We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newer hotel but absent maid service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Sudbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Sudbury to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Sudbury
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2280 Regent Street, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 0A1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Sudbury
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Newer hotel but absent maid service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was new and clean. That was the best part about it. That is why I stayed there. Sudbury is not known for nice hotels. Overall this hotel was very nice. The people seemed nice as well. I would have given it a higher rating with the exception of one thing. The cleaning staff were not very good or attentive at all. The only thing they appeared to do was make the bed. They didn't replace towels or clean up or straighten up in any way. No attempt was made to do anything other than make the bed. I'm definitely not impressed on that. The cleaning staff even left a day old pizza to stick up the room. They couldn't have tossed that in the garbage? Wasn't it clear that I was done with the pizza from the night before. Anyway, I'll likely stay here again the next time I'm in Sudbury, however, I'll know then the cleaning staff are not to be relied upon. I save money in tips this way.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGM_10, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sudbury, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and please accept my sincere apology that we fell short on the service you experienced. We greatly appreciate the feedback as it helps us indentify opportunities to improve. I would appreciate the opportunity to connect with you and can be reached at peter.nykilchuk@hilton.com at your earliest convenience. We hope that if you return to the area that you will provide us with the opportunity to show you the level of service we are capable of providing.

Sincerely,
Peter Nykilchuk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    117
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
141
48
18
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Perfect hotel, everything was convenient, and hotel was clean. Wonderful! Conveniently placed, with a pizza hut next to it, and close to Science North. Across from the hotel were several plazas with shops, Hampton Inn couldn't be any more convenient.

Room Tip: Double Queen is comfortable for a large group!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed two nights on a fly drive around N Ontario researching family history. Have stayed recently in Homewood Suites of which there is one across the car park but for two people this is cheaper and very adequate. Just needed a clean friendly efficient place to stay with good free wi-fi and this met all those criteria. Included breakfast was standard fare and fine. Not so impressd with dining in Sudbury which was very expensive and in one case a rip-off. No reflection on the hotel and happy to recommend it to others. Access is also easy straight off the major highway just a short distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Current, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was not advised that the hotel would be putting a hold on my credit card for incidentals, I got home to find two entries, one for $10 and another for $15 on my card. Not amused. The hotel staff made no mention of placing 'holds' on my card either while I was checking in or checking out. This was put on my card on the off chance that I might get up in the night and visit the sweet shop. I probably would not have been that upset about this had I been told...but there was no mention of this to me at any time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a nice, clean, well priced hotel that is my first choice when staying in Sudbury. Breakfast is free daily (6-10am I think) and well appointed. Eggs, bacon, oatmeal, various fruits and pastries, bagels, toast and made to order waffles. Much better than what I would expect from a free breakfast elsewhere.
Workout room is small but equipment is newer and there is almost no one in there so no issues getting a machine. Pool is small too but again, I don't think I've ever seen more than 2 people in it so no worries about crowding.
Staff is also very friendly and helpful.


What I like most about this hotel is that if you have stayed at one Hampton Inn you know what to expect. The chain is very cookie cutter with the same room decor, same buffet breakfast, hotel layout etc. If you like this Hampton you'll like them all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a great hotel. It is well situated in the city and also for those passing through heading north or south. As it is newer hotel, it is very clean and modern. The breakfast area off the lobby is well laid out with a fantastic selection. We also enjoyed walking across the street to have dinner at Swiss Chalet. We will be coming back, next time we pass through Sudbury.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Tree families traveling together to a wedding. Hotel is located in a great location, right off the highway and about 5-10 minute drive to Big Nickel. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The room offers complimentary internet, dryer, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, iron and even shoe cleaner wipes. We never used business facilities or had opportunity to use pool. Quick check-in and check-out. Called couple days before and all our requests were fulfilled. Staff was courteous. Breakfast area is open until 10 a.m. and was more than we expected, from fresh fruit, cereal, fresh eggs/omelets, bacon, waffles and more. Almost like in the restaurant with the only difference you had to take it yourself rather than being served. Coffee/Tea/Hot Water is available at reception 24/7. Great stay. Highly recommend. Free parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Sudbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sudbury

Address: 2280 Regent Street, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sudbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn by Hilton, situated at the Gateway to the City of Sudbury with warm furnishings, comfortable surroundings and meaningful extras...We love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Sudbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sudbury Hotel Sudbury
Sudbury Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Sudbury Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Sudbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.