We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated, dirty and unsafe.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sudbury Travelodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sudbury Travelodge Hotel to your Saves list
Sudbury Travelodge Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Paris Street, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 3B6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Sudbury
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Outdated, dirty and unsafe.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My 5 year old daughter and I stayed 1 night while travelling through. The nicer hotels were booked up as it was a last minute booking so I thought we would give it a try as it had a pool for my daughter. The hallways are smelly and dated. The rooms are even worse. The bathroom is dingy and mouldy. I didn't even want to use the shower it was so bad. The heater was old outdated loud contraption under the window. The windows were sweating and making puddles of water on the heater which I felt was a fire hazard. Also there was a lamp in the corner of the room unplugged. When I plugged it in to get some light in the dingy room it started shorting and sparking which explains why it was unplugged. It should have been removed and replaced! Another fire hazard. I would highly recommend staying elsewhere. This is one of the worst I've seen.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gynette_Cousineau-GM, General Manager at Sudbury Travelodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Bellatravaller80, I am disappointed to hear about your recent stay with us. This is not the quality of service that we strive to deliver every day to every guest. Our maintenance team does a wonderful job at keeping our rooms safe and in great condition. When guests encounter issues and the Hotel is made aware, our response time is immediate. All calls are logged and followed-up on. Although I am unable to locate your reservation or the call regarding your issues, our team has inspected all lamps and lights to ensure safety. Our guests well-being is of utmost importance to us. We hope to welcome your back in the future.
Gynette Cousineau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    40
    37
    18
    21
See reviews for
55
24
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our recent stay @ the Travelodge Hotel Sudbury was even better than the previous stays. We had one of the new remodeled rooms which was not only lovely but the bed gave us a wonderful sleep. The internet access was easy and the work desk larger than normal which made my job easier to do. Breakfast @ Perkins was delicious and convenience. Looking forward to returning soon

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gynette_Cousineau-GM, General Manager at Sudbury Travelodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello Kornelia J. Thanks for coming back. We appreciate your business and we appreciate your feedback on our updated rooms. I’m glad you like them. Anything we can do to make your job easier is our goal. You are a valued guest and it is always our pleasure to have you back. See you soon.
Gynette Cousineau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornepayne, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Overall the rooms were clean, the food was great. The receptionist and cleaning staff were awesome. They were very accommodating to the hockey families and others as well. The parking was always in the front of the hotel. We were five minutes away from the arena. After driving all night because my husband didn't get off work until 12:00 am we arrived at the hotel 8:00 am on Friday instead of Thursday for a hockey tournament and knowing its the norm to pay for your room if you booked it; they didn't charge me :) " A great business always treats their costumers like a friend." My trip was actually twofold because I also got to visit my 94 year old Grandmother who stays in a old age home just up the street from the Hotel. My family has been staying at this hotel since my Grandmother was placed in the home and we have never complained. Looking forward to the next trip. Lisa Stewart

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gynette_Cousineau-GM, General Manager at Sudbury Travelodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hello Lisa. Thank you so much for this fantastic review. I am most pleased to hear that our staff was awesome. They all work so hard to make every guest experience a great one. I will be sure to share your fabulous comments with them. I am glad we were able to provide you with an early check-in. We will certainly accommodate any request when we can – friends helping friends!
Sincerely,
Gynette Cousineau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place was under some reno's when we were there -these didnt get in the way or inconvenience at all. The room is a solid "B" -weird shaped oval-ish pool -acceptable hot tub -adjacent -front Staff was good. The Perkins restaurant conjoined onto this hotel is good for breaky -food was --a "B"

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gynette_Cousineau-GM, General Manager at Sudbury Travelodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi there Russell S. Thank you for sharing your comments. It’s always a pleasure to hear from our guests. Our upgrades are complete and we look forward to having you back to see what you think. Although a solid “B’ is good, we are hoping to score and “A” on your next rating!
Sincerely,
Gynette Cousineau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our daughter and her young family live in Ottawa and for the past four to five years we try to cut the long drive in half by staying at the Travelodge. Booking by phone is always pleasant. Our room is always clean and quiet. Anxious to continue our drive to Ottawa, we try to get an early start in the morning, but not without having our usual breakfast at Perkins. One more thing...as we are new grandparents, you can be sure that we will be doing even more travelling to Ottawa, and the Travelodge will always be part of our travel plans.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gynette_Cousineau-GM, General Manager at Sudbury Travelodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Congratulations on your grand-baby Linda! How exciting. Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how we’re doing. I am delighted to hear that the Travelodge is your hotel of choice while in Sudbury. Thank you for your comments and thank you for coming back. I look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Gynette Cousineau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

we recently had to stay at the above hotel because we were in a show. we came in to the hotel friday afternoon, and left monday morning. that would be 3 nights, but we were charged for 4? thrusday night?? when we checked out we told them we only came in friday, and the answer was we had you for thrusday so its a 'no show' charge. first, a 'no show' charge is a night. we told them that it must be a mistake and please remove the night. nope. then we called WEstmont Hospitality, mississauga ontario who owns them. called 6 times, spoke to a manager and never heard back. obviously we're not talking about a 5 star hotel here, but still to actually charge a consumer for something that wasnt used it gross. to have the owner not call back and take care of this situation is even more gross. who wants to get ripped off today?? call the travelodge........

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gynette_Cousineau-GM, General Manager at Sudbury Travelodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hello again. Although we have previously discussed your stay with us, I would like to clarity what a no-show charge is. When a guestroom is booked and confirmed, the hotel will hold that room for you unless they are advised to cancel it. That room is reserved for you and cannot be sold to anyone else. If no cancellation is received, that room is charged to the guest. The paperwork we received signed and dated by you clearly indicates the Thursday arrival. I have sent you a copy of your room reservation form. The hotel did not receive any cancellation notice.
Gynette Cousineau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The desk clerk was pleasant upon arrival; however, although I had booked two double beds, the room only had one queen bed. Not what we had asked for and not what we wanted. On our way out, I mentioned this. We were then informed that we had received a free upgrade. Again, not what we had originally booked. The issue never got resolved. As for being assured that we had a 'quiet' room at the back away from the main street's traffic, the room was next to the stairwell door which was opened and banged shut all night long. Needless to say, we slept very little. At least we got a 'sorry' upon checking out. A disappointing stay overall.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms anywhere near stairwells if you wish to sleep. Check while registering if you are gettin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gynette_Cousineau-GM, General Manager at Sudbury Travelodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Antsanna, thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been. Although you did indeed receive an upgrade to a two room suite with a queen bed and a double pullout, I understand it’s disappointing not to get what you were expecting. We strive to provide a great experience to all of our guests. I am hoping that you will allow us another opportunity to do just that.
Sincerely,
Gynette Cousineau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sudbury Travelodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudbury Travelodge Hotel

Address: 1401 Paris Street, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 3B6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sudbury Travelodge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true Northern hospitality at Travelodge Hotel Sudbury. We are committed to providing our guests with outstanding service and complete comfort. We have what you are looking for: indoor heated pool, hot tub, complimentary wireless internet, free passes to GoodLife Fitness, convenient free parking and large comfortable rooms. The hotel offers 138 rooms including 35 suites. Perkins Restaurant & Bakery has the perfect family feast – breakfast, lunch or dinner and is open 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. daily. Just minutes away from the Sudbury Regional Hospital, shopping and Sudbury’s most exciting attractions Science North and Dynamic Earth. Proud to be 100% smoke free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sudbury Travelodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sudbury
Travel Lodge Sudbury
Sudbury Travelodge Hotel Ontario
Sudbury Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudbury Travelodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.