We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“represents sudbury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Nickel & Dynamic Earth

Big Nickel & Dynamic Earth
122 Big Nickel Road, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 5S9, Canada
705-522-3701
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 50 things to do in Sudbury
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Erected in 1951, this famous roadside attraction is a monument to the Canadian nickel industry.
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“represents sudbury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

dynamic earth is an excellent place to learn about what sudbury ontario, and its main industry, mining is all about. this makes learning about one of canadas important industrys fun and interesting. i really enjoy going there and would recommend going! (the big nickel is something to see!)

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryenM, Manager at Big Nickel & Dynamic Earth, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the review admirer of canines! We do our best to immerse you in mining education and we are glad you benefited from it. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    73
    24
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wainfleet, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Good Family Attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

My family and I have visited Big Nickel & Dynamic Earth twice now. The tours are well organized and very informative. The kids seemed to really enjoy digging for gold and the underground tour. Lots to see!!!

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryenM, Manager at Big Nickel & Dynamic Earth, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Panning for Gold is a favourite here! Hopefully you struck it rich :D
See you next time Renee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Liskeard, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always love this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

So much to do we didn't see it all. New king tut exhibit is great. Updated underground mine tour we are looking forward to doing next time.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryenM, Manager at Big Nickel & Dynamic Earth, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Thanks for checking out the King Tutankamun exhibit! Make sure to come back for the renewed underground tour, it's a blast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

My son and I were on our way from Vancouver Island to Ottawa and we both wanted to see the "Big Nickel" so as we approached Sudbury we began looking for signs. Eventually we spotted one on a lamp standard and began the circuitous route of discovery. We found it but unfortunately it was -15 and blowing a near hurricane so we were only able to spend a few minutes gawking and taking pictures.
It was one of the women inside the discovery centre that made our day. She opened the gift shop just for us as we were too early otherwise. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryenM, Manager at Big Nickel & Dynamic Earth, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Hi there Richard. Thank you much for stopping by on your long trek! I hope you found something neat in the gift shop to remember your visit :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“March break madness”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Took my son for a nice day out at dynamic earth. The staff was great! Very accomodating to us. The tour was pretty well organized . No major issues with the attraction. However the parking lot was strewn with garbage hard to explain to young kids(used protection devices). Little disappointed in this local attraction on the march break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryenM, Manager at Big Nickel & Dynamic Earth, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Thank you for visiting our renewed underground tour and for the nice comments about the staff! I apologize for the debris in the parking lot. We do our best to keep the site clean, as the Big Nickel is a very popular stop for all visitors to Sudbury. We will work hard to ensure this doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Nickel & Dynamic Earth also viewed

Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Big Nickel & Dynamic Earth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Nickel & Dynamic Earth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.