We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sudbury Inn

Save Saved
You added Sudbury Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sudbury Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1145 Lorne Street, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 4S8, Canada (Formerly Knights Inn)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST
Ranked #16 of 32 hotels in Sudbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Looks like a school hallway in the hallways, but the room are spacious and the beds are comfortable. AC works great and the bathrooms were clean and stocked with all our needs. Only problem is the lack of unused power plugs (only one that wasn't being used by either the fridge, AC, lights or tv).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
9
5
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you are not looking for a fancy place to stay and just need a place to lay your head and a quick breakfast, this hotel was fine. The rooms have been renovated and are clean and nicely appointed. Beds were comfortable. Some work still required in the bathrooms - a hook and a shelf to place toiletries on would be nice. Also, the hot water was a little iffy. Breakfast was typical. Service was polite and friendly. Had a surprise when lifted the blind and saw the big nickel on the hill behind the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Liskeard, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

On check-in, I had to repeat over and over to slow down the speed of their speech as their accent was thick and virtually illegible. The directions to the room were misunderstood because of this and we had to return to the desk twice and I said, "SEND SOMEONE WITH US. I TOLD you, I'm tired and very ill and need to lay down. They were generally polite but didn't follow my requests very well. The hallways in the back section where we stayed were filthy, not mopped, looked like there was piss and puke in the stairway and had an odor. The garbage can was jammed inside and outside. The room was much better and was clean and had four nice big pillows per bed. It stayed quiet throughout the night and the bed was comfortable. Service was fair overall.

Room Tip: Don't judge the rooms by the state of the hallways or you'll be leaving pronto. There are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Sudbury in and were pleased with the room. It had a flatscreen TV and the room was nice and clean. However, the bathroom was old. I believe it would better the motel if they decided on renovating them. That was our only issue there. We still recommend coming here for it gave us a nice rest.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a business trip, pretty much picked this one by random. A few things that needs improvement is kinda under renovation so there were some noise but not even close to unacceptable level. The place is a little old so yes water was leaking on the ceiling but so far only limited to hallway only. Only 1 real problem is that that place is like a maze, i think is because they are combining 2 buildings together. Other then that, price is fair, staff are nice, room is clean and I was in their regular room instead of the premium room so i would assume even better room if i picked premium. Honestly speaking the price that they are charging if you are expecting like comfort inn or holiday inn, you are an idiot but they ARE better then average motels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, General Manager at Sudbury Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We will be using the feedback given to implement improvements to ensure a better experience for guests in the future. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the building and others. We are so grateful for your kind words about our hotel and our staff member.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Sudbury.
With Hospitality,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Booked this hotel thru hotwire, thinking we would get the usual 2.5 star like Best Western or Comfort Inn. When we ended up with this hotel, we were a little leery but decided we would give it a try. That was a big mistake.

We showed up to a property in an industrial part of town backing on what looked to be a dump or something with gross garbage. We went into the lobby which looked alright to check in, and asked for a nonsmoking room with two beds, so we were able to upgrade for approx $22, which I thought was a little high but considering the looks of the hotel I couldn't imagine what a standard room looks like. In addition, the worker at the front desk said, "You better not smoke in the nonsmoking room or else you will be fined." Obviously we weren't smokers if we requested a nonsmoking room? Kind of rude. Upon arriving to our room, we immediately felt unsafe. Not only is this hotel in a bad part of town by the looks of it, it is also a strange setup. Along the corridors overlooking the street, there are large windows, so anyone walking or driving by can clearly see which room you are heading to. Upon entering our room we came to a scene similar to a horror film. The deadbolt on the door didn't even lock. There was a window in the room FACING INTO THE HALLWAY. So anyone walking by could see into your room and when you heard someone walk by it was quite loud and scary. Not to mention the window in the room faced the hallway that was lined with windows you could see thru from the road... so weird. There was also a door in the room that must have been connected to another room that was unlocked when we entered our room, so people in the room it was connected to would have had access to our room. We didn't even venture into the washroom because we were too scared.

