We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self Employed Haven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakehead Motel

Lakehead Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakehead Motel
Save
You added Lakehead Motel to your Saves list
421 Cumberland St North, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A4P9., Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Self Employed Haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I travelled to Thunder Bay late in September, and needed 4 nights accomodation. Being self-employed I was trying to keep the expenses down. With the Valhalla being $150 a night, I managed to stay 4 nights for just about the price of one at the Valhalla. I took what I thought was a chance on the Lakehead, and was happy with virtually everything. New bathroom was nice, room was temperate (it was about 15 celcius during the day outside, and not cold at night), and the owners were happy to point me in the right direction for dinners etc. The wireless was weak, but then again, at $50 a night, I wasn't too concerned. The fridge helped with morning breakfasts. My neighbours were always courteous and friendly. I've recommended this motel to many friends, and although they too seem skeptical, it certainly worked for me!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Steinbach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Needs a complete overhaul ... Room clean, but!Not the best place in city to stay. Quoted one price and confirmed room with visa but on arrival, motel mgmt. advised that room was taken and they had to put us in another room at higher rate. Certainly not a full house that particular night ... and we had arrived before 5 pm ... felt it was an excuse to get more $$$. Would never stay there again and do not recommend the Lakehead Motel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
628 helpful votes 628 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Some aspects of dealing with this establishment were a little strange. We tried to make a reservation about a month in advanced, and a very confused sounding woman told us to call back a week before we would arrive. We did, and had a hard time communicating with a clerk whose English was obviously limited, but we managed to confirm a room. They didn't want a credit card to guarantee the room, but asked what time we would arrive. The motel is not in the best part of town, but it was convenient to where we needed to be. The free wireless internet worked well. Our room was tiny but though this is an older motel, it was recently renovated and in good shape. There was a little noise from adjoining rooms, but nothing serious. If all you need is a place to sleep, this is a fine place, and the $50 rate is only half that normally charged by the chain motels in Thunder Bay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, ON
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Our room was bright, clean, and recently renovated. It was a pretty small room, but that was perfect for us. It was very cozy and warm, even with temperatures of -20C outside. The bathroom was rather spacious, with nice flooring and a new tub. There was plenty of hot water. With the new windows, we couldn't hear any noise from the road. The mini-fridge and microwave were great to have. We had no problems with the wireless internet. Motel owners were very friendly and pleasant.

The motel is located close to fast food and coffee shops. It is about 2 km from downtown, which was perfect for us. It was quite a bit further from the mall, but the mall was still very easy to get to from there; just a straight drive.

Last year, we stayed at the Voyageur Motel, just up the road.This motel is comparably priced, at about $50 a night, for a single queen bed. The Lakehead motel seemed like a better value for the same price. If you like the Voyageur, you will also like this place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Very very clean...Quiet and the owners are very friendly and will make sure you have everything to make your stay pleasant...Beds are so comfortable and the bathtub is immaculate...Not bad at all for a motel!!! Great weekly rates...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

I was hoping to stay at the Voyageur motel but so was everyone. Instead, I ended up here and was happy with it.

I paid 50 dollars but got everything a motorcyclist like me needed. Bed, T.V. with plenty of cable, clean, microwave, fridge. It apparently had internet but my iPod couldn't find any.

Overall, I'd recommend this.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

Clean, renovated, microwave, fridge. We thought it was great for the price. The hostel down the street was more money and definately not as nice. The owner was a wonderful portuguese lady that was helpful and pleasant. We were driving across Canada on a budget and it was one of our favourite places.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakehead Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakehead Motel

Address: 421 Cumberland St North, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A4P9., Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Lakehead Motel Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakehead Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.