We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs major renovation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Brady St., Sudbury, Ontario P3E 1C8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Sudbury
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Hotel needs major renovation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here in Feb, and will never stay here again. The hotel had less than 10 people including staff. It is an old and dirty hotel that needs major renovation. The mattresses provide no support, the toilet floods and the shower ties and tub are cracked. Staff and meeting space was nice.

Room Tip: stay on the first floor, there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts with us regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad that you were treated well by the staff and that you found our meeting room to be nice. Renovations are about to be done to the rooms, so I apologize to you that your room was below standard. Should your travels take you this way again, please feel free to contact me directly to book your room if you wish to give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    7
    10
    9
See reviews for
8
7
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed for four days to attend a course. It was conveniently located, staff were polite and helpful.
Room was clean and spacious. The restaurant provided adequate meals at a fair price. Thank you for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We appreciate our guests comments and are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope we can host you again on your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights on business, will never book here again, I had a rusty hole, yes a hole in my bath tub, toilet didn't work properly and shower tiles were cracked and fixed with some sort of glue, oh and room smelt like musty old feet! Save your time, stay at a new hotel you will pay the same!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns with us regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not more enjoyable, and please feel free to contact me directly should you be travelling to our district again. I would relish the opportunity to correct the wrongs you have experienced on your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This Howard Johnson is like many others tired, 1980's everything. It's clean, basic, no pool. Sunday brunch was from the 80's too, wedding in the hotel was 80's too. & so was the price 80 for the night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to share your thoughts and concerns with us. I will insure that your comments are delivered to the proper people and hope we can be of service to you on any future travel plans you have to our region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

In the room and hallways I found the carpets in need of a professional steam-cleaning. The kleenex dispenser is right beside the toilet and gets sprayed by urine which causes rusty spots. Dusting wasn't done in the 3 nights I did spend there and one day the used cups were still in the room and there were no new cups.
The front desk advised me that the carped may be stained, but still clean? I was also advised the cleaning staff had gone home and there was nothing she could do about it. Dust was thick and never cleaned.
The friendly staff could be seen taking food from the buffet table and eating in the bar area.
Television sets are small and old with terrible channel selection and there was no way to hook up your computer to the TV (no HDMI)
the food was mediocre, desserts were all store bought with the exception of a couple of cakes. Good salad selections.

This place needs a total makeover, restaurant manager, housekeeping manager, and frankly a new owner and hotel manager in my opinion.

Room Tip: Try get rooms with higher numbers closer to the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to share your thoughts and concerns with us. I sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not a great one, and will certainly pass along your comments to the staff. We strive to make each guest`s experience a pleasant one, and once again I am sorry to see that your stay was not a pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasota Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Old style box TV's dirty carpets,dirty windows. side entrance covered in a bed of cigarette butts, sorry we stayed here. This Hotel needs a major overhaul. The one redeeming feature was the breakfast, well priced, well cooked, and generous portions.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before commiting to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to share your thoughts and concerns with us regarding your recent stay at our hotel. My sincere apologies that not everything was perfect with your stay. Renovations are ongoing and I hope you will give us another chance to impress you on your next trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sudbury
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The carpet was stained and dirty, the room smelled strongly like something I couldn't decipher, the bathroom smelled like pee and was very much out of date. The air conditioner's air wasn't fresh, it also had a smell. I will never stay in this hotel again. For the money that I paid, I have stayed at better places. Two points was generous.



  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your recent stay at our hotel. Please feel free to contact the front desk with any issues you may have while staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury

Address: 50 Brady St., Sudbury, Ontario P3E 1C8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Gold Award Winning Howard Johnson Plaza, conveniently located in the heart of Sudbury, minutes from all the sights, shopping, and area attractions. From the moment you make your reservation until the time you check out, you are our guest, and we're happy to treat you that way."Experience why we are rated as a top Howard Johnson Hotel for Customer Satisfaction!"Mike- General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Sudbury
Sudbury Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Sudbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.