We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting for kids and grownups as well” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Science North

Science North
100 Ramsey Lake Road, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 5S9, Canada
705-522-3701
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 50 things to do in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let your imagination soar at Science North! Explore the fun side of science in your everyday life at Northern Ontario’s most popular tourist attraction. A newly designed and renovated 3rd floor Northern Ecosystems exhibit gets you up close to our resident beaver, porcupine, skunk and much more! Visit the new nocturnal room and see what flying squirrels and bats do at night! Don’t miss live science shows, special exhibits, IMAX® 3D, the digital Planetarium, the F. Jean MacLeod Butterfly Gallery, and four floors of interactive science experiences. Visit sciencenorth.ca.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting for kids and grownups as well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Beautiful location on the shore of Lake Ramsey. One can see and feel how it is underground especially in the cavern where different events take place. The kids can experience all kinds of scientific activities and share their findings with Science North.
And one can enjoy IMAX films there as well. A very entertaining place to visit . During the warm season, one can enjoy a lovely cruise on the Cortina all around Lake Ramsey and eat at the restaurant on the premises. A great place to visit!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy S, Manager at Science North, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, we take pride in providing an environment that inspires science discoveries! We are very fortunate to have our science centre situated in such a picturesque location. Skating in the winter, Cortina cruise boat tours in the summer, can't beat that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    107
    20
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great place for kids, but need to have 'new' things for fresh excitment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We've been coming with our kids to Science North for a few years now. The kids always seem to enjoy it when we go. There's lots for them to do, and learn. The only place that they could improve would be to introduce more things more often so the kids can learn new things, and experience new things when they come. It would be nice to see the place expanded (if possible).

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy S, Manager at Science North, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hi!

Great to hear that you and your family have been enjoying the science centre again and again! You are absolutely right in saying that things need to change. One of the ways we try to change things up is by hosting at least one special exhibition per year in our hall. In just a few weeks we will be premiering a 6000 sqft exhibition 'Arctic Voices' that will give visitors closer look at the connections between life on land and life in the sea. At the same time we will also be premiering Wonders of the Arctic 3D in our IMAX theatre. I am confident your family will enjoy exploring this new arctic exhibition with our Bluecoats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love Science North!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We are a family of 5 and have purchased a membership for the last 3 years...all of our kids love going and they are currently 15,11 & 3...we visit the centre probably once a month sometimes more...we enjoy science north a million times more than the science centre in Toronto(we would actually never go back to the one in Toronto)...the blue coats at science north are very knowledgeable and I love the interaction they all have with visitors...amazing organization! I highly recommend it!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee L, Guest Relations Manager at Science North, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for sharing your experience and the value of the Science North membership with others! It's wonderful to know that you and your family love coming here, we look forward to continuing to share fun and memorable moments with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Science Northern Style !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Science centre has something for all ages young & old. Great for those who do not know a lot about the north. Totally different from museums in the south. Also for those who have never gone underground ,make sure you get whole package, not just the museum. IMAX also worth it.
Great hands on for children. Has always been a favorite a major place to visit whether its your first time up north or a returning Northerner up for a visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee L, Guest Relations Manager at Science North, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you so much for this review! What a great perspective..."Science Northern style"! Be sure to come and visit us again, we are ever-changing and have a lot of new experiences coming up soon- like our Arctic Voices special exhibit and our newest IMAX, "Wonders of the Arctic".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie,ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great time, great deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had a great time here. My daughters just loved it. There were many interactive things to do. We spent about four hours there not including the Imax show we went to. We could have stayed longer but I was tired. THe kids weren't though.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy S, Manager at Science North, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review! I hope you return and see our new Arctic Voices exhibition this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Science North also viewed

Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Science North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Science North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.