We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Powering Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea-Vue Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea-Vue Motel
Save
You added Sea-Vue Motel to your Saves list
463 N. Cumberland St., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 4R4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Whistler, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Over Powering Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Yes, it's cheap and looks a little scary, but it's actually pretty good, except for the overwhelming smell of cleaning products. There is no window to open to help eliminate the smell. This place is not for allergy sufferers or those scent sensitive.

Management was good. Very polite & helpful.

You may also want to be wary of the very thin walls. I could hear the guy in the next room coughing. I'm grateful that's all I heard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Room was clean, recently updated. Fridge, Microwave, Coffee Maker & Flatscreen TV. At $55 per night for 2 double beds worth the money. Would stay here again if in Thunder Bay. I think earlier negative reviews may have been before a renovation. Guy at reception was polite.

Room Tip: Stayed in no 28
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Room is small and furnishings are basic, but appears to be recently renovated and clean. Fake hardware floor in bed room, fake tile floor in bathroom -- hard floors are much preferred over carpet for cleanliness. In-room fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, 32" LCD TV, heater, air-conditioner, wireless internet works well. Plenty of sub-$50 motels are scary (dirty & broken), but this one is fine. $46+tax = $52/night (2 people). Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummondville, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We were going through Tunder Bay, and need a room for the night.., we looked at 4 differents Hotel (we compare the state of the commun areas, the room and the price) those well known hotel were all around 99,00- 105.00 for a 1.5 - 2.5 star hotel) and finally we found this one SEA VUE MOTEL - for 52.00$ we had a big room with 2 double beds, a good size kitchen with full size fridge and stove, everything was clean, a lot of parking space. We stay outside taking advantage of the sun and we met some nice people -friendly neighbourgh. At one point we were not able to get the internet, we called the main office, they offer to help us with it, in the mean time we figure our mistake and since we didn't show up at the office, the owner call us back to check with us. WE HAVE A LONG TRIP AHEAD - AND I SURE WISH THAT WE CAN FIND OTHER MOTEL LIKE THIS ONE ON OUR TRIP.
DENIS ET MICHELE ROBITAILLE DRUMMONDVILLE QC

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Awful place. Sure the price is 45$/room/night, but it was so unpleasant in the room, I still felt ripped off. Absolutely disgusting. No windows to open. The smell was horrible. The sheets were stained - YUCK. Spent most of the night outside the front door just to avoid the vomit-inducing smell in the room.

On the plus side, it is near a nice lakeshore park, and the area, while run-down, is safe, and the wireless internet was reliable.

Have stayed in budget places all over the place for a number of years - this place is among the worst I have ever been in.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

If I could give this place a negative 5 out of 5 rating, I would. You get what you pay for here. Room was filthy. Beds had bedbugs, toilet was broken, hot water didn't work. Bugs everywhere!! Lady at the front desk was courteous, but other than that, nothing else to write home about on this place. In a real dirty part of town, near the ports. Do not stay here. We were on a road trip and spent 18 hours in the car, so we needed a cheap place to stay. We learned our lesson....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea-Vue Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea-Vue Motel

Address: 463 N. Cumberland St., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 4R4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are dedicated to providing quality accommodations at affordable rates! We are located 5 minutes from downtown, and Thunder Bay Casino, 10 minutes from Hospital and Cancer Clinic and 20 minutes from the airport. Guests are invited to take advantage of our services. Clean, spacious rooms feature in-room coffee, fridges, microwaves., All our accommodations are air-conditioned with cable television and free local calls. And complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea-Vue Motel Thunder Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea-Vue Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.