We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Sudbury!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southbay Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sudbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southbay Guesthouse
1802 South Bay Road | Lake Ramsey, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 6H7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Place to Stay in Sudbury!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had a fantastic long weekend stay here. The room was beautiful and relaxing with plenty of reading, magazines, dvd's etc. to keep you entertained on a rainy day. The other guests that passed through were lovely - very interesting to talk to but respectful of each others' need to relax in private.There was plenty of wildlife and natural beauty out on the deck, plus great walking/biking/skiing trails along the lakes just at the end of the road. Last, but not least, Jose was a great host- he cooked up beautiful breakfasts and was an endless source of information about Sudbury, Canada, the Caribbean and much of the world beyond. He has a very soothing presence which cannot help but put you in a relaxed mood. I would not hesitate to book here again when I return to Sudbury!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoulin, Owner at Southbay Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We thank you for sharing our home and the comments you expressed about your stay.

Thanks, merci, gracias, miigwetch


Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
22
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penetanguishene, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We chose the location based on the location to the hospital while visiting a relative having treatment. What a pleasant surprise to be sooo close to town but in a cottage setting.
Jose was very welcoming, the room was clean with everything we needed, and we took the time to go for a nice cool swim during the heatwave. Picked blueberries at the dock before heading up for a glass of wine on the deck overlooking the lake. The baby bear by the side of the road was a special bonus on the way back to the hospital. Our one request was that it be quiet for sleeping - perfect.
Thanks Jose for the interesting conversations and healthy breakfasts that got us up and on our way each day. Got to try lots of new foods (he always asked first if we wanted to try something new).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoulin, Owner at Southbay Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Your description of our home could not be more exact. You capture in words what we have strived to establish for years. We thank you. It was a pleasure sharing our home with you and would not hesitate to experience those moments on your next visit to Sudbury or Manitoulin.

Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Brenda bubbled with delight as she welcomed us for a two night stay at their Luna De Miel Suite, with its magnificent king size four poster bed. Our son booked this retreat for us as a Christmas gift. We decided to use it in March so we could get some skiing in. After a day of cross-country skiing at the nearby Conservation area, soaking in the Jacuzzi with a bottle of ice-wine relaxed our muscles and tickled our fancy. Brenda is a good listener and enjoyed the magic tricks I gifted her. The food was delicious and the hospitality excellent. I half expected a working wood fireplace instead of an electric one, but it gave the correct atmosphere anyway. We highly recommend this place for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Loved our B&B Staycation!! Our celebration was perfected by the kindness, warmth and luxury of this cozy comfy B&B. The privacy, personal sun porch over looking the lake, the King size gorgeous 4 poster antique bed, spacious room, fireplace ambiance, spa tub, rain shower, books/magazines/movies, satelite tv, internet, fridge, coffee machine, etc., etc., etc., was amazing. Then the morning breakfast was gourmet delight!!! Brenda & Jose have that special touch that leaves you feeling spoiled and completely happy. I wasn't aware that our city held such a sweet treasure <3 Thanks!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Staying with Brenda and Jose is like coming home. They think of every little thing to pamper you and make your stay comfortable and restful. From their warm-hearted welcome, to the lovely room with a fireplace and super comfortable bed, to the luxury of a soaker tub . . . and all the little details, like the fresh flowers, the candles, the cup of tea when you arrive. And, of course, the yummy breakfast made just the way you like it. It's those little things that make all the difference.

I was travelling on business and would highly recommend Southbay to anyone doing the same. Who wants to stay in a hotel when you could stay with Brenda and Jose? They are terrific hosts and I agree with the previous writer: words can't describe how wonderful they are! A treasure!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton AB
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I have stayed here on two separate occasions now. Words can't describe how wonderful Jose and Brenda are. They are the most welcoming people, with the best B&B anywhere. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. I have had issues requiring special attention and they always go above and beyond my expectations. The food is always incredible, everything is perfect. Beautiful location, everything about it is perfect. I can't begin to thank them enough for my wonderful experience here.

Room Tip: I have stayed in both rooms and they are both wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Jose was most welcoming to our whole family, including three active boys! Everyone was very comfortable and well satisfied with a freshly made and very healthy breakfast each morning. Sunrise on the deck is idillic. You are located right on Lake Ramsey and walking distance to the Laurentian Lake Conservation Area.

There is lots of space with separate bathrooms and a large living area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southbay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbay Guesthouse

Address: 1802 South Bay Road | Lake Ramsey, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 6H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On lake Ramsey.Closest B&B to Laurentian University, Science North, Cancer Centre. Complimentary unlimited wi-fi internet. New 2 person spa, fireplace, heated floors. Utter tranquility assured. We invite you to sample the warmth, comfort & privacy of our accommodations in a safe ambiance of verified quality. Whether you are seeking a sense of peace, a state of mind or ultimate relaxation our guesthouse is your choice on Lake Ramsey. "Arrive as a guest at our home and leave as a friend" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southbay Guesthouse Sudbury, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southbay Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Southbay Guesthouse to your Saves list