We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Sudbury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Sudbury to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Sudbury
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 The Kingsway, Sudbury, Ontario P3B 0E4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
toronto
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Great place to stay, nice and clean room, good service, a complete kitchen on you suite, really lovely staff, continental breakfast with hot table from Monday to Friday, but not during the weekend were the breakfast is a little poor, the rest an enjoyable place to stay.
I'll be back and also recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    52
    14
    8
    11
See reviews for
67
25
6
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Timmins, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We mix work and pleasyre on this trip, beautiful hotel with many shops, stores and restaurants within walking distance..

The staff is very friendly and courteous...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here a couple of nights and would recommend this hotel. It is extremely convienient in that it is located near all major shopping outlets in Sudbury and having a full kitchen when travelling with kids is so handy!! The kitchen has full fridge, stove top elements, microwave, dishwasher and the cupboards and drawers filled with dishes and cutlery. The kids enjoyed the pool and our older child loved the water slide. The only downside was the slide was only open 9am-1pm on a Sunday and in the evening when everything else is closed we were disappointed that the slide was as well. It has continental breakfast which is handy. If you are a light sleeper though make sure to request a room that faces the back of the hotel because the highway noise can be disturbing. Overall, we will always stay here when in Sudbury!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed one night at the Townplace Suites and were extremely happy with our choice. The hotel is very new and everything still looks very clean and shiny. The best part of our stay were the staff, who went out their way to be helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very friendly. Breakfast was excellent too. Overall, a great option in Sudbury.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

While planing a trip to see my father in Sudbury we thought it would be good to stay at our favorite hotel chain (Marriott). Upon arrival at the Towneplace suites after a 7 hour drive we were greeted by the lady at the front desk. The check in process was pretty fast and painless and we were provided with a key to a room on the 5th floor. When we got to the room, both my wife and I tried several times to open the door without success. We then proceeded down to the front desk which the lady then gave us another room because she couldn't get a hold of the maintanance person to help us open the door. We got to the new room and again both my wife and I tried several times to open the door without success. I went back downstairs to notify front desk and the lady said "you must be doing something wrong sir" in an annoyed tone. She contacted the maintanance person "Mike", when Mike and another gentleman came to the front desk they said "you know your interupting our draft picks for the NFL???". Needless to say I was speechless!!! We then proceeded up to the hotel room which Mike then tried opening the door twice with no luck. On his third try he got it open and said "these doors get jammed sometimes, but you just have to try it a few times and they'll open". He then had me try it while he stood behind me and after trying 4 times I couldn't get it open. Mike then got frustrated with me and said "your not doing it right!." I took the key from his hand and sent him on his way as I couldn't deal with his ignorance. It took me another 2 tries and I got the door open. When heading back downstairs to get the rest of my baggage from the truck, the elevator stopped half way on the ground floor and the door wouldn't open. Like any human being I panicked! After selecting the "emergency" button, the lady came over the phone and told me to select the 2nd floor and to get off. I got off at the 2nd floor and took the stairs to the front desk. When advising the front door desk lady about all the problems we had in the first 20 minutes of checking in, she basically shrugged her shoulders and said "you seem to just have bad luck" with no smile or in a appologetic tone. Needless to say I went to my truck and heading back to my hotel room to rest for a few hours.

I have stayed in many hotels in my time and never had this many problems with service and opening 2 hotel doors.

In terms of the room, it was as lovely as any other Marriott would offer. Th room was newer in design and offered a flat screen tv and a full kitchen. I am just unpleased with the way we were treated.

Thanks

Mitch

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We usually stay at the Fairfield, but decided the try Towneplace this visit. The room was very clean and the staff was great and helpful. Breakfast was god too. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandia, Minnesota
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

New. Clean. Friendly people. Next to a great restaurant that offered a 10% discount. But...the internet kept crashing, they blew the wakeup call two days in a row and the free breakfast was positively spartan. Also, if you get an even numbered room, you deal with mining trucks down-shifting outside starting EARLY.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Sudbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Sudbury

Address: 1710 The Kingsway, Sudbury, Ontario P3B 0E4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Sudbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the TownePlace Suites by Marriott®, the newest hotel in Sudbury conveniently located on the Kingsway at Falconbridge Road. TownePlace Suites by Marriott® Sudbury is an all suites hotel perfect for an extended stay. Relax and feel at home in one of our suites with a fully equipped kitchen, well designed desk and work area complete with complimentary high-speed Internet access and daily Healthy Start breakfast. We feature an indoor pool and water slide (please check the operating hours at the Front Desk), meeting rooms, fitness facility and lobby lounge. Pets are welcome; a CAD$50 non-refundable fee applies. For business, leisure and extended stays our thoughtful amenities and staff will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Sudbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Sudbury Hotel Sudbury
TownePlace Suites Sudbury Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Sudbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.