We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sudbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sudbury to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sudbury
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1696 Regent St, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 3Z8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Sudbury
Portalban (Switzerland)
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I spent 4 nights in Holiday Inn Sudbury. Key advantage is its location on Regent St., one of the major streets of the city accessing interesting places of Sudbury and neighborhoods. Rooms are old looking with outdated engravings and very soft beds (too soft in my view, I felt like sleeping in a marshmallow). Long and complicated ways lead to an insufficient number of elevators for reaching the numerous rooms on different floors. The dominant colors are brown, orange and yellowish green not giving a fresh feeling. Wifi was free but did not function well (access code had to be changed daily) and slow. No complimentary newspapers or breakfasts, but a small fridge was available. Staff was friendly when available: they seemed to be often on the phone and unavailable.
The Science North (building and exhibit) is worth a visit, as is the Dynamic Earth with its popular big Nickel coin (picture attached with the giant chimney in the background). If you happen to have a car, drive to Killarney (see picture), its worth a visit and watch for the rock colors along road 637. I made a series of "non figurative" close-up pictures thanks to these rocks (two are attached).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    61
    54
    27
    19
See reviews for
51
26
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor MI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over this past weekend for one evening. The staff was nice and cordial, and whereas the place is a bit worn, it seems clean.
Just as we left the hotel, I noticed some bites on my legs, but brushed it off as perhaps some mosquitoes when we'd stopped for dinner in one of the inlets the prior evening. By the time we got to Sault Ste Marie, the bites were becoming raised and by the following day, I had bright red bites all down the front and back of my legs. A doctor in Michigan confirmed that they were bed bug bites.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I must agree with an earlier review of this hotel. The staff are generally friendly and helpful, but this is a hotel in need to a makeover. the wall paper is coming off the walls on some joints in the hall ways, and the carpets are really looking old, have the odd stain, and generally look grubby.
I had a Business Room, the room was cleaned well each day, but the carpets still looked grubby, and yes there is a sour or mold smell in the bathroom, but I find this in many hotels that have shower curtains. But in this case it might even be in the walls? Although you cant smell it in the rest of the room, the smell is quite off putting in the bathroom. The internet connection is free, and does not work well at all, the download speed was fine, but for some reason could not send emails etc, so frustrating. I did try using an Ethernet cable, the result was even worse. Breakfast were disappointing as they only had buffet on certain days and that was also a limited selection, no fresh fruit for example in the buffet. Will look to stay at a different hotel for my next visit to Sudbury

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

One thing that I have learned from being on the road for work and have stayed at many hotels is this- the hotel can be new and updated and you have that feeling of being pampered, but if the customer service is deficient and you have paid for a luxury accomodation. You will leave not only unhappy but feel you didnt get good value for your money. Whereas, knowing that you're going into an "okay" hotel, look at the services offered, level of cleanliness and customer service. No one or no place is perfect. However, if you are dissatisfied with something, the staff here will bend over backwards to fix it. Customer service is excellent here despite some downfalls elsewhere in this hotel. I was unhappy with the service in the main dining room and informed the front desk staff about it. They immediately acted on my complaint and apologized for the staff in the dining room. I may have considered going elsewhere the next time I am in town but as a result of the Manager- Gina Aoude, I will be sure to return and give the hotel another chance.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the main building is convenient to the parking lot. I did not have any prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This hotel needs to be updated. Stayed with my family recently.

The king bed was like a V. My wife both ended-up in the middle, no matter what. Also - they did have another choice of pillows (I was allergic to the one's they had, and made a point of calling the front desk to inquire).

Housekeeping did a fine job, but, was relentless one of the mornings there. We were travelling with a 4 month old baby, and they must have knocked 3 times in 10 minutes (when we told them we were leaving in the next 15). Very annoying when trying to pack up your child.

I am not normally one to complain, but, I have stayed at much better Holiday Inn's. There is some much needed improvement and updating needed for this hotel.

Next time I am in Sudbury, I will be staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: the rooms with the door to the outside are chilly in the wintertime (we put a towel at the bottom of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sudbury, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear markD78,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hotel was okay, nothing special. My room was in the back, almost seemed like an addition of sorts. It was a good walk from the lobby. The hotel lay-out is very confusing and you can get lost very easily if your not paying attention.
The staff at the hotel were excellent. From check-in to check out I found them all (Front Desk, Cleaning, Restaruant) to be very attentive, with an objective to please.
The rooms are okay. Bed was comfortable, and there was good space. The blackout curtain in my room had holes in it, so light from the parking lot came through, as did the morning sun. The thing I remember the most is that my room smelled a little bit. The closest thing I could compare it to would be that it smelled like they may have washed the bathroom floor with a dirty mop.

The pro's of the hotel are that the staff are excellent and it's nice to have an onsite restaurant. Also the location is great as the hotel is right off the 400 and is really close to "Tommy's Not Here" (ask the front desk staff where to get the best Steak in town and they will send you to Tommy's!) The cons could be that it is a bit out dated, and if you were in the "addition" you could get lost in the labrynth ...so bring a snack just in case!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

Its your average Holiday Inn with friendly staff. Rooms were nice and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sudbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sudbury

Address: 1696 Regent St, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 3Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sudbury 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sudbury Hotel's Meeting Facilities Largest in City Both leisure and business travelers will find the services and amenities they need at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites of Sudbury, Ontario. Our hotel's location is convenient to many Sudbury attractions and businesses as well as the Sudbury Airport (YSB). Sudbury is home to many of northern Ontario's most popular travel destinations, such as Science North and Big Nickel, a must-see for our hotel's guests. In downtown Sudbury, you'll also find many unique shops and cultural venues, such as Sudbury Theatre Centre and Sudbury Museum. Our hotel's staff suggests making plans during winter to try snowmobiling on the Trans Canada trails. Business travelers benefit from being in close proximity to Valet Inco, Xstrata Nickel, Collège Boréal, Laurentian University, Sudbury Regional Hospital and other businesses in downtown Sudbury. Lodging here gives you access to the more than 26,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, as well as the 24-hour business centre. From the heated, indoor pool and whirlpool to our on-site restaurants, The Coffee House and The Dining Room, we provide top-quality amenities beyond those of other hotels in Sudbury. Our hotel's rooms feature comfortable triple-sheeted bedding, work areas with free high-speed Internet access, large TVs with on-demand movies and other choice amenities. Our Sudbury, Ontario hotel's staff looks forward to serving you on your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sudbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sudbury Hotel Sudbury
Sudbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sudbury Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sudbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.