We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Sudbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Sudbury to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Sudbury
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2280 Regent Street, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 0A1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Room was clean with a spacious bathroom. Decent buffet breakfast included. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    124
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
153
56
20
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Hampton Inn is that average hotel with a relatively good cost/benefit ratio. I was in the city for a few days in a business trip. My room was clean with a large and comfortable bed. Breakfast was the typical continental meal, with coffee, bread, fruits, granola, etc.
The front desk service was a hit and miss. I found staff in general amicable. However, sometimes I got nice service, sometimes not, depending who was on the front desk.
There are a few restaurants around the hotel. From a walking distance, you can find a few pubs and family restaurants. If you have a car, you can go to a italian restaurant five minute drive down the road. You will need a car or cab to do anything else in the city. In short, an average hotel for an average price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

hampton was very nice the room were satisfactory, a little small but check your bed before you sleep in it. I brought my grandson to hospital so decided i would go have a little nap before he was released, well the top duvet was done but the bed itself was not made the carpet was not vacumed and the bath had not been washed. I was totally discusted and complained they right away took care of the problem but she only made the bed makes you wander if the bed is cleaned before i went into there

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Feb 11th and 12th 2011. We got a good rate online ($116 per nite).

When we arrived, (11:00am) we were surprised that our room was available. Front desk reception was great. They have a bowl of fresh fruit for guests that is replenished often....and various coffees, teas, and hot chocolate available 24/7. FOR FREE! Also, the breakfast (6:00am to 10:00am) was better than expected. Crispy bacon, ham, baked beans, pancakes, french toast cereals yogurts...I hope you get the picture. ALL FREE..and unlimited!

The rooms were clean and spacious and had every amenity you could think of...iron/ironing board, hair dryer, soaps, shampoos, coffee/coffeemaker....and if you forgot anything, front desk probably had it available.

Beds were luxurious by my standards and the pillows were fantastic. TVs were flat screen and have HDMI hookups for the kids XBox. Our room was right beside the elevator and even with a hotel full of young hockey kids, it was pretty soundproof. The hotel wardens keep the noise down and hallway running to a minimum.

Hotel has a decent pool and fitness room...and a couple of conference rooms.

If I were to complain about anything, I would be a fool. It was better than expected for what I paid.

If I would change anything....I would keep the lobby floor cleaner. It was pretty bad with sand and salt which got carried to the rooms on every floor. And I would have one more elevator. (There is only 2 for staff and guests).

I guess that's it in a nutshell. We enjoyed our stay...I'm sure you will too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Stayed here with a collegue for a conference. The location is walking distance to many amenities. Lots of free parking. The lobby is very clean, nicely decorated and well lit. Check in was really quick and the front desk staff were very pleasant. Really appreciated the 24 hour coffee and tea bar in the lobby. The rooms were exceptionally clean and modernly decorated with duvets and lots of pillows. The bathroom again, was very clean with a nice assortment of personal grooming products. The internet was a quick connection. I did not have the breakfast, but heard comments of how good it was from other guests. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
503 reviews 503 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
1,013 helpful votes 1,013 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

The Hampton Inn is a good solid choice if you know Sudbury and you have a ride while in town. The facilities are new and very nice. The hotel is out of the core of town and indeed is near the "4 Corners" out near Long Lake. If you are in town for business in downtown there are likely better options but if you are stopping over on a long road trip or are in town to visit friends or family in town then this place is an excellent choice. The breakfast is good. The workout facilities are good. This city is under-rated. There are many sights to see. For example, if you think that the Science Centre in Toronto is good, wait until you see Science North!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I thought this very new hotel is beautiful and all the staff I encountered were great. The room was just fine. I give out 5 stars on rooms sparingly, reserving them for more elegant places or those that are unusual. Therefore, that does not mean I am criticizing the room. The criticisms I have of a place like this are that it is kind of perfectly institutional; everything is planned according to corporate protocol. Example: Why not hot tub? Answer: Corporate protocol says Hamptons don't get them, but more upscale chains like the adjacent Homewood Suites do. No bathtub, either. Otherwise, I thgought this place was a class operation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Sudbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sudbury

Address: 2280 Regent Street, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sudbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn by Hilton, situated at the Gateway to the City of Sudbury with warm furnishings, comfortable surroundings and meaningful extras...We love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Sudbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sudbury Hotel Sudbury
Sudbury Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Sudbury Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Sudbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.