They advertise that this hotel has been renovated, but all it is is a fresh coat of paint and new bedspreads (not to mention a horrible colour scheme). We felt so unsafe that we called hotwire to request a refund. We were able to get one so we checked out as soon as we could. Upon checking out we said "We're going to check out, we do not feel safe." To this the staff at the front desk simply nodded and took the room keys. No apologies, no trying to address the problem, no questions. That was probably one of the worst parts of the whole night. They didn't even acknowledge that we weren't satisfied, so much so that we had to leave the hotel. In fact, they started speaking in a different language right in front of us about who knows what. Running a hotel is customer service, and if you don't know how to deal with customers you're probably in the wrong business. Overall I would say stay away from this hotel. It was hands down the worst hotel experience of my life, so much so that I'll probably never stay in Sudbury again. I wouldn't even stay here for free. So good job Sudbury Inn!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, General Manager at Sudbury Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. I sincerely regret that the service we provided during your stay with us did not demonstrate the true quality as per YOUR OPINION.

We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our best to provide not just good value, but clean and friendly accommodations. We regret you were not satisfied with the services you received from our hotel and staff. I understand the inconvenience this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

We sincerely value the comments of all our travelers; in fact based on your comment several facts are;

1, your original reservation (hotwire) was SINGLE QUEEN ROOM – SMOKING, when you arrived @ motel our front desk operator updated your room to Premium Room on your request with extra cost of it. We are in this business since long and obviously want one thing to be cleared with you is very impressively success with all kind of customers.

2, I am quite surprised with most of your comments under your reviews are look like not for hotel / motel, like on window (on that particular window we have Black out Blind and Black out Drapery in addition), still you expect something please share your ideas with us.

3, Our Premium rooms are 100% renovated and mostly inside are brand new (including; Bed, Wall mounted LCD TV, Refrigerator, Microwave, New Rug, New Furniture, New Headboard, New Mattresses, New Linens, New Washroom, etc.) and above all these we have 24 hours a day front desk too. Yes, brand new paint with great color combination.

4, a room has adjoining door and is locked from both side and it can’t open from other side.

5, On top of all your comments, you have neither reported to the front desk about your all these concerned nor ask to change room. You simply went to the front desk and asked for to refund difference of your room update.

6, Last but not least our motel location is in between Residential and commercial area. Just 2-3 minutes away from Down- Town too.

Notwithstanding your initial experience, I invite you to contact me directly so I may somehow demonstrate our commitment to customer service.
Please contact me directly by email at sudbury_inn@yahoo.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a lovely room so comfortable, clean and very helpful friendly staff. Climate control was great you could set warmth of the room to your own liking. Close to the downtown, Dynamic Earth, Big Nickel etc. Terrific pizza place best in town, "Extreme Pizza." Really reasonable prices for a variety of different types of pizza. We were quite pleased with the level of customer service at this hotel. A great choice if you are heading on down to Sault Ste. Marie. Restaurant is currently not in operation. If travelling Hwy 69 south I would recommend "The French River Trading Post restaurant for breakfast. Awesome brekkie for a reasonable price. We did have difficulty finding a restaurant in Sudbury that served breakfast but we were not that familiar with the city itself. Thanks Sudbury Inn my husband and I had a great weekend. Sharlene & Norman

Room Tip: Go for the premium queen room it is really really nice!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, General Manager at Sudbury Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Sharlene & Norman,
Great to hear that our location, service and accommodation were perfect for you!
Thank you so much for your review. It's great to hear you got to take advantage of all the benefits of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sudbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sudbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudbury Inn

Address: 1145 Lorne Street, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 4S8, Canada (Formerly Knights Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sudbury Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Sudbury INN.Located in beautiful Sudbury Ontario we are the closest hotel to the famous Big Nickel and Dynamic Earth. We are only a 10 minute drive to many of our beaches and parks as well as Ramsey Lake and Science North.Come stay in our lavish newly renovated premium rooms. All rooms include a large flat screen TV, fridge, microwave and coffee / tea maker. We also provide free high speed WiFi internet, continental breakfast, on site coin laundry, ample parking for even the largest of vehicles and an on site restaurant.Coming in for business? Our location is prime to keep you close enough to the city to making travelling easy but without being too close to the hustle of downtown. We are right on Hwy 55, close to Copper Cliff and Vale Inco.Our friendly and knowledgeable staff are here to assist with any of your needs and will strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sudbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Sudbury
Sudbury Knights Inn
Sudbury Inn Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudbury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.