We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would recommend this great little place to anyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn East to your Saves list
Comfort Inn East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Second Avenue N, Sudbury, Ontario P3B 4A4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Sudbury
New Hamburg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I would recommend this great little place to anyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Staff were very courteous, enjoyed the amazing continental breakfast! Room was very nice and clean.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
8
10
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barrie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We couldn't get the Comfort Inn on Regent, which would have been our preference for the location so we booked at the one on 2nd. We had a NON SMOKING room and that whole place smelled of it. The hallways were rancid with the smell and our room was just as bad. We had headaches all night from the smell, coughing all night, stuffy noses and had to go home and wash every thing we had including jackets, bags to get the smell out of it. That stale smell still haunts me, it was disgusting and I will never stay there again. My friend who is a smoker couldn't even stand the smell!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn East, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
The management and staff have taken special measures to ensure that this problem is dealt with. A special deodorizing tool has been purchased and is being used every in all of our designated smoking rooms. We always appreciate comments that will help us better serve our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Check-in was very quick and efficient . Kaila was working and helped me find the best possible rate for the best possible room.
There was a large stain on the comforter so we just put it on the floor and didn't use it.
We had a smoking room (bad habit I know) and the only window in the room was a patio door which had no screen. We didn't spend much time in the room because we were visiting friends, but it would have been stuffy in there with or without smoking if we couldn't have the window open.
For some reason we couldn't get the pay-per-view movies to work, but didn't mention this.
Continental breakfast was included, but we slept through and went to Tim Horton's instead.
Otherwise, the hotel seemed clean and comfortable. But I would say just a little overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

First let me say how great the staff member was when we checked in. Very friendly and helped us decide on a Thai restaurant for dinner.
The next day we were given directions to Science North and told to have lunch there. Another great suggestion.
Our room was clean and comfortable and the pillows are fabulous. We were even able to purchase one. Breakfast was plentiful and the breakfast person very funny and also helpful.
We had a nice stay and the fact that shopping is right there was a bonus.
I will come back and chose this location when travelling on business too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

We were visitng Sudbury for a two day trip to help my son move to the area. Had a hard time finding two nights at same motel / hotel so we had to stay at this Comfort Inn the first night then downtown at another hotel. The room was standard, nothing fancy, bed way too firm, the service ok - the clerk seemed rushed, the offerings of the hotel were minima ( no pool, restaurant or public computer), the hallways smelt smokey and musty. Would have expected much more for the $150 we paid. Got much more for our money downtown the next night... Our room could have also been much cleaner and the internet service was slow.

  • Liked — Shopping & Restaurants Neaby
  • Disliked — The Sky High Price Paid for a Basic Motel Room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

We had the opportunity to stay at this hotel when visited friends in Sudbury. It was located close to shopping and we were referred to a fantastic restaurant ( Verdicchio )by one of the front desk staff. It was very clean and even more important, very quiet even though it was busy.
We would definitely come back and stay.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

It was our first visit & most certainly won`t be our last!

All the staff treated us exceptionally well and we found our room to be very inviting and clean. My husband liked the pillows so much that when he commented about it to the front desk clerk, she told him he could purchase a couple of new ones if he liked for the rest of our trip...so he did just that!

We were also very pleased to find out that this hotel still accepts pets. We have encountered quite a few hotels on our journey across Ontario, that either don`t or no longer accept them. The pet fee was of no concern to us at all. We understand the reasoning behind it & it`s minimal compared to kennel fees or the frustration of driving from hotel to hotel to only be turned away because we brought our cats with us.

We highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Sudbury.

p.s. Thank you for the delicous breakfast selection.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn East

Address: 440 Second Avenue N, Sudbury, Ontario P3B 4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® East is in a prime Sudbury location near New Sudbury Centre mall, Cambrian College, Adanac Ski Hill, Sudbury Downs, Timberwolf Golf Course, Laurentian University, Science North and the Dynamic Earth Museum. We have been fully renovated and 100% non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Canada, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn East Hotel Sudbury
Comfort Inn Sudbury
Sudbury Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn East Sudbury, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.