memorable. An amazing price for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Inn

Address: 345 Kingsway Ave, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 2A6, Canada (Formerly The Kingsway Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kingsway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsway inn is an economy budget hotel in which you can experience the best value and lowest price for quality accommodations. The hotel has a long-standing dedication in offering quality service and unmatched conveniences to guests. Enjoy consistency, quality, reasonable prices and great service each time you visit the beautiful city of Thunder Bay.The Kingsway inn is conveniently located close to the Airport, Shopping malls, Skiing & the Thunder Bay Regional Hospital. You can also earn a free night with our "Klub Kard." It’s a home away from home at the Kingsway inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kingsway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Inn Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.