We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Food, OK Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of East Side Mario's

East Side Mario's
900 Lasalle Blvd | # A, Sudbury, Ontario P3A 5W8, Canada
(705) 670-0900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 277 Restaurants in Sudbury
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Poor Food, OK Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were a party of 5 - the fifth being an infant (he was about 3 months old). We arrived early (about 4:45) before the rush and were seated right next to the door - where the wind was blowing in every time the door opened. We asked to move and were told there were no other spaces where there would be room for the baby's highchair.

We ordered drinks - both of the guys ordering coffee - and they were out of cream or milk for the coffee.

After we got our food, my friend was eating hers and tasted something gritty - there was mud & dirt in her pasta. We waited for the server to come back to let her know, and she went to get the manager. While we waited for the manager, my friend's husband found dirt in his food as well. I decided i should be a bit more cautious and check my own meal, and sure enough i found chunks of dirt in my pasta as well. It was determined that what all the meals had in common was mushrooms, and that the dirt was from the mushrooms. Gross!

The manager did offer us free dessert and we obviously didn't have to pay for our inedible meal. They also gave us a coupon for a future free meal, but we won't be returning!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    11
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Val d'Or, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Never Again for me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The server was nice , but we waited close to an hour for our food.Some of us ate in the bar side and they received their food right away, and the rest of us waited. It was almost as thought they were trying to get us to order more alcoholic drinks while we waited. The food was o.k but it is very over priced , they use the same cheap pasta you can buy at any grocery store. I can make this same meal I ate here at home for about $3 /per person!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Food was good but service was terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I waited an inordinately long time to be served. I waited again for a significant period of time to receive my bill. The food was good actually. The service issue was likely not entirely the waitresses fault. Regardless, I can't in good conscience give better than a one star rating give the terrible service over. I don't think the waitress ever said "you're welcome" and there was never any interest paid on how good my meal was. I felt pretty minimized to be honest. Too bad since East Side Mario's is usually pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Going downhill for the last few years.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food was meh, and we were charged extra for cheese, salad dressing, and extra sauce for a very dry spaghetti.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I needed to order take out. It took a long time - the poor waitress went back a couple of times to see what was taking so long. It was busy in the restaurant, we just got lost in the shuffle - the waitress was great & the food was yummy. I wouldn't order spaghetti to go next time though....a regular order wasn't filling for my pre-teen skinny daughter - she probably would have ate some of the bread they serve if we had stayed and then been full - but who wants their kid filled up on bread?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Side Mario's also viewed

Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to East Side Mario's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Side Mario's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.