We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service all over the place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Sudbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Sudbury to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Sudbury
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2280 Regent Street, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 0A1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Sudbury
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“service all over the place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

This is probably one of the best hotels in Sudbury and if you had asked me prior to our check-out, I would've said it was the number one hotel. The room was great, cleaning staff was awesome & helpful and while the pool was cold and a little dirty (lots of hair on the deck), I would still say it was okay. However, when I went to check out, the lady there was SO unfriendly that it just left a bad taste in my mouth. There was no asking "how was your stay" or even any small talk at all. I really expect a lot more from the Hampton when their service is normally so great. I thought the Homewood & Hampton were pretty much interchangeable but I think I would go back to the Homewood next time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    117
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
141
48
18
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoulin Island
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

The price was more than we normally would pay for a room, but we received a discount due to a "January Sale" so we thought we would try it out. I cannot think of one fault - our expectations were exceeded in every regard. Highlights include the room layout and decor with a desk, king bed and a jacuzzi - great after our challenging day of cross country skiing. A leisurely self serve breakfast in the morning was highly enjoyable with lots of quality food. I appreciated the quiet nights sleep.

My wife and I discussed squatting there and never leaving, but we had to get back to our cats as they would run out of food in a few days.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

We stayed at the Hampton on a weekend trip to Sudbury. I was disappointed to find that they do not provide a fridge or microwave, which made things hard for as, as we had our 5-month old daughter with us. Our room was clean, the decor was fine, and the sheets were nice...but quite frankly, we could have had all of those things at the Super-8 for half the cost. Also...the bathroom tissue was something akin to sandpaper, which is a bit disappointing in a hotel that calls itself upscale. Lastly, the televeision was very small...not what we've been used to with hotels in this price range.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I was traveling through and stayed at the Hampton Inn and suites in Sudbury. The hotel was very new at the time, very clean and very modern. It was a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I was in Sudbury for work for a few days in May, and this hotel was perfect. Check-in service was quick and efficient, and most importantly, the staff were very polite. The room was fantastic - the bed was super comfy and the bathroom was immaculate (who likes a dirty bathroom!?!?). Toiletries were surprisingly nice - brand is Purity Basics.

Breakfast was included in my rate and was satisfying (includes hot items). Coffee and breakfast-to-go was a bonus. Wish I had known about the "breakfast-in-a-bag" before my last day there!

For dinner, go to "Respect is Burning." It was recommended by other tripadvisors and I also highly recommend it. If you're in the mood for fast food, go to Deluxe Hamburgers. Chicken burger with gravy is good.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

Family trip to science north 2 night stay at hotel with 2 small children, very comfortable beds , Small pool was good for a quick dip at the end of the day. Hot complementry breakfast excellent added bonus for family with small kids , they could pick from a good varitey of items hot and cold. The staff was very helpful and friendly . I will stay here if and when I return to Sudbury...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

This is a very nice hotel. It is very new. It is, however, typical of a new hotel. There is nothing extraordinary about it. Complimentary bacon and egg breakfast is average. You can find just as good a deal staying at any other common chain that has recently put up a new hotel. It's just the matter of finding one in the area you want. Again, I have no complaints, it is a very clean & comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Sudbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sudbury

Address: 2280 Regent Street, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sudbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn by Hilton, situated at the Gateway to the City of Sudbury with warm furnishings, comfortable surroundings and meaningful extras...We love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Sudbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sudbury Hotel Sudbury
Sudbury Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Sudbury Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Sudbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